$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TK Kennedy
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 29, 2014

Great Location/Good For Families

My kids and I stayed in a deluxe oceanfront room on the 10th floor. We had a large room with a jacuzzi on the balcony looking out over the Pacific. Kids loved the jacuzzi and the large, shallow swimming pools. We ate 2 meals at Las Palmas (the restaurant near the pools). Food was average at best and pricy. Nice property but too much "nickel and diming" for a 4 star resort. WiFi was not included...phone calls exceptionally expensive...pool floats for kids had to be rented for $10/day. Could have purchased one for that price. C'mon Westin...you can do better. Let the kids play with these for no charge and wifi should be included with a deluxe room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Starbuck's is about a mile walk away and offers free wifi with purchase.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 8, 2009

Great family hotel as well as couples!

Hotel great location near the marina with all the great restaurants! Initial room was on the 5th level which unfortunately sits underneath the lobby/bar roof area and is very noisey due to the echoing of people coming out of the bar at wee hours. We were promptly moved by the mgr. Martha to the 7th floor. Very quiet and just as nice, perfect. The hotel staff are great but would highly recommend not eating at the hotel as prices are ridiculous and the food is avg. A short stroll to the marina will find very nice restaurant's for any taste and pocket book. Some recommendations are: For breakfast the one and only "Mr. Creme" For Lunch/and a decent dinner "Victor's" For a very nice Italian dinner "Portebellos" For the most romatic dinner go to old town and get a resv for "La Casa de Angel". This is Richard and Elizabeth Burtons' old home re-done into a boutique hotel and very nice small restauraunt. Prices very reasonable for the quality and service $100 for 2. Other activities: swim with the dolphins. Book on line and you'll get a 10%-15% disc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago illinois
Jun 8, 2009

great

At the hotel everything went great there is nothing wrong what i can say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joemama
Business
san antonio, tx
Dec 11, 2009

Great getaway

A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, BUT FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY. gREAT AND HELPFUL STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street and about two blocks down and on the Marina, there are a dozen nice restaurants.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatyana
Business
san antonio, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Westin PV

Had a great time in Puerto Vallarta. I had not been in 19 years and the Westin was wonderful. Only an 80 peso ride to town for shopping, night life and dining. walking distance to the Marina for dining too. I did whale watching and saw 4 hump backs then swam with the dolphins in Nuevo Vallarta the next day. Pool area is quite beautiful and the staff was very attentive. Would go back in a heartbeat. San Antonio traveller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do whale watching or swim with dolphins wait to purchase in town or on the beach. The salesmen are willing to bargin!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
b mn
Feb 22, 2010

winter trip

IT was close to airport. Watch your taxi rates.Cost back to airport was less than $5 but we paid $15 out of airport. Oldtown is great place.Lots of places to eat and shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP5
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2010

The Westin Resort &Spa, Puerto Vallarta

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed meals at the restraunts and by the pool. We also ventured into the city and enjoyed shopping and dinner at Senior Frog's. We had a wonderful experience swimming with the dolphins as well. A great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kompot
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Really nice place

Decent hotel. Not the best shoreline and beach, but is very picturesque. Nice area, no wonder hotel was booked entirely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NIKKIB
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 23, 2011

Overall Great experience!!

This was an overall great hotel! We ended up staying here after making a last minute decision to take a vacation and the price was right for this hotel!Although some of the reviews said it was a little dated we did not feel this way at all. It was very authentic feeling with tons of great local artwork throughout the hotel. The pools and the beach were both great and only felt a little too crowded on Sunday for some reason? We thought it seemed kid friendly but not annoying for those of us without kids. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants the first night which was overpriced and not that amazing. During the day though, we ate at a different hotel restaurant on the beach that had wonderful tacos al pastor, ceviche, and guacamole. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. We stayed on the "club level" which gave us a nice view from our room along with complimentary breakfast and cocktails. The breakfast left A LOT to be desired but for a quick easy bite before hitting the beach, it wasn't terrible. The main problem was that although breakfast went until 11AM and we were usually there by 9AM everything already was gone and not refilled unless you bugged the server a bunch of times- I am talking the basics like coffee cups and juice. It was as if no one told the server that there were actually 2 hours left for breakfast! We didn't take advantage of the cocktail hour but overall were still glad we paid a little more for club level. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. The beds and the shower were awesome as well. the only other complaint had to do with the timeshare side of the hotel. I don't quite know what the deal over there is but once their pool filled up they would take over our side of the pool area which was evident because of the different colored towels. This was pretty annoying on Sunday when there was not a poolside seat to be found. Luckily we are more beach people and we found this to be the most enjoyable part of our stay! The service was great, the drinks were great, and the people watching was primo. Keep in mind, if you are a person who doesn't like being approached by vendors this may not be the place for you. For me, I got to shop with a beer in my hand while getting a suntan which I enjoyed immensely!!! Even though there were a couple of issues, we would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would highly recommend you take the short taxi ride downtown to experience the shopping and the incredible restaurant scene! We ventured out each night after a day in the sun and ended up having some fantastic dinners!!! The cab ride downtown is quickly arranged by the hotel staff out front and has a set price of 80 pesos which makes it nice not to have to haggle with the cab driver. The same goes for the trip back and all you have to do is establish the price with the driver once you get in. There is great dining and shopping in the downtown area without it feeling too incredibly touristy. There is a ton of great artwork and jewelry but do watch out for the timeshare people. We got a lot of our restaurant ideas from the free magazines and newspapers in the lobby of the hotel, many of which seemed to have been written by ex pats living in PV.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travler X
Business
seattle
Jun 15, 2011

romanticly chalanged rooms

nice hotel, Quiet, very good service. Advice on restraunts and activities was excelent. On site food and drinks were very expensive even for a nice hotel. Sadly for a romantic trip ,in a nearly empty hotel even after a room upgrade at additional cost, the only room they could give us had two single beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No Way Jose unlikely name for an excelent restaraunt. Somewhat hard to find in old town even the cab driver had to ask directions and charged double!

Back to menu Return to top