$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Puerto Vallarta
Nov 15, 2010

would not recommend

The Westin lists many amenities, but then when you get there they say there are fees for all of them. Our hotel room didn't come with your standard coffee machine. the water for the tub came out yellow! cabana that is advertised for also has a $50 fee. So really all you are paying for is a bed and an shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

100% Natural great dining.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Richmond
Aug 6, 2008

Friendly, but noisy

My stay at the Westin Puerto Vallarta was a mixed bag. I'll begin with the great parts: The Staff - lovely, helpful, friendly, efficient. I didn't meet a person working there who was not completely engaged in addressing guest's comfort. They are awesome. It was beautiful, spacious, had a great view and was comfortable. The Gym - was what it needed to be, well equiped, TVs with cable on all the cardio machines, a nice yoga room. Climate controlled. The less than great parts: The Location - If you're interested in anything other than the hotel - you can walk across the street to see the marina, but you'll need to take a bus or a cab to get anywhere with a bit of Mexico to it. The Remodeling - Time at the pool is accompanied by the sound of power-tools and construction. There's no pool area that escapes that sound. I did not find that sound relaxing. The Beach - Small, shade is only available if you pay extra for a pergola. There's a time share condo sharing the facility that has access to palapas, but hotel guests do not. If you want to be outside in the shade, you need to be by the pool. If you're by the pool, you'll be listening to construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for cheaper / better food, there's a number of restaurants in the marina area across the street from the hotel.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vancouver
Jul 2, 2008

Westin falls short

The room was clean but small. The pool was under major construction. The food was extremely expensive. Be prepared to pay $80 just for a simple breakfast for 4. Luckily, we only stayed a few days at the end of our trip. The beach access was fine and the location was in the marina which had many dining and shopping options accessible by foot. We did become sick during our stay while staying here. I can't say where the bacteria came from, but I felt very bad after a terrible margarita at poolside. It seems Mexico is no longer the bargain it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buenos Aries Restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices. They are in the center of the marina if you can dodge the many time share hawkers.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pilotof727s
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 25, 2014

Great Hotel, Overpriced Ameneties

The hotel is only about 2 miles from the airport and located on the beach. What a great location!. We rented a car and parking was free. That was the only thing that was free. Our 4 min. 800 number phone call was $4. Internet is $15/day. There is free internet at most restaurants which is where we kept up on most news. Everyone in the entire city is very nice. We walked around the small street downtown and never felt in danger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Malecon, or Boardwalk in English. You can't beat the sunset. Free street performers and multiple street vendors. We went there 5 out of the 6 nights we stayed there.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
granmalea
Couples
Maui
Oct 2, 2011

/westin Resort Marina district

we enjoyed our stay in puerto Vallarta. Our room at the Westin was very clean with a beautiful view of the pools and the ocean, however, the pillows were like sandbags. We enjoyed the room with the view, but the hotel overall has a dated feel. We left on an excursion early in the morning and there were no lights on in the halls off the lobby. The lobby also is not air conditioned which really surprised us. The breakfast was very mediocre compared with other smaller hotels we have stayed at in Mazatlan. I don't think we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croger1ks
Friends
Kansas City, KS, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Nice Hotel, Could use some improvements

The Hotel itself was nice. I got the room at a great price. The maid service was hit and miss. Some days they would take the dirty towels and not leave us any clean towels. We were supposed to get small bottles of complimentary water in the bathroom. That didn't happen. The 2 litre bottle of water on the bar turned out to cost $4.50 usd. We had to go out of the hotel for each meal because food at the hotel was very pricey -- about $20 usd for the breakfast buffet. And there were tiny ants in the room so we couldn't leave any food in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victor's Restaurant on the Marina has excellent food at very reasonable prices.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojos
Couples
St Paul, MN, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Had a blast in Mexico

Pros: ~Staff friendly and helpful ~Fitness center huge with tons of new equipment ~In a gorgeous location and within walking distance to ~Marina (shops & restaurants) ~Pools relaxing (although music horrible 80s love songs) ~Food quality is excellent (breakfast buffet a little pricey, but you can get anything imaginable for breakfast) ~Safe neighborhood ~Short ride to/from airport, and still did not hear air traffic ~Issues handled promptly by housekeeping ~Pool lounge chairs easy to come by, same with beach lounge chairs, cabanas, etc ~Great water pressure in showers & beds are comfy Westin Hotel Beds ~Tennis courts with instructors if you want them Cons: *ABC gum found in hotel room in 2 different spots (which housekeeping quickly removed upon us calling them) *Room was quite dark--not enough lighting--just 4 lamps in main area *No fan in bathroom, so mirrors fogged up quickly and took a long time to be able to see to get ready b/c couldn't see mirror *Taxi or bus ride needed to get into el Malecon/downtown area--but prices reasonable for either *Hotel is past its prime--needs a good update and outside of hotel needs a power-wash and repainting! Lampshades dirty, decor out of style. *Room service slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware--at Airport when you are going to ground transportation, there will be people "helping you" find a taxi when in reality they are suckering you into doing a timeshare presentation. They will lie to you and tell you it will save you 50% with the VIP card. That VIP card doesn't save you anywhere close to 50%--run far away from them!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smithejs
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 23, 2012

A bit tired but an overall very good experience

The hotel itself is a bit dated but the staff was very friendly and eager to recommend good restaurants and quick with excellent service at the beach bar. Royal Beach Club is worth the extra expense as you can eat a full breakfast and full dinner with drinks should you desire. My fiancee and I prefer a nicer hotel but this seemed to be one of, if not the, nicest hotel in the marina area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonora Grill Prime is a new restaurant at the Nima Bay development and a great steakhouse. The Managers and Servers were fantastic.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottswahey 1958
Couples
Canada
Mar 5, 2013

Good Vacation.

Got a good deal on this hotel with an all inclusive package. Meals were very limited on where and what you could eat . Dont expect to get seafood or steak on the all inclusive package. All menu order food only in one restaurant. Package did not include the steak and seafood house. Also some items on the allowed menu were not included. Breakfast were good. Freshly made omelettes every morning. Drinks were ok. Have to drink what beer they allow. Some beers would cost extra. No intertainment what so ever day or night. Pretty boring. On a good note. 24 hr room service was included as well as wifi. Internet would normally cost $18 a day. Crazy. For what we paid on this hotel, I would go back at the same price. I would never pay full price for this all inclusive. Not a bad hotel though. A little out dated but clean enough. Location is good. Close to the marina and lots of places to eat and have fun there. An $8.00 taxi ride to down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Victors or the restaurant just before.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed Mas
Family
California
Jul 6, 2013

Westin Hotel

Dont pay extra for this vacation place. Service was great, but pool and the beach was OK. Rooms could be a little bigger, especially if you have one or two small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top