$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
235 reviews
Last night before morning flight

We stayed here because it was close to the airport before leaving for home the next day. We had... See full review

  • Kim Q.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 235
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pari
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

No Customer Service

Customer service was terrible and extreamly slow. One eg: Had complained about the cordless phone not working which was never fixed in our 4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Sas
Business
Boston,MA
Mar 8, 2010

THE WESTIN SUCKS

Our (short) stay at the Westin was horrible! First we were told that the hotel was all inclusive but we discovered that it was not,but the worst thing is that they were of NO HELP!! They lied to us and said that they won't charge a night when they eventually did and they didn't help us to get transfer to another resort saying it "was not their problem". Plus there was absolutely no one at this resort, the place was freaking deserted (no wonder since it's lame),with no activities...the food is ridiculously overpriced (and it's not that good) and they will charge you $20 to watch a movie!! Totally not worth it,a place TO AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C's Up
Business
Cali
Sep 8, 2011

Hotel was ok- wouldn't go back.

We went in down season so hardly anyone was staying at the hotel which made it kind of boring. There was more staff then guests. The neighboring hotels had more occupancy. The staff seemed desperate for money/tips which definately got on our nerves. We had an invasion of some type of bug in our room but hotel staff eventually accomodated and let us switch rooms. At first they just sprayed Raid- but then we requested the switch because the smell was intoxicating. The rooms were very nicely laid out, and we had a nice ocean view. The food was ok, good variety. I had room service one night and the tomatoes with mozzerella and sauce were awesome. We went jet skiing - and one of the jet skis broke down, so that sucked. The menu at the pool bar was dissapointing so we went next door to Club Regina's hotel pool bar and ate there on a few occasions. Chicken quesadilla's are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tacos & Beer restaurant just outside the hotel was a lifesaver. Simple, convenient and good tasting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2011

Disappointing

Con: Hotel was outdated, decor cheesy, food lackluster, rooms not sound proofed AT ALL. Pro: Staff friendly, outside space very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C's Up
Business
Cali
Sep 8, 2011

Hotel was ok- wouldn't go back.

We went in down season so hardly anyone was staying at the hotel which made it kind of boring. There was more staff then guests. The neighboring hotels had more occupancy. The staff seemed desperate for money/tips which definately got on our nerves. We had an invasion of some type of bug in our room but hotel staff eventually accomodated and let us switch rooms. At first they just sprayed Raid- but then we requested the switch because the smell was intoxicating. The rooms were very nicely laid out, and we had a nice ocean view. The food was ok, good variety. I had room service one night and the tomatoes with mozzerella and sauce were awesome. We went jet skiing - and one of the jet skis broke down, so that sucked. The menu at the pool bar was dissapointing so we went next door to Club Regina's hotel pool bar and ate there on a few occasions. Chicken quesadilla's are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tacos & Beer restaurant just outside the hotel was a lifesaver. Simple, convenient and good tasting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose julian
Business
mexico city
Feb 22, 2010

resting weekend

we had a bad experience because we made our reservation since october and when we arrived we didnt have a room they told us to wait an hour. we waited for the hour and imagine, it wasnt ready yet, we had to wait an other hour and a half, they wanted to give us another room but we didnt accept because it was like a downgrade one. so we had to wait. when we were leaving I asked for a late check out but they didnt accept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croger1ks
Business
Kansas City, KS, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Nice Hotel, Could use some improvements

The Hotel itself was nice. I got the room at a great price. The maid service was hit and miss. Some days they would take the dirty towels and not leave us any clean towels. We were supposed to get small bottles of complimentary water in the bathroom. That didn't happen. The 2 litre bottle of water on the bar turned out to cost $4.50 usd. We had to go out of the hotel for each meal because food at the hotel was very pricey -- about $20 usd for the breakfast buffet. And there were tiny ants in the room so we couldn't leave any food in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victor's Restaurant on the Marina has excellent food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Feb 12, 2011

They're Cheaping Out on Everything Here

Obviously this hotel is in trouble.There were just a handful of guests in high season while the nearby Velas Vallarta was booming with conventioneers, weddings and timeshare people. First the good: Nice linens and very comfortable pillow-topped beds. Nice staff. Good workout facility with a large room for stretching, another with machines. Really good hamburgers and entrees at dinner. Now the disappointing: No real beach for walking and the water was scummy and filthy from the Marina. Getting anything...from a coffee pot to the coffee to the creamers/sugars, took mulitiple phone calls to the front desk. When they would finally bring one of the several items we requested, someone would immediately call the room to confirm that it came. This was annoying after awhile as it seemed they wanted to be congratulated for finally delivering one part of our request. Everywher ethere wa evidence of cheaping out including permanent-looking signs on things like water dispensers that were "out of order." How can you not have a water dispenser in a fitness center? Especially one that requires only that a jug of water be placed in it? We got one tiny bar of soap (For two women sharing a room) and a little bottle of shampoo. This was to last 5 days. No other amenities in the room--not even a shower cap. Very few towels and they didn;t replace the ones we used. One day they took away the bath mat but didn't leave another one and that took several calls. We finally had to request it directly from the maid by hanging out in the room until she came. Otherwise we would have had to use one of our two remaining bath towels. On the other hand, they charged a fortune for things like a very small amount of no-name wine ($9.00/glass). Hamburgers were $15...you get the picture. We didn't go all inclusive but that would not have been a good deal either as none of us could eat or drink enough to justify the cost. They charge $2.50 for the keycards and if you request a duplicate it immediately shows up on your bill. I turned all 3 of ours in but had to remind the desk clerk to remove the charges several times. The hotel gift shop is not related to the hotel, so you can't charge items to your room. This was not what I would have expected from a Westin hotel and I have stayed in several. Architecturally this place might be nice when it is boiling hot, but it was cool/cold and breezy while we were there and the halls, bars, restaurants were wind tunnels. The rooms had heavily textured concrete floors so that getting out of bed felt like walking on a bed of gravel. The quality of the "marble" in the bathroom (as well as the workmanship) was horrid and the tub was surrounded by mildew-infested caulking over an inch deep! The fabric headboards in our room had such a layer of dust I could have peeled it off like lint from a dryer filter. The curtains didn't close all the way, so I woke at the crack of dawn from the light in my eyes. In summary, I wondered the entire time whether this property is being sold and they are trying to raise their profit picture by reducing costs. The entire staff, while very nice, didn't seem to understand that their role was to make our stay a pleasant experience. So, for example, a pool guy stood right in front of our chaise lounges for several hours steel brushing the side of the pool when he could have worked nearly anywhere else without disturbing anyone as we were one of only 3 parties at the pool. It was so irritating. One day we wanted to go to dinner and got there a few minutes early. Rather than letting us sit down and wait for service, or better yet, offering us a beverage, we were told to leave and come back even though there were people inside still eating from lunch. There were no offerings of peanuts, olives, crackers or anything else during happy hour or when you ordered at the bar. We finally asked for something because we learned that it took nearly an hour from sit-down to actually getting food, and the...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage at Venus in the Marina Vallarta. Pure heaven and so inexpensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Englewood, Ohio
Nov 4, 2010

fabulous place but everything cost money

The resort and hotel itself was absolutely fabulous! However, EVERYTHING cost money! Even the gym! and the money you paid was only good for 24 hours!!! ANd apparantly when you go during off season they are renovating the place! i woke up at 9 am to them doing construction on the room next door!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arquitex
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 17, 2009

Our weened in Puerto Vallarta

Reception desk, check in too slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top