$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
Great beach resort

Nice hotel with convenient rooms,pool and access to the beach. The building has some years now but... See full review

  • AndresK
  • Jun 21, 2015
Business Trip

Booked this hotel so I would be close to the Marina. Fantastic pool area and outdoor bars. Loved... See full review

  • Anthony M.
  • May 15, 2015
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Property features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 237
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond
Aug 6, 2008

Friendly, but noisy

My stay at the Westin Puerto Vallarta was a mixed bag. I'll begin with the great parts: The Staff - lovely, helpful, friendly, efficient. I didn't meet a person working there who was not completely engaged in addressing guest's comfort. They are awesome. It was beautiful, spacious, had a great view and was comfortable. The Gym - was what it needed to be, well equiped, TVs with cable on all the cardio machines, a nice yoga room. Climate controlled. The less than great parts: The Location - If you're interested in anything other than the hotel - you can walk across the street to see the marina, but you'll need to take a bus or a cab to get anywhere with a bit of Mexico to it. The Remodeling - Time at the pool is accompanied by the sound of power-tools and construction. There's no pool area that escapes that sound. I did not find that sound relaxing. The Beach - Small, shade is only available if you pay extra for a pergola. There's a time share condo sharing the facility that has access to palapas, but hotel guests do not. If you want to be outside in the shade, you need to be by the pool. If you're by the pool, you'll be listening to construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for cheaper / better food, there's a number of restaurants in the marina area across the street from the hotel.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2010

Sloooooow Season Shut Down

I was told by a couple different staff members to go to the happy hour in the lobby bar. When I got to the bar there was a small app buffet set out in the middle of the bar. I sat at the other end of the bar and ordered a drink. The bartender pored my drink and then told me the buffet was for a private promotion event. As he said this a houseman put up stantions between the end of the bar were I was sitting and the buffet. As I felt like I was encroaching on someone elses party I tried to assign my drink to my room which he was unable to do. A manager had to come to give him change so I could pay in cash and I had to move a stantion to be able to exit the bar. I just wish I new so much of the hotel was shut down for slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk to find something to do. The hotel might as well be closed.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed in pv many times
Business
olympia, wa
Oct 6, 2009

hurt by less business

I have stayed at this Westin a few other times, but the recession/lack of visitors has had a real effect on the hotel. The food was not nearly as good. The room had the main window, actually a window wall, but on one side there was a 3 inch gap with no glass nor screen. the number of staff was down, and it showed in the upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Kentucky
Jul 6, 2011

It was a very relaxing wonderful place

I relaxed at both the pool and beach, also shopped at the Malecon. Listening to the waves at night while sleeping was the relaxation I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCHO
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Some surprising gaps

Generally, staff was perfect--although the followup calls (did you get your dinner) on room service were a bit annoying. But 1. The room was not cleaned or picked up the second day of my stay. 2. Calls to unlock the mini-bar went unanswered on days 1 and 2. 3. Charges were made for bottled water (outside the fridge) and coffee which generally in American hotels and motels, at least the coffee are complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temo
Business
Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico
Sep 19, 2011

Great location

It's sufficiently far from town as to be able to have a quiet time, and close enough a cab ride to be in the middle of the action. Great combination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solotvlr
Business
Stamford, CT
Dec 21, 2009

Westin

The hotel and grounds are very nice. The rooms are large, recently renovated, and well appointed. The staff was quite friendly and very helpful. Downtown is about 20 minutes away by bus, which costs 5.50 ($0.45) pesos one way. The marina is a short walk away which offers many restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Kentucky
Jul 6, 2011

It was a very relaxing wonderful place

I relaxed at both the pool and beach, also shopped at the Malecon. Listening to the waves at night while sleeping was the relaxation I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cosas
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great place to stay

great location, everything is close, transportation is great............very clean, delicious food..........excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the bus service to go downtown, bus stop is only across from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top