$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2010

Sloooooow Season Shut Down

I was told by a couple different staff members to go to the happy hour in the lobby bar. When I got to the bar there was a small app buffet set out in the middle of the bar. I sat at the other end of the bar and ordered a drink. The bartender pored my drink and then told me the buffet was for a private promotion event. As he said this a houseman put up stantions between the end of the bar were I was sitting and the buffet. As I felt like I was encroaching on someone elses party I tried to assign my drink to my room which he was unable to do. A manager had to come to give him change so I could pay in cash and I had to move a stantion to be able to exit the bar. I just wish I new so much of the hotel was shut down for slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk to find something to do. The hotel might as well be closed.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Ramon, CA
Feb 12, 2011

They're Cheaping Out on Everything Here

Obviously this hotel is in trouble.There were just a handful of guests in high season while the nearby Velas Vallarta was booming with conventioneers, weddings and timeshare people. First the good: Nice linens and very comfortable pillow-topped beds. Nice staff. Good workout facility with a large room for stretching, another with machines. Really good hamburgers and entrees at dinner. Now the disappointing: No real beach for walking and the water was scummy and filthy from the Marina. Getting anything...from a coffee pot to the coffee to the creamers/sugars, took mulitiple phone calls to the front desk. When they would finally bring one of the several items we requested, someone would immediately call the room to confirm that it came. This was annoying after awhile as it seemed they wanted to be congratulated for finally delivering one part of our request. Everywher ethere wa evidence of cheaping out including permanent-looking signs on things like water dispensers that were "out of order." How can you not have a water dispenser in a fitness center? Especially one that requires only that a jug of water be placed in it? We got one tiny bar of soap (For two women sharing a room) and a little bottle of shampoo. This was to last 5 days. No other amenities in the room--not even a shower cap. Very few towels and they didn;t replace the ones we used. One day they took away the bath mat but didn't leave another one and that took several calls. We finally had to request it directly from the maid by hanging out in the room until she came. Otherwise we would have had to use one of our two remaining bath towels. On the other hand, they charged a fortune for things like a very small amount of no-name wine ($9.00/glass). Hamburgers were $15...you get the picture. We didn't go all inclusive but that would not have been a good deal either as none of us could eat or drink enough to justify the cost. They charge $2.50 for the keycards and if you request a duplicate it immediately shows up on your bill. I turned all 3 of ours in but had to remind the desk clerk to remove the charges several times. The hotel gift shop is not related to the hotel, so you can't charge items to your room. This was not what I would have expected from a Westin hotel and I have stayed in several. Architecturally this place might be nice when it is boiling hot, but it was cool/cold and breezy while we were there and the halls, bars, restaurants were wind tunnels. The rooms had heavily textured concrete floors so that getting out of bed felt like walking on a bed of gravel. The quality of the "marble" in the bathroom (as well as the workmanship) was horrid and the tub was surrounded by mildew-infested caulking over an inch deep! The fabric headboards in our room had such a layer of dust I could have peeled it off like lint from a dryer filter. The curtains didn't close all the way, so I woke at the crack of dawn from the light in my eyes. In summary, I wondered the entire time whether this property is being sold and they are trying to raise their profit picture by reducing costs. The entire staff, while very nice, didn't seem to understand that their role was to make our stay a pleasant experience. So, for example, a pool guy stood right in front of our chaise lounges for several hours steel brushing the side of the pool when he could have worked nearly anywhere else without disturbing anyone as we were one of only 3 parties at the pool. It was so irritating. One day we wanted to go to dinner and got there a few minutes early. Rather than letting us sit down and wait for service, or better yet, offering us a beverage, we were told to leave and come back even though there were people inside still eating from lunch. There were no offerings of peanuts, olives, crackers or anything else during happy hour or when you ordered at the bar. We finally asked for something because we learned that it took nearly an hour from sit-down to actually getting food, and the...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage at Venus in the Marina Vallarta. Pure heaven and so inexpensive!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
MN
Apr 22, 2009

Begging for room towels

Over all is a nice motel...But does not compare to the quality found at other Westins I have stayed at.We did have great massages...by the Westin Spa staff. Would definitely recommend Monica & Roger !We took a day trip sailing. This was the highlight of our trip. We had to ask every day for wash cloths & hand towels .Our housekeeper must have been on break. Needed to ask for floor cleaning and Bed turn down .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manny dining choices at near by Marina

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed in pv many times
Single
olympia, wa
Oct 6, 2009

hurt by less business

I have stayed at this Westin a few other times, but the recession/lack of visitors has had a real effect on the hotel. The food was not nearly as good. The room had the main window, actually a window wall, but on one side there was a 3 inch gap with no glass nor screen. the number of staff was down, and it showed in the upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Riverside, CA
Nov 23, 2009

Noisy

We loved the hotel in everyway with the exception of weekend noise! There is Club Regina located near the pool that is a "private club" rented out for weddings. Music began at midnight (Friday & Saturday) and played until 4:00am. If you sleep light...forget sleeping! The bass will keep you up all night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the marina, (marina is across the street)...walk along the boardwalk at the marina until you reach the Tikul Restaurant....wonderful food, great Chef, reasonably priced!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
los angeles, ca
Nov 12, 2009

westin resort

nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Englewood, Ohio
Nov 4, 2010

fabulous place but everything cost money

The resort and hotel itself was absolutely fabulous! However, EVERYTHING cost money! Even the gym! and the money you paid was only good for 24 hours!!! ANd apparantly when you go during off season they are renovating the place! i woke up at 9 am to them doing construction on the room next door!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cerenuan
Business
norht dakota
Feb 13, 2010

westin

The facilities were very clean. The staff was friendly but the fence between the property seemed unnecessary and to me very RUDE!!! The biggest problem was there is no entertainment on site and that the bar stopped serving really early so no other quests stayed on site later than 5pm..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Le Kliff restuarant......wonderful for a very romantic dinner!!!! you can take a bus up the hill its like 15 km away.....

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2007

If you enjoy humid weather

You would really love this spot if you enjoy extra humid weather, since the amenities of this hotel include a huge pool and jacuzzi equipped with a wet bar that you may order the most exotic drinks. 2 minutes away from the beach, and I think in high season, you may enjoy their outdoor restaurant and bar called the nikki beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

souvenirs, local tequila makers, and mom and pops taco restaurants.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
married twenty-somethings
Couples
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2011

nice pool, cstly, too far from downtown

There was nothing wrong with the hotel. The people were friendly and the service was average. Pros: When we went (February), it was very quiet, so it was easy to relax. They have 4 large, nice pools. We were immediately upgraded upon arrival to an ocean view room and it was walking distance to the marina. Also, there is an Oxxo across the street to stock up on beer and some goodies at a cheaper price than getting it from the hotel. Cons: The Melecon (downtown boardwalk) has so much to offer, and that was not walking distance. The hotel's beach is small and unattractive and EVERYTHING at the hotel costs a LOT of money. I have been to Puerto Vallarta before, and if I go again, I will stay closer to downtown where there are more restaurants with things to do and see. I am not an especially snobby traveler, but I was generally unimpressed with the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top