$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
b mn
Feb 22, 2010

winter trip

IT was close to airport. Watch your taxi rates.Cost back to airport was less than $5 but we paid $15 out of airport. Oldtown is great place.Lots of places to eat and shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP5
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2010

The Westin Resort &Spa, Puerto Vallarta

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed meals at the restraunts and by the pool. We also ventured into the city and enjoyed shopping and dinner at Senior Frog's. We had a wonderful experience swimming with the dolphins as well. A great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kompot
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Really nice place

Decent hotel. Not the best shoreline and beach, but is very picturesque. Nice area, no wonder hotel was booked entirely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NIKKIB
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 23, 2011

Overall Great experience!!

This was an overall great hotel! We ended up staying here after making a last minute decision to take a vacation and the price was right for this hotel!Although some of the reviews said it was a little dated we did not feel this way at all. It was very authentic feeling with tons of great local artwork throughout the hotel. The pools and the beach were both great and only felt a little too crowded on Sunday for some reason? We thought it seemed kid friendly but not annoying for those of us without kids. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants the first night which was overpriced and not that amazing. During the day though, we ate at a different hotel restaurant on the beach that had wonderful tacos al pastor, ceviche, and guacamole. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. We stayed on the "club level" which gave us a nice view from our room along with complimentary breakfast and cocktails. The breakfast left A LOT to be desired but for a quick easy bite before hitting the beach, it wasn't terrible. The main problem was that although breakfast went until 11AM and we were usually there by 9AM everything already was gone and not refilled unless you bugged the server a bunch of times- I am talking the basics like coffee cups and juice. It was as if no one told the server that there were actually 2 hours left for breakfast! We didn't take advantage of the cocktail hour but overall were still glad we paid a little more for club level. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. The beds and the shower were awesome as well. the only other complaint had to do with the timeshare side of the hotel. I don't quite know what the deal over there is but once their pool filled up they would take over our side of the pool area which was evident because of the different colored towels. This was pretty annoying on Sunday when there was not a poolside seat to be found. Luckily we are more beach people and we found this to be the most enjoyable part of our stay! The service was great, the drinks were great, and the people watching was primo. Keep in mind, if you are a person who doesn't like being approached by vendors this may not be the place for you. For me, I got to shop with a beer in my hand while getting a suntan which I enjoyed immensely!!! Even though there were a couple of issues, we would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would highly recommend you take the short taxi ride downtown to experience the shopping and the incredible restaurant scene! We ventured out each night after a day in the sun and ended up having some fantastic dinners!!! The cab ride downtown is quickly arranged by the hotel staff out front and has a set price of 80 pesos which makes it nice not to have to haggle with the cab driver. The same goes for the trip back and all you have to do is establish the price with the driver once you get in. There is great dining and shopping in the downtown area without it feeling too incredibly touristy. There is a ton of great artwork and jewelry but do watch out for the timeshare people. We got a lot of our restaurant ideas from the free magazines and newspapers in the lobby of the hotel, many of which seemed to have been written by ex pats living in PV.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travler X
Business
seattle
Jun 15, 2011

romanticly chalanged rooms

nice hotel, Quiet, very good service. Advice on restraunts and activities was excelent. On site food and drinks were very expensive even for a nice hotel. Sadly for a romantic trip ,in a nearly empty hotel even after a room upgrade at additional cost, the only room they could give us had two single beds!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No Way Jose unlikely name for an excelent restaraunt. Somewhat hard to find in old town even the cab driver had to ask directions and charged double!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Kentucky
Jul 6, 2011

It was a very relaxing wonderful place

I relaxed at both the pool and beach, also shopped at the Malecon. Listening to the waves at night while sleeping was the relaxation I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean Hitchens
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

The Westin Resort stay was very nice. Their Business Office available for internet service is a joke, complete rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose'
Business
California, USA
Nov 2, 2011

First Class Resort

Our deluxe ocean view room was on the 11th floor and had a panoramic view of Banderas Bay and the skyline of Puerto Vallarta. The beds were first rate. The bathroom had marble and granite and a great double headed shower. The beaches in front were fine for swimming especially in the morning when the water was flat. The resort pool was large clean and not crowded. The nights were quiet enough although there was some fan noise from the ac but not too much. Hotel service was first class. The El Palmar restaurant had very good food but was pricey. A very good experience all in all. There were vendors on the beach . Outside the resort we were approached by many tour/ timeshare salesmen. I would not buy anything from them but would book a tour through the hotel. We had a very good tour at the Hacienda Divisadero that included a drive to the mountains,homemade reicilla(Tequilla), homemade cheese,a horseback ride,and a great dinner. We purchased this tour with grayline who has an agent downstairs in the hotel named Miguel who is extremely nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice convenience store across the street from the hotel to save on water and snacks. Also in the marina there are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCHO
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Some surprising gaps

Generally, staff was perfect--although the followup calls (did you get your dinner) on room service were a bit annoying. But 1. The room was not cleaned or picked up the second day of my stay. 2. Calls to unlock the mini-bar went unanswered on days 1 and 2. 3. Charges were made for bottled water (outside the fridge) and coffee which generally in American hotels and motels, at least the coffee are complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATraveler from California
Business
California
Dec 12, 2011

Solid hotel

Great staff, clean rooms; location (Marina) a bit far from downtown, but accessible easily via public transport for 65 cents. OXXO (like a 7-11) across the street. Not much immediately around the hotel; Marina restaurants are touristy/expensive. NO time share salepeople anywhere around the resort--big plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top