$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Díaz Ordaz International Airport, (PVR), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 211
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Happy in ChiTown
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 12, 2011

Boo!!

Definitely not Westin quality - would not go back - rooms on the 5th floor are terrible - right over the Lobby Bar which is open until 1:00 AM - they won't grant late check outs, even if you are a preferred memeber, unless you pay a fee...told us that the hotel was full, when we know for a fact that wasn't true - just trying to nickel and dime customers. Food was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Moments
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 24, 2013

Pushing for dollars

From the moment we arrived and the desk clerk up-charged us for the room that our contract stated that we had reserved we could feel that there was a change from our past stay there. The facility and grounds looked as though they were struggling, fixtures showed signs of repairs to past repairs, and when fixtures failed completely they were replaced by newer ones of lesser quality. Kudos should go to the wait and housekeeping staff which mustered energy and smiling faces. You have heard the expression "they get you coming and going", right? Well, as our flight out was in the afternoon we asked (the same desk clerk) to park our bags at the concierge ($12), have lunch at the pool, and then use the gym showers ($12) prior to departing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was inconsistent in that I could order an item from the menu three times and receive three good, but very different, versions of the dish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
granmalea
Business
Maui
Oct 2, 2011

/westin Resort Marina district

we enjoyed our stay in puerto Vallarta. Our room at the Westin was very clean with a beautiful view of the pools and the ocean, however, the pillows were like sandbags. We enjoyed the room with the view, but the hotel overall has a dated feel. We left on an excursion early in the morning and there were no lights on in the halls off the lobby. The lobby also is not air conditioned which really surprised us. The breakfast was very mediocre compared with other smaller hotels we have stayed at in Mazatlan. I don't think we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojos
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Had a blast in Mexico

Pros: ~Staff friendly and helpful ~Fitness center huge with tons of new equipment ~In a gorgeous location and within walking distance to ~Marina (shops & restaurants) ~Pools relaxing (although music horrible 80s love songs) ~Food quality is excellent (breakfast buffet a little pricey, but you can get anything imaginable for breakfast) ~Safe neighborhood ~Short ride to/from airport, and still did not hear air traffic ~Issues handled promptly by housekeeping ~Pool lounge chairs easy to come by, same with beach lounge chairs, cabanas, etc ~Great water pressure in showers & beds are comfy Westin Hotel Beds ~Tennis courts with instructors if you want them Cons: *ABC gum found in hotel room in 2 different spots (which housekeeping quickly removed upon us calling them) *Room was quite dark--not enough lighting--just 4 lamps in main area *No fan in bathroom, so mirrors fogged up quickly and took a long time to be able to see to get ready b/c couldn't see mirror *Taxi or bus ride needed to get into el Malecon/downtown area--but prices reasonable for either *Hotel is past its prime--needs a good update and outside of hotel needs a power-wash and repainting! Lampshades dirty, decor out of style. *Room service slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware--at Airport when you are going to ground transportation, there will be people "helping you" find a taxi when in reality they are suckering you into doing a timeshare presentation. They will lie to you and tell you it will save you 50% with the VIP card. That VIP card doesn't save you anywhere close to 50%--run far away from them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smithejs
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 23, 2012

A bit tired but an overall very good experience

The hotel itself is a bit dated but the staff was very friendly and eager to recommend good restaurants and quick with excellent service at the beach bar. Royal Beach Club is worth the extra expense as you can eat a full breakfast and full dinner with drinks should you desire. My fiancee and I prefer a nicer hotel but this seemed to be one of, if not the, nicest hotel in the marina area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonora Grill Prime is a new restaurant at the Nima Bay development and a great steakhouse. The Managers and Servers were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottswahey 1958
Business
Canada
Mar 5, 2013

Good Vacation.

Got a good deal on this hotel with an all inclusive package. Meals were very limited on where and what you could eat . Dont expect to get seafood or steak on the all inclusive package. All menu order food only in one restaurant. Package did not include the steak and seafood house. Also some items on the allowed menu were not included. Breakfast were good. Freshly made omelettes every morning. Drinks were ok. Have to drink what beer they allow. Some beers would cost extra. No intertainment what so ever day or night. Pretty boring. On a good note. 24 hr room service was included as well as wifi. Internet would normally cost $18 a day. Crazy. For what we paid on this hotel, I would go back at the same price. I would never pay full price for this all inclusive. Not a bad hotel though. A little out dated but clean enough. Location is good. Close to the marina and lots of places to eat and have fun there. An $8.00 taxi ride to down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Victors or the restaurant just before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Nov 23, 2009

Noisy

We loved the hotel in everyway with the exception of weekend noise! There is Club Regina located near the pool that is a "private club" rented out for weddings. Music began at midnight (Friday & Saturday) and played until 4:00am. If you sleep light...forget sleeping! The bass will keep you up all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the marina, (marina is across the street)...walk along the boardwalk at the marina until you reach the Tikul Restaurant....wonderful food, great Chef, reasonably priced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
married twenty-somethings
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2011

nice pool, cstly, too far from downtown

There was nothing wrong with the hotel. The people were friendly and the service was average. Pros: When we went (February), it was very quiet, so it was easy to relax. They have 4 large, nice pools. We were immediately upgraded upon arrival to an ocean view room and it was walking distance to the marina. Also, there is an Oxxo across the street to stock up on beer and some goodies at a cheaper price than getting it from the hotel. Cons: The Melecon (downtown boardwalk) has so much to offer, and that was not walking distance. The hotel's beach is small and unattractive and EVERYTHING at the hotel costs a LOT of money. I have been to Puerto Vallarta before, and if I go again, I will stay closer to downtown where there are more restaurants with things to do and see. I am not an especially snobby traveler, but I was generally unimpressed with the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 8, 2009

Great family hotel as well as couples!

Hotel great location near the marina with all the great restaurants! Initial room was on the 5th level which unfortunately sits underneath the lobby/bar roof area and is very noisey due to the echoing of people coming out of the bar at wee hours. We were promptly moved by the mgr. Martha to the 7th floor. Very quiet and just as nice, perfect. The hotel staff are great but would highly recommend not eating at the hotel as prices are ridiculous and the food is avg. A short stroll to the marina will find very nice restaurant's for any taste and pocket book. Some recommendations are: For breakfast the one and only "Mr. Creme" For Lunch/and a decent dinner "Victor's" For a very nice Italian dinner "Portebellos" For the most romatic dinner go to old town and get a resv for "La Casa de Angel". This is Richard and Elizabeth Burtons' old home re-done into a boutique hotel and very nice small restauraunt. Prices very reasonable for the quality and service $100 for 2. Other activities: swim with the dolphins. Book on line and you'll get a 10%-15% disc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joemama
Business
san antonio, tx
Dec 11, 2009

Great getaway

A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, BUT FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY. gREAT AND HELPFUL STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street and about two blocks down and on the Marina, there are a dozen nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top