$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
195 reviews
romantic getaway

Was our first time in Mexico and absolutely loved Puerto Vallarta. I loved this hotel! the swimming... See full review

  • Alann U.
  • Jul 25, 2015
Business Trip

Booked this hotel so I would be close to the Marina. Fantastic pool area and outdoor bars. Loved... See full review

  • Anthony M.
  • May 15, 2015
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Property features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 182 reviews
★★★★
$183
4.1 / 5 548 reviews
★★★
$127
3.8 / 5 143 reviews
★★★★
$380
4.3 / 5 70 reviews
★★★★★
$249
4.5 / 5 85 reviews

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sebastian the raver
Family
Ex nyc
Jan 28, 2013

Perfect

Excellent hotel with incredibly friendly staff and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

River cafe

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pari
Friends
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

No Customer Service

Customer service was terrible and extreamly slow. One eg: Had complained about the cordless phone not working which was never fixed in our 4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Sas
Friends
Boston,MA
Mar 8, 2010

THE WESTIN SUCKS

Our (short) stay at the Westin was horrible! First we were told that the hotel was all inclusive but we discovered that it was not,but the worst thing is that they were of NO HELP!! They lied to us and said that they won't charge a night when they eventually did and they didn't help us to get transfer to another resort saying it "was not their problem". Plus there was absolutely no one at this resort, the place was freaking deserted (no wonder since it's lame),with no activities...the food is ridiculously overpriced (and it's not that good) and they will charge you $20 to watch a movie!! Totally not worth it,a place TO AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Happy in ChiTown
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 12, 2011

Boo!!

Definitely not Westin quality - would not go back - rooms on the 5th floor are terrible - right over the Lobby Bar which is open until 1:00 AM - they won't grant late check outs, even if you are a preferred memeber, unless you pay a fee...told us that the hotel was full, when we know for a fact that wasn't true - just trying to nickel and dime customers. Food was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated Travler
Family
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 13, 2010

PICK ANOTHER HOTEL!! They have theives.

For a four diamond, supposedly top of the line hotel/resort I think they have been way OVER rated. Upon arriving at the hotel and knowing our guest count was 3, when we got to our room there was one king bed and at first all they offered a roll away bed for our son. We politely asked for a different room and were met with sighs of irritation from the staff at the front desk. After finally getting a room with 2 beds we proceeded to put away our clothes and other items. We put my purse, travel documents and our passports in the safe, locked it and headed down to the beach. Upon return to our room the safe code we put in and checked before we left no longer worked, we called the front desk and notified them of the situation. Quite quickly we had someone at our door to reset the safe. The person quickly, and without any questions or asking any of us for ID to verify we were who we were, reset the safe. When we pulled out my purse, in which we had some money divided and put into two places, the money we had in one place was gone. We had a camera right in front of our room, but go figure it showed nothing. The hotel said they checked the room keys, the safe and the camera, but ultimately they did not find anything and did nothing to help us and insisted we were idiots. On top of unfriendly service the entire trip our safety was compromised at this hotel. I would highly recommend looking at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited many places near and far for food and the best place that is close to this hotel is Victors Tacubana. The best food, service and value!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NGT.834
Couples
Boston
Jan 15, 2015

Ants and spiders all over!

We spent 5 nights around the new year at Puerto Vallarta, and were very excited about the hotel which by its high price supposed to be a very good hotel. I will save from you the overall feeling that the room is old, stinky, and broken (taps, furniture, shower, etc.) and will jump to the highlights.... When we arrived from the airport, at 15:10 pm, we've been told that the room is still not ready (so why check-in is after 3pm??) and we should wait around 30 minutes in the lobby. OK, we have waited 45 minutes. After that time asked again what's going on and we've been told the room is still not ready, and it might take another 20 minutes. That was outrages, and we've been offered to take a similar room, at the same floor. We agreed cause we really wanted to start our vacation. The next thing is that we've found in the morning ants and mini-spiders all over the room!! disgusting! and there were tons of them, not one or two. We approached the reception, that moved us to another room. Unfortunately this room was also full of those insects. Unbelievable!! And last but not least, one day we stayed until late at the room (we needed to get ready to a wedding) and when we left we putted the "Please clean the room" sign. I was also asking personally the woman in the floor to come to our room after the time we left. When we came back the sign we hanged wasn't on the door, and she left a note under the door that we didn't hang the sign, so she didn't clean the room!!! This was outrages, and we really can express our disappointment from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel will not tell you, but you can take a bus to the downtown in 7.5 pesos instead of paying 120 pesos to a taxi.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Moments
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 24, 2013

Pushing for dollars

From the moment we arrived and the desk clerk up-charged us for the room that our contract stated that we had reserved we could feel that there was a change from our past stay there. The facility and grounds looked as though they were struggling, fixtures showed signs of repairs to past repairs, and when fixtures failed completely they were replaced by newer ones of lesser quality. Kudos should go to the wait and housekeeping staff which mustered energy and smiling faces. You have heard the expression "they get you coming and going", right? Well, as our flight out was in the afternoon we asked (the same desk clerk) to park our bags at the concierge ($12), have lunch at the pool, and then use the gym showers ($12) prior to departing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was inconsistent in that I could order an item from the menu three times and receive three good, but very different, versions of the dish!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
w.b. mi
Feb 25, 2010

disappointed

our hotel room never got cleaned throughout the trip, & the front desk employees were unprofessional and barely spoke the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Public Swells
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Feb 3, 2010

Puerto's Westin

Atypical of Westin, as a chain. Spectacular location. Plaqued by noisy midnight to 3 a.m. party in adjoining Westin time share.Restaurants and staff consistently pleasant. Daily room cleaning and re-freshing very veriable...anytime from noon to, in one case reported by member of our group, 11:30 p.m. Paint chip on floor in back of bathroom door remained there for five nights. Tried to charge another guest $7.50 to use gym/health club when there was no provision for such charge in any of hotel's materials. Charged 540 pesos for room keys that had to be removed from bill at check out. Nickled and dimed items: free packet of coffee in room for first use only; all additional uses were 420 pesos on minibar bill. Advised no Starwoods points would apply because arrangements thru [...]. Clearly needs detailed visit by Westin corporate to reinvigorate philosophy of that chain to its former glory. Easy and pleasant walk to nearly marina for shops, tours, trips and good assortment of restauransts w/o going into old town Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much shopping, checking for tours, boat trips, adventure experiences, assortment of restaurants and reasonable prices were a short walk in or around the marina....avoiding taxi rides to downtown (should not be missed) that were $8 to 10 each way. (Down town and a walk along the Malecon is a must, however.)

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Single
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2011

Disappointing

Con: Hotel was outdated, decor cheesy, food lackluster, rooms not sound proofed AT ALL. Pro: Staff friendly, outside space very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top