$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
214 reviews
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
I was sick the first three days

I got sick on the way down to Mexico probably from sitting in the USO all night before boarding my... See full review

  • nonametraveler1987
  • Jan 16, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NGT.834
Business
Boston
Jan 15, 2015

Ants and spiders all over!

We spent 5 nights around the new year at Puerto Vallarta, and were very excited about the hotel which by its high price supposed to be a very good hotel. I will save from you the overall feeling that the room is old, stinky, and broken (taps, furniture, shower, etc.) and will jump to the highlights.... When we arrived from the airport, at 15:10 pm, we've been told that the room is still not ready (so why check-in is after 3pm??) and we should wait around 30 minutes in the lobby. OK, we have waited 45 minutes. After that time asked again what's going on and we've been told the room is still not ready, and it might take another 20 minutes. That was outrages, and we've been offered to take a similar room, at the same floor. We agreed cause we really wanted to start our vacation. The next thing is that we've found in the morning ants and mini-spiders all over the room!! disgusting! and there were tons of them, not one or two. We approached the reception, that moved us to another room. Unfortunately this room was also full of those insects. Unbelievable!! And last but not least, one day we stayed until late at the room (we needed to get ready to a wedding) and when we left we putted the "Please clean the room" sign. I was also asking personally the woman in the floor to come to our room after the time we left. When we came back the sign we hanged wasn't on the door, and she left a note under the door that we didn't hang the sign, so she didn't clean the room!!! This was outrages, and we really can express our disappointment from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel will not tell you, but you can take a bus to the downtown in 7.5 pesos instead of paying 120 pesos to a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B.A. Traveler
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 30, 2014

July Stay

We came to Puerto vallarta to do some research for a wedding we are having down here. Overall, our experience at The Westin was great. The food and drinks were great, if not a bit pricey, but I suppose that is to be expected at a big resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the bell boys, although the front desk staff was very slow. The rooms were great and clean, with awesome views of the beautiful pool. Our only complaint was our room had a portable air conditioned unit that did not function well. The hotel staff did not empty the chamber where the water collected. Luckily my fiancé knows a thing or two about them and that they need to be emptied or else we would have been in a swamp by the end of our stay. We ended up having to empty the chamber a couple times a day or else it would heat up our room and get extremely humid in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam and Michelee
Business
Texas
Jul 10, 2014

Westin Puerto Vallarta

Absoulutely loved the staff and the room. We had an excellent view and loved the landscaping and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rhythyms of the Night was an absolutely excellent show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
silviaplata
Business
Torreon
Jul 1, 2014

great vacation!!

The hotel is in a great zone. You can walk to the marina and have great restaurants. Taxis are super available if you want to go further to downtown or the malecon. The food is a little overpriced inside the hotel but as I've said, you have great restaurants walking distance. I will defintly come back to the westin. Other thing is that they don't have free WiFi. Now a days people need to check their emails constantly for work and stuff. They charged a lot for having WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to El Coleguita, the best seafood restaurant walking distance from the westin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonio Flowers
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Perfect weekend getaway

This hotel is right next to the marina , with a nice beach and pool. We had our room upgraded for free. Great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant> "Las 8 tostadas", best ceviche ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCM65
Business
Texas
May 27, 2014

Good hotel.

Only one issue. Two much humidity inside the room, seems like the A/C cools but not pulls out the humidity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Punto Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger and Gina
Business
Montreal, Canada
Mar 27, 2014

Great experience in PV in March 2014

This hotel is very well located near the PV Marina. The staff is great and and very friendly and their services are extremely efficient. The grounds are well kept, so are the pools. There are always chairs available at any time of the day. The restaurants nearby have great food of many types. As a preferred customer of this hotel, I will definitely returned. Many thanks to all of those whom have made our 10 days stay so memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porto Bello...outstanding food of any type....especially the sea bass....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MegMasterD
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 18, 2014

perfect weekend getaway!

The beach and pool were nice. The drinks hit the spot and were resonably priced. The view from our room was unbelievable. I can't imagine waking up to a more beautiful view. The room smelled a little musty at first- probably mostly due to the humidity. Leaving the balcony doors open for awhile blew out the musty smell though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice 7-11 like store across the street (called OXXO). Great place to grab some tacos, snacks, and brews- all resonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob and Maria
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 1, 2013

Family getaway

We had a great time. Location is great for what we wanted to do. Staff was very helpful and always willing to assist us with all our needs. We recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to have a great stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Attending Rithmos if the night is an unforgetable experience while in Puerto Vallarta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andres J.
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
May 23, 2013

Most enjoyable vacation

The room and views were superb. All the staff was very polite and efficient. Jacet at the Beach Bar was extremely efficient and went out of his way to take care of us. We enjoyed the hotel and facilities so much that we spent most of the time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top