$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
215 reviews
Last night before morning flight

We stayed here because it was close to the airport before leaving for home the next day. We had... See full review

  • Kim Q.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated Travler
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 13, 2010

PICK ANOTHER HOTEL!! They have theives.

For a four diamond, supposedly top of the line hotel/resort I think they have been way OVER rated. Upon arriving at the hotel and knowing our guest count was 3, when we got to our room there was one king bed and at first all they offered a roll away bed for our son. We politely asked for a different room and were met with sighs of irritation from the staff at the front desk. After finally getting a room with 2 beds we proceeded to put away our clothes and other items. We put my purse, travel documents and our passports in the safe, locked it and headed down to the beach. Upon return to our room the safe code we put in and checked before we left no longer worked, we called the front desk and notified them of the situation. Quite quickly we had someone at our door to reset the safe. The person quickly, and without any questions or asking any of us for ID to verify we were who we were, reset the safe. When we pulled out my purse, in which we had some money divided and put into two places, the money we had in one place was gone. We had a camera right in front of our room, but go figure it showed nothing. The hotel said they checked the room keys, the safe and the camera, but ultimately they did not find anything and did nothing to help us and insisted we were idiots. On top of unfriendly service the entire trip our safety was compromised at this hotel. I would highly recommend looking at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited many places near and far for food and the best place that is close to this hotel is Victors Tacubana. The best food, service and value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MeVale
Business
Chicago, Il
Aug 4, 2011

Low Expectations

Low service and Hotel needs a major rehab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

This Hotel did not have any entertainment or ambiance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
w.b. mi
Feb 25, 2010

disappointed

our hotel room never got cleaned throughout the trip, & the front desk employees were unprofessional and barely spoke the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Vallarta
Nov 15, 2010

would not recommend

The Westin lists many amenities, but then when you get there they say there are fees for all of them. Our hotel room didn't come with your standard coffee machine. the water for the tub came out yellow! cabana that is advertised for also has a $50 fee. So really all you are paying for is a bed and an shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

100% Natural great dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Jul 2, 2008

Westin falls short

The room was clean but small. The pool was under major construction. The food was extremely expensive. Be prepared to pay $80 just for a simple breakfast for 4. Luckily, we only stayed a few days at the end of our trip. The beach access was fine and the location was in the marina which had many dining and shopping options accessible by foot. We did become sick during our stay while staying here. I can't say where the bacteria came from, but I felt very bad after a terrible margarita at poolside. It seems Mexico is no longer the bargain it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buenos Aries Restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices. They are in the center of the marina if you can dodge the many time share hawkers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pilotof727s
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 25, 2014

Great Hotel, Overpriced Ameneties

The hotel is only about 2 miles from the airport and located on the beach. What a great location!. We rented a car and parking was free. That was the only thing that was free. Our 4 min. 800 number phone call was $4. Internet is $15/day. There is free internet at most restaurants which is where we kept up on most news. Everyone in the entire city is very nice. We walked around the small street downtown and never felt in danger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Malecon, or Boardwalk in English. You can't beat the sunset. Free street performers and multiple street vendors. We went there 5 out of the 6 nights we stayed there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bluedove
Business
Texas, EEUU
Feb 19, 2012

Nice place

Overall the hotel was very comfortable yet the meals at the restaurant were far drom desirable and over priced. Service was great. One major dissapoinment was the high rates to use the internet service. While most hotels that I have been offer free WIFI, there was a change for using it and it was ridiculous. 5 dollars per 30 min using their computers or 25 dollar to use WIFI on your personal computers per a 24 hour period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed Mas
Business
California
Jul 6, 2013

Westin Hotel

Dont pay extra for this vacation place. Service was great, but pool and the beach was OK. Rooms could be a little bigger, especially if you have one or two small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 22, 2009

Begging for room towels

Over all is a nice motel...But does not compare to the quality found at other Westins I have stayed at.We did have great massages...by the Westin Spa staff. Would definitely recommend Monica & Roger !We took a day trip sailing. This was the highlight of our trip. We had to ask every day for wash cloths & hand towels .Our housekeeper must have been on break. Needed to ask for floor cleaning and Bed turn down .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manny dining choices at near by Marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Nov 12, 2009

westin resort

nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top