$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
214 reviews
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
I was sick the first three days

I got sick on the way down to Mexico probably from sitting in the USO all night before boarding my... See full review

  • nonametraveler1987
  • Jan 16, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joley
Business
Atherton, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

pre-Xmas getaway

Unrequested upgrade to face the beautiful ocean on the balcony. Beach and 2 pools right there, but uncrowded and accessible. Close to airport but not so close as to have any noise. Nice Marina nearby, with restaurants, nice spas, etc. Food at breakfast and at pool quite nice. Everybody very nice. Finally, the travel agent at the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Venus Sunshine Spa, in the Marina, provides excellent massage at 40% the charge of the hotel spa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reviewer too
Business
California
Feb 8, 2012

Westin Puerto Vallarta

Slightly dated but good. The hardwood accents to the room were beautiful. The fresh fruit at breakfast wasn't as tasty as it can be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One who now knows
Business
North Wales, PA 19454, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great couple's getaway

Excellent! Staff very friendly and attentive. Couldn't be nicer. Great location with marina across the street for shopping and many eateries. Try Dante's for a upscale dinner and Victor's for any fish dish!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus into town. Walk the boardwalk. It's a short ride and only costs about 50 cents. DO NOT STOP IN THE AIRPORT IF YOU AREN"T LOOKING FOR A TIMESHARE! These hackers tell you they are employed by the hotel or the pre-transportation you have arranged. They lie! KEEP WALKING PAST THEM ALL UNTIL you are almost outside and you'll see signs and folks wearing shirts noting what company they work for!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galena22
Business
Reno, NV
Feb 19, 2012

Puerto Vallarta trip

This hotel was very nice. Except for one time they forgot some towels, everything was done very well. The beds are indeed "Heavenly" as they advertise. If only they could control the weather! We had cloudy days and one thrunderstorm, but the warm air made it all worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Malecon Boardwalk is a wonderful place now that it has been restored and upgraded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REGULAR FELLA
Business
Northbrook, IL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

90 per cent excellent stay

Staff was excellent and helpfull. Rooms were better that the other 2 major hotel chains closer to town. Pool was very clean and received almost hourly checking. Food was excellent and about par for pricing. Only complaint was that the price for HiFi was $15.00 a day as we used it every day for 15 days so it added up. Other Hotels offered free Hi Fi. Would LOVE to go backand wish Wi Fi was sold at a reduced rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glitterninja
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 27, 2012

Solid vacation spot

We had a great time. Was somewhat skeptical given some other reviews that we had seen, but were pleased with everything overall. We thought the food was great, the service at any of the restaurants/bars more than friendly and prompt. They could use more help at the front desk - lots of impatient long lines. The ocean view room was lovely. Room service was hit or miss; lots of loud birds outside the door in the mornings, but all in all this was a really nice stay for the money. Kid friendly, but enough pools that one side was the kid side and one was the non-kid side, which was nice (as someone looking for quiet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marvy Marv
Business
Highland Park, IL, USA
Feb 29, 2012

The Westin is a winner!

This was my first stay at any location in the Marina area of Puerto Vallarta, though I have been going there for over twenty years. In the past, I have always stayed either in town,or close to town. My experience in the Marina area, and particularly at the Westin far exceeded my expectations! The staff at the Westin was very well trained and could not be nicer. The front desk people in particular, and management in every department, were helpful and pleasant in every way possible! I would highly recommend this hotel. The Marina location itself also was very nice. A breath of fresh air from the sometimes crowded and noisy city areas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many wonderful restaurants to experience, just a short walk from the Westin. I particularly enjoyed Dante's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattle surfer dude
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great time at the Westin

This hotel was a very good pick. Close to the airport and to downtown. The hotel was clean and the people there were courteous. They didn't have any amenities like kayaks or games there, the beach was kind of small and they only had 3 umbrellas on the whole beach. Also, some amenities like the little covered seats by the beach were extra. This being an expensive hotel I would've expected them to be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the marina a short walk away for good food, drinks and don't pay the high prices at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaramonson
Business
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2012

Relaxing vacation

We enjoyed our stay and chose this hotel because of the incredible deal we received even though the hotel is a bit further away from downtown than we like to stay. We rode the bus just about daily which runs every 15 minutes in front of the hotel. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was included in our pricing, every day. The staff was wonderful and remembered our names after the first day. The grounds are kept up very well. The only disappointment we had was that the lounge chair in our room was stained/gross, the drain in the bathroom sink was very slow, there was a bit of mold at the bottom of the shower and some of the doors in the room needed to be fixed. But overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple restaurants in the Marina that we would recommend; Angelos, Mariachilis, the Taco/Pizza place across from the hotel for inexpensive dinner and the coffee shop that offers free wi-fy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REGULAR FELLA
Business
Northbrook, IL, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Hotel perfect, weather 99% good

Everything good, only downside WiFi was expensive. Would not stop us from returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top