$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
215 reviews
Last night before morning flight

We stayed here because it was close to the airport before leaving for home the next day. We had... See full review

  • Kim Q.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Q.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Last night before morning flight

We stayed here because it was close to the airport before leaving for home the next day. We had just spent a week in Sayulita (amazing). View of ocean from 8th floor here was so beautiful-worth the extra money! Pools were great for our 4 year old daughter. Food was only ok.Overall, decent place to wrap up our trip. You dont get a Mexican experience here, but if you are looking to relax, it'nice. Room was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nonametraveler1987
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

I was sick the first three days

I got sick on the way down to Mexico probably from sitting in the USO all night before boarding my flight...anyways, the stay was awesome and the room was even better! I should know due to me spending the first 2.5 days sick in quarters. We had free room service and access to a bar located right outside of our room! Great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring lots of ones for tips. The staff will go out of their way to please you if your a good tipper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family of 5 from Houston
Business
Houston Texas
Jul 26, 2014

Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We experienced 2 small problems during our stay. Both were fixed fast. Both times it was a lock on a door. the sliding glass door broke and was fixed in 5 minutes. The front door electronic locking device broke on our last night and took 3 service men and climbing the balcony to break in through sliding glass door to enter room. This took about 45 minutes but not for their not trying. I WOULD stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberto el viajero
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 21, 2014

Nice, but...

Pros: Nice room, great view, clean and spacious. Location is good, there are a lot of restaurants close by. Cons: No wireless internet in the room, only for 15 usd the day. Ridiculous! Elevators, lobby and internet areas were hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant "El Coleguita", delicious sea food for decent prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Sunshine
Business
Bay Area, California
Jul 6, 2014

Relaxing family vacation

This was our second stay at the Westin in Puerto Vallarta, and it was very pleasant. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very quiet and private. I traveled with my husband, son and dog- it was by far the most pet friendly hotel in Vallarta! They do not charge you a pet fee or clean up fee. We had the royal beach club suite and that was very nice as usual. The pools are always clean and spacious, and the beach is only a few feet beyond the pool area. The only reason I gave the Westin 4 stars is because the food is not good. The restaurant, El Palmar is okay, but the quality is not 4 stars. The breakfast and cocktail hour is very convenient for families, however, the food was either a hit or miss (it has a very repetitive menu). Breakfast is okay, but happy hour food is sometimes old. The best part about royal beach club is that you get unlimited well drinks. Overall, the Westin is a very nice hotel which is extremely family and pet friendly; however, the food is not 4-star quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Langosta Feliz! It is by far the most delicious seafood restaurant in Vallarta and it is very affordable! (Get the 3 musketeers platter & try the sweet corn ice cream) you'll want to travel back to Vallarta just for this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TK Kennedy
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location/Good For Families

My kids and I stayed in a deluxe oceanfront room on the 10th floor. We had a large room with a jacuzzi on the balcony looking out over the Pacific. Kids loved the jacuzzi and the large, shallow swimming pools. We ate 2 meals at Las Palmas (the restaurant near the pools). Food was average at best and pricy. Nice property but too much "nickel and diming" for a 4 star resort. WiFi was not included...phone calls exceptionally expensive...pool floats for kids had to be rented for $10/day. Could have purchased one for that price. C'mon Westin...you can do better. Let the kids play with these for no charge and wifi should be included with a deluxe room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Starbuck's is about a mile walk away and offers free wifi with purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy Collier
Business
Turner, OR
Mar 29, 2014

Great Family vacation

Very nice! Swimming pool was perfect! Water temperature just right!! Restaurants were good. Drinks even better--especially at the La Palmar restaurant bar. Staff very friendly. Good room service every day. Great work out facility. Taxi service available to Molokai and downtown area. Would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pilotof727s
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 25, 2014

Great Hotel, Overpriced Ameneties

The hotel is only about 2 miles from the airport and located on the beach. What a great location!. We rented a car and parking was free. That was the only thing that was free. Our 4 min. 800 number phone call was $4. Internet is $15/day. There is free internet at most restaurants which is where we kept up on most news. Everyone in the entire city is very nice. We walked around the small street downtown and never felt in danger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Malecon, or Boardwalk in English. You can't beat the sunset. Free street performers and multiple street vendors. We went there 5 out of the 6 nights we stayed there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed Mas
Business
California
Jul 6, 2013

Westin Hotel

Dont pay extra for this vacation place. Service was great, but pool and the beach was OK. Rooms could be a little bigger, especially if you have one or two small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Joe Traveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 14, 2013

Perfect Family Vacation spot!

We chose this property with a few things in mind 1) Star ratings/reviews 2) Location-it was close to my mom's timeshare 3# Price. You can't beat this hotel for under $100! The hotel is located in the marina and not the main hotel zone but that is a plus not a negative. It is closer to the airport which makes it convenient and has everything the downtown properties have just at a a better price. We decided to upgrade to the Royal Ocean Club #which I highly recommend# since it gives you a higher floor ocean view room and included complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon happy hour. Both meals are great and filling. Fresh fruit, omelet station, pastries, you name it! The pool is also very relaxing, they have a family pool and adult pool. We brought along our two boys #both under 2# so they loved playing in the shallow end. The properties restaurants are nice but you can always walk one block down to the marina and have a large selection of restaurants to choose from. Taxis to downtown are only $5 US or you can take the bus which stops in front of the hotel every 10-15 minutes for less than a $1 US #7 pesos). Overall, the hotel lived up to our expectations and I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus, it is only 7 pesos (less than $1 US) and goes by the hotel every 10-15 minutes and will take you downtown. It is very easy to take the bus as the stops are listed right in the front window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top