The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
210 reviews
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Absolutely wonderful

Excellent service from Esmeralda at front desk and Lino my bell boy my main made me towel bunnies... See full review

  • Caroline aka Charlene
  • Jul 21, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Díaz Ordaz International Airport, (PVR), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 24, 2010

great place to relax

I had a great time the hotel was very pleasant.the staff was very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta Adventures was the best tour had a blast!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatyana
san antonio, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Westin PV

Had a great time in Puerto Vallarta. I had not been in 19 years and the Westin was wonderful. Only an 80 peso ride to town for shopping, night life and dining. walking distance to the Marina for dining too. I did whale watching and saw 4 hump backs then swam with the dolphins in Nuevo Vallarta the next day. Pool area is quite beautiful and the staff was very attentive. Would go back in a heartbeat. San Antonio traveller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do whale watching or swim with dolphins wait to purchase in town or on the beach. The salesmen are willing to bargin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Jun 11, 2011

GREAT TRIP!

This is a great place to relax and soak up the sun. We mainly relaxed at the hotel pools and enjoyed the ambiance. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCM65
Texas
May 27, 2014

Good hotel.

Only one issue. Two much humidity inside the room, seems like the A/C cools but not pulls out the humidity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Punto Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Oct 29, 2009

Score of 10 for Room Comfort. New Hotel.

We wanted Room Comfort and we got it. Thick down comforters, self adjustable room temperature, shower and bath, full length balcony. Service good but not top notch. You have to ask if you want anything instead of being offered. Huge spacious propertys. Excellent pools

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tikul Restaurant. Take a cab (it may be abt a half mile to a mile away. If walking, walk toward Melia from Westin. Hang a Right toward the Hotel accross from Melia and cut through to Marina. Walk along Marina to Tikul. Also Porta Belle Italian Restaurant. Both are Fine Dining with Top Notch service and food. (Ask for a coupon book from the front desk for $10 coupons)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyoming Gringo
Casper, WY
Mar 24, 2011

Not bad, nice location.

First of all, PV is a great destination - and we're particularly fond of the Marina area where the Westin is located, have stayed in the vicinity on multiple occasions, although this was our first stay at the Westin. Second, it should be noted that we're not overtly snobbish or picky when it comes to hotels - we've stayed at some of the world's best and some of the absolute worst, and generally try to make the best of wherever we land. Some general points for those who might be considering Mexico or PV for the first time: 1. You will see a bug. 2. You might find a bed that is a little firmer/harder than you might prefer. 3. People will try to sell you things. Lots of things. A simple "No, Gracias" or two will suffice. 4. Things, including service, might happen on "Mexican Time". It's a slower pace, embrace it. On to the Westin: Beautiful hotel - most everything seemed well-maintained, large and attentive staff, and great pools. Beach area and bars/restaurants were good - beaches in this particular section of PV aren't as scenic to me as the beaches on the Gulf side (Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Akumal, Tulum, etc.) - PV is a whole different vibe, more of a small city feel. We previously stayed next door at the Mayan Palace, and thought that the Westin's section of beach was a little nicer. Location of the whole place is great - nice sunset views, large cruise ships coming in to the port, near plenty of great (some inexpensive) restaurants in the Marina across the street - hotel is right across from an Oxxo convenience store, near shopping, and cabs are easy-access to take you wherever else you'd like to go with pretty inexpensive flat rates in most cases. Only negatives we experienced - check-in was delayed for an hour while they prepared our room, and when we got to it, it was pretty moldy smelling (moreso than the normal "close-to-the-beach in a warm climate" smells). Had some tile falling off the shower the next day, and finally requested to be moved to a more updated room, which they accomodated with no problem. Maid service was a little odd, they kept coming and taking our used towels & washcloths - but not leaving any new ones in their place, which was a little bit of a pain when you'd run in from the beach hoping to take a quick shower before going out to dinner and discovered there was nothing to dry off with. Again, every time we'd call, they'd send some up, it was just a minor inconvenience. The bar/restaurants are a little pricey - can't beat the convenience of having drinks/lunch brought to you on the beach, but for regular dining, I'd say the Marina restaurants like Victor's, Taco's/Pizza & Beer are much more economical and give you an opportunity to do a little exploring. The food we tried on-site was good, though. Some may be put off by the beach vendors who can get a little persistent/constant - again, a "No, Gracias" will generally get the message across, and if it's that big of a deal - move behind the concrete barrier where they aren't allowed to cross. Otherwise, it can be a fun lazy man's place to shop :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're traveling to places nearby like Wal-Mart, the port, the mall, shopping centers, the Malecon, downtown, etc. - there's a bus that runs right out front, that's only about 50-60 cents US. Lots of tourists take it, just don't get too adventurous if you're not familiar - we got stuck out one trip and had some language barriers getting back after "seeing where the bus goes". Otherwise, cabs are about 60-80 pesos depending on where you're going. Wal-Mart or Oxxo are great places to stock up on stuff you need and avoid things like Westin's expensive mini-bars, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

Overall Great Vacation!

The Westin was very clean, had nice pools that had private coves to relax in. The showers, yes, the showers were awesome! The location was great too, very close (5 minute) walk to the downtown Marina area which had great restaurants and shops. It was only a 10 minute taxi ride to downtown for more options. The food was all very good at the restaurant and the staff was very friendly. My husband and I typically choose smaller hotels which offer more privacy and less "family" friendly so it was kind of noisy for us because there were lots of kids around jumping in the pool and, well, being kids. But it didnt ruin our trip, we are just accostomed to a more romantic type vacation resort. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to Las Carmelitas...it is on the top of the mountain (15 thousand feet) with breathtaking views of all of Puerta Vallarta! We got a little nervous because it is on a ranch, but the food was amazing too. Best food we had there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very tan
Chicago subur
Apr 6, 2010

Nice trip

The hotel is lovely and we enjoyed staying in the marina versus staying in town like we usually do. The hotel appeared to be short on staff. Frequently our room wasn't cleaned until after 6 p.m. in the evening. And then the job appeared to be rushed. However, once we notified the front desk they did try very hard to be accommodating and were apologetic. The only other complaint was that there was an additional charge for the use of the gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the breakfast buffet in the hotel. Very expensive and not worth the money. Several restaurants in the Marina served great relatively inexpensive breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2008

family friendly, nice ameneties

Overall Westin was a positive experience. The facilities are very clean, staff was very friendly and the rooms are big enough for family of four. The downside were the following: - The hotel nickle/dimed for every thing(business center, water bottle in rooms etc) - The location (Marina Vallarta) is not very active and colorful. Downtown is very active and enjoyable which is a cab ride (approximately $6-8 one way) But overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time PV traveler
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 13, 2009

What a great view

The hotel was one building with about 10 floors of rooms. We were on the top floor with great views of the three pools down below and the beachfront. This hotel also shares property with their 3 building timeshare...but thankfully we were not pressured to participate in any seminars. I was dissapointed that there were not more adult options...adult only pool, disco club on site...etc. My husband and I were on vacation for relaxing and romance so the mid-day bingo games and running and screaming kids were not a plus for us. Also, there was no welcoming hotel written guide so we basically had to figure things out for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top