$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 19, 2011

Beautiful Bay View

The hotel room had maintenance issues (broken shutters, loose shower tile) but overall was clean and decent with gorgeous bay view. The restaurant had good food and dinner specials were fairly priced. The staff were very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Jul 11, 2011

Very beautiful

We had a great time at the resort, they were very helpful and were able to speak English to us. The pool and beach facilities were wonderful and it was everything I wanted in a vacation. I would definitely stay again but would get all inclusive because resort prices were outrageous to me. Their water was $4 when across the street it was $1. And the price of two breakfast buffets ran us $60!!!! Just for one meal! Go all inclusive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the marina and chose one of the many great restaurants, good food and good prices.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york, NY
Jun 22, 2011

Fantastic getaway !

Everything was great. The only thing I didn't like is the charge for the internet service, that needs to be included in the price I paid for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jun 11, 2011

GREAT TRIP!

This is a great place to relax and soak up the sun. We mainly relaxed at the hotel pools and enjoyed the ambiance. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaredrey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Just Plain Beautiful!

I was there to photograph a wedding and highly enjoyed my experience at this hotel/resort. It was full of greenery and palm trees. The restaurant on site was delicious. The beach and pool were beautiful. I just can't say anything but great things about this location. I also loved that there was places to eat just walking distance outside of the resort and nothing seemed unsafe. The only downside I can think of was the wireless internet cost money and it only worked in the lobby. All I had was my ipad so I could only use the wireless network. If you have a laptop you can plug in to the ethernet port to get online free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not purchase water in your room, just go across the street to the mini mart (Oxxo) to get water and other snacks for a much cheaper rate!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC, Canada
Jun 1, 2011

Mexican Paradise

Overall great, nice hotel and service. Pool was enjoyable, food fairly good. Cons poor beach, some inconsistencies in the room service, a fair walk from amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can catch the local bus for sixty five cents right out front of the entrance into downtown or the mall.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
May 27, 2011

Highly Recommended

Tennis, pool, ocean, work-out,eating, relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the great restaurants in the nearby Marina

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenfuzz
Business
Montreal, Quebec
May 23, 2011

Amazing place

Great service, amazing food, wonderful staff (especially the dining staff), very nice rooms. the spa and gym offer great services. clean and modern. close to airport but a little farther from downtown. Definitely go all-inclusive as food and drink can be pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go for all inclusive package!! Otherwise the food and drink at hotel can be pricey and you'll end up paying way more.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington state
May 9, 2011

great itme again!

we have been to this hotel three times and loved it every time they have a great staff and wonderful grounds and the best pools! the rooms are very nice with big balconys and heavenly beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the marina is a short walk lots of places to eat and a nice view.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Volo, IL
Apr 6, 2011

Nice

The hotel was beautiful! The lobby and hallways were bright and colorful, everything was open and breezy, and the decor included a lot of art and greenery. The rooms were comfortable, and the view of the pool, beach, and ocean from the private balcony was breathtaking. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. My biggest complaint is that they did not offer free internet to guests. What's worse, the internet was not even reasonably priced: $15 USD for a 24-hour period. Considering that I've stayed in less expensive hotels in Mexico that did have free wi-fi/internet, I was pretty disappointed. I wasn't able to use my cell phone, so e-mail/FB/Skype was supposed to be my way to keep in touch with my kids Stateside and communicate with friends and family who were also in the Puerto Vallarta area. Not having it was a huge inconvenience. As for the location, the Westin in is the Marina, not in downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you're going for a quieter, more secluded setting, then this is it! If, however, you're looking for a good selection of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife, you're going to have to go to the downtown area (the "malecon") to get it - maybe a 20 minute cab ride, a little longer by bus. The restaurants and spa in the hotel were quite pricey, which was only to be expected. So, if you're looking for more affordable places, check out the Marina (maybe a 10 minute walk) or downtown Puerto Vallarta. Favorite restaurants: Victor's Place in the Marina for Mexican food, Cafe de Olla downtown for outstanding Mexican food and strong margaritas, and Cheeky Monkey downtown for their $1 Coronas, $1 margaritas, and $2 drink menu (great place to get the night started!) Also, the OXXO (Mexican version of 7-11) right across the street from the hotel was a lifesaver! We got all our water, liquor/beer, snacks, and several breakfasts of cinnamon rolls and fruit from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus downtown instead of a taxi! Bus fare is only 6.5 pesos, as compared to the 80-100 peso taxi fare. The [unmarked] bus stop is right across the street from the hotel, in front of the OXXO. The bus drivers have change for small bills (20 or 50) if you don't have exact change.

Back to menu Return to top