$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 25, 2011

Great, Relaxing Honeymoon Destination

We chose the Westin based on its reputation and the previous stays we have had at their other locations. I have to say, that this location is one of the more modest/less luxurious ones, but still a very nice hotel in its own right. The pool was perfect (and really the only thing I was interested in doing all day anyway) and the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. When we arrived, a few of the electrical outlets didn't work, but the concierge quickly sent someone up and it was fixed within an hour. Very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
born to be on vacation
Business
Denver
Jun 28, 2010

great service from staff

I go to PV alot and this time I stayed in the Marina area and was glad I did. All the lovely restaurants and the view was fab. It would have been helpful to be able to use a ATM or get money at the hotel so take enough cash. The staff was the best ever. Eat at Dantes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Marina Area way cheaper great food. On the off season great deals on boat tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC, Canada
Jun 1, 2011

Mexican Paradise

Overall great, nice hotel and service. Pool was enjoyable, food fairly good. Cons poor beach, some inconsistencies in the room service, a fair walk from amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can catch the local bus for sixty five cents right out front of the entrance into downtown or the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temo
Business
Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico
Sep 19, 2011

Great location

It's sufficiently far from town as to be able to have a quiet time, and close enough a cab ride to be in the middle of the action. Great combination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time PV traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 13, 2009

What a great view

The hotel was one building with about 10 floors of rooms. We were on the top floor with great views of the three pools down below and the beachfront. This hotel also shares property with their 3 building timeshare...but thankfully we were not pressured to participate in any seminars. I was dissapointed that there were not more adult options...adult only pool, disco club on site...etc. My husband and I were on vacation for relaxing and romance so the mid-day bingo games and running and screaming kids were not a plus for us. Also, there was no welcoming hotel written guide so we basically had to figure things out for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watchung, new jersey
Mar 14, 2011

Puerto Vallarta Vacation

Wonderful location adjacent to the Marina and good restaurants. Easy access to the Malecon via taxi or local bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices for Italian and Mexican cuisine in the Marina. Also good for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaredrey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Just Plain Beautiful!

I was there to photograph a wedding and highly enjoyed my experience at this hotel/resort. It was full of greenery and palm trees. The restaurant on site was delicious. The beach and pool were beautiful. I just can't say anything but great things about this location. I also loved that there was places to eat just walking distance outside of the resort and nothing seemed unsafe. The only downside I can think of was the wireless internet cost money and it only worked in the lobby. All I had was my ipad so I could only use the wireless network. If you have a laptop you can plug in to the ethernet port to get online free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not purchase water in your room, just go across the street to the mini mart (Oxxo) to get water and other snacks for a much cheaper rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madeline World Traveler
Business
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Oct 11, 2009

Wonderful resort but slightly tarnished

The property was wonderful and the staff was uber friendly. A little updating would have made it perfect. Fresh coat of paint, all elevators working, modernize the gum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get a cab, go to the base of the driveway and barter with the drivers. Also go to Victor's Tucuba Cafe on the marina, they have great service and good food. Its a short walk for either breakfast or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 26, 2009

Great hotel, needs better music. :)

Hotel was great -- pool is amazing and uncrowded, beach was great, staff was friendly, happy to speak to you in either Spanish, English, or some combination. Service was quick, particularly room service dining. We had breakfast on our private balcony for the same price as dining downstairs at the restaurant and the food came even more quickly. Only notable downside was the constant top 40 on the speakers located throughout the hotel grounds. There was one pool where no music was playing, but overall too much top 40 for our tastes. The room could have been cleaner -- it was clean, but not perfect when we checked in. Overall I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking to relax, have great poolside and room service, swim in an uncrowded ocean, etc. So long as you can take the music, you'll have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order room service. Same price, food comes more quickly, and you can enjoy it on the balcony while you watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJK
Business
Bergen County, NJ
Mar 17, 2009

Very nice time

Very nice and relaxing time. Little noisy at nights with music and parties. Didn't mind too much, but can understand other people being annoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top