$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond
Aug 6, 2008

Friendly, but noisy

My stay at the Westin Puerto Vallarta was a mixed bag. I'll begin with the great parts: The Staff - lovely, helpful, friendly, efficient. I didn't meet a person working there who was not completely engaged in addressing guest's comfort. They are awesome. It was beautiful, spacious, had a great view and was comfortable. The Gym - was what it needed to be, well equiped, TVs with cable on all the cardio machines, a nice yoga room. Climate controlled. The less than great parts: The Location - If you're interested in anything other than the hotel - you can walk across the street to see the marina, but you'll need to take a bus or a cab to get anywhere with a bit of Mexico to it. The Remodeling - Time at the pool is accompanied by the sound of power-tools and construction. There's no pool area that escapes that sound. I did not find that sound relaxing. The Beach - Small, shade is only available if you pay extra for a pergola. There's a time share condo sharing the facility that has access to palapas, but hotel guests do not. If you want to be outside in the shade, you need to be by the pool. If you're by the pool, you'll be listening to construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for cheaper / better food, there's a number of restaurants in the marina area across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Jul 2, 2008

Westin falls short

The room was clean but small. The pool was under major construction. The food was extremely expensive. Be prepared to pay $80 just for a simple breakfast for 4. Luckily, we only stayed a few days at the end of our trip. The beach access was fine and the location was in the marina which had many dining and shopping options accessible by foot. We did become sick during our stay while staying here. I can't say where the bacteria came from, but I felt very bad after a terrible margarita at poolside. It seems Mexico is no longer the bargain it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buenos Aries Restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices. They are in the center of the marina if you can dodge the many time share hawkers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
w.b. mi
Feb 25, 2010

disappointed

our hotel room never got cleaned throughout the trip, & the front desk employees were unprofessional and barely spoke the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Public Swells
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Feb 3, 2010

Puerto's Westin

Atypical of Westin, as a chain. Spectacular location. Plaqued by noisy midnight to 3 a.m. party in adjoining Westin time share.Restaurants and staff consistently pleasant. Daily room cleaning and re-freshing very veriable...anytime from noon to, in one case reported by member of our group, 11:30 p.m. Paint chip on floor in back of bathroom door remained there for five nights. Tried to charge another guest $7.50 to use gym/health club when there was no provision for such charge in any of hotel's materials. Charged 540 pesos for room keys that had to be removed from bill at check out. Nickled and dimed items: free packet of coffee in room for first use only; all additional uses were 420 pesos on minibar bill. Advised no Starwoods points would apply because arrangements thru [...]. Clearly needs detailed visit by Westin corporate to reinvigorate philosophy of that chain to its former glory. Easy and pleasant walk to nearly marina for shops, tours, trips and good assortment of restauransts w/o going into old town Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much shopping, checking for tours, boat trips, adventure experiences, assortment of restaurants and reasonable prices were a short walk in or around the marina....avoiding taxi rides to downtown (should not be missed) that were $8 to 10 each way. (Down town and a walk along the Malecon is a must, however.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose julian
Business
mexico city
Feb 22, 2010

resting weekend

we had a bad experience because we made our reservation since october and when we arrived we didnt have a room they told us to wait an hour. we waited for the hour and imagine, it wasnt ready yet, we had to wait an other hour and a half, they wanted to give us another room but we didnt accept because it was like a downgrade one. so we had to wait. when we were leaving I asked for a late check out but they didnt accept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
granmalea
Business
Maui
Oct 2, 2011

/westin Resort Marina district

we enjoyed our stay in puerto Vallarta. Our room at the Westin was very clean with a beautiful view of the pools and the ocean, however, the pillows were like sandbags. We enjoyed the room with the view, but the hotel overall has a dated feel. We left on an excursion early in the morning and there were no lights on in the halls off the lobby. The lobby also is not air conditioned which really surprised us. The breakfast was very mediocre compared with other smaller hotels we have stayed at in Mazatlan. I don't think we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Croger1ks
Business
Kansas City, KS, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Nice Hotel, Could use some improvements

The Hotel itself was nice. I got the room at a great price. The maid service was hit and miss. Some days they would take the dirty towels and not leave us any clean towels. We were supposed to get small bottles of complimentary water in the bathroom. That didn't happen. The 2 litre bottle of water on the bar turned out to cost $4.50 usd. We had to go out of the hotel for each meal because food at the hotel was very pricey -- about $20 usd for the breakfast buffet. And there were tiny ants in the room so we couldn't leave any food in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victor's Restaurant on the Marina has excellent food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojos
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Had a blast in Mexico

Pros: ~Staff friendly and helpful ~Fitness center huge with tons of new equipment ~In a gorgeous location and within walking distance to ~Marina (shops & restaurants) ~Pools relaxing (although music horrible 80s love songs) ~Food quality is excellent (breakfast buffet a little pricey, but you can get anything imaginable for breakfast) ~Safe neighborhood ~Short ride to/from airport, and still did not hear air traffic ~Issues handled promptly by housekeeping ~Pool lounge chairs easy to come by, same with beach lounge chairs, cabanas, etc ~Great water pressure in showers & beds are comfy Westin Hotel Beds ~Tennis courts with instructors if you want them Cons: *ABC gum found in hotel room in 2 different spots (which housekeeping quickly removed upon us calling them) *Room was quite dark--not enough lighting--just 4 lamps in main area *No fan in bathroom, so mirrors fogged up quickly and took a long time to be able to see to get ready b/c couldn't see mirror *Taxi or bus ride needed to get into el Malecon/downtown area--but prices reasonable for either *Hotel is past its prime--needs a good update and outside of hotel needs a power-wash and repainting! Lampshades dirty, decor out of style. *Room service slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Beware--at Airport when you are going to ground transportation, there will be people "helping you" find a taxi when in reality they are suckering you into doing a timeshare presentation. They will lie to you and tell you it will save you 50% with the VIP card. That VIP card doesn't save you anywhere close to 50%--run far away from them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bluedove
Business
Texas, EEUU
Feb 19, 2012

Nice place

Overall the hotel was very comfortable yet the meals at the restaurant were far drom desirable and over priced. Service was great. One major dissapoinment was the high rates to use the internet service. While most hotels that I have been offer free WIFI, there was a change for using it and it was ridiculous. 5 dollars per 30 min using their computers or 25 dollar to use WIFI on your personal computers per a 24 hour period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smithejs
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 23, 2012

A bit tired but an overall very good experience

The hotel itself is a bit dated but the staff was very friendly and eager to recommend good restaurants and quick with excellent service at the beach bar. Royal Beach Club is worth the extra expense as you can eat a full breakfast and full dinner with drinks should you desire. My fiancee and I prefer a nicer hotel but this seemed to be one of, if not the, nicest hotel in the marina area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonora Grill Prime is a new restaurant at the Nima Bay development and a great steakhouse. The Managers and Servers were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top