The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Díaz Ordaz International Airport, (PVR), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndresK
Business
Mexico
May 15, 2012

Excelent stay

the hotel has a wonderful modern mexican design, the rooms are comfortable and the pools and beach are full of comfy beds. helpful and nice staff as expected. you'll be one block away from the Marina where you have really good and cheap restaurants (try the Victor's). downtown is 20mn away in taxi or 40mn in bus if you want the full experience. the seafront was renewed last year and is spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can't miss having dinner at La Leche. Mexican chef with an outstanding and original menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RG2012
Business
Miami, Florida
May 9, 2012

Great Resort Vacation

Great experiencie. Only negative is that they charge $15 dollars a day for internet services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Must take a Taxi to most destinations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jtking
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Had a blast with my girlfriend

Hotel was very nice & the staff was amazing. I would stay here again. Just make sure you request a king bed when you book. I forgot to request a king bed when i booked mines and got stuck with two queen beds. Other than that every thing was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REGULAR FELLA
Business
Northbrook, IL, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Hotel perfect, weather 99% good

Everything good, only downside WiFi was expensive. Would not stop us from returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alaska Gary
Business
Wasilla, AK 99654, USA
Mar 18, 2012

A week in paradise

The Westin was a great place to spend a week. The hotel staff truly made our stay wonderful. They only had one restaurant open so we're glad we didn't do an all-inclusive package. We had breakfast every day and the food was really good. We were very happy with our room. It was well appointed and the beds were very nice. We had a wonderful view of the bay and the city. I would recommend this hotel without reservation. We truly enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan your fishing ahead of time and don't use street vendors. We booked ahead with Puerto Vallarta Sportfishing and had a wonderful experience. We had friends who got less than what they hoped for by booking with a local salesman. Do your homework ahead of time and know what fish are available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
highroller
Business
Henderson Nevada
Mar 11, 2012

Peaceful resort

When the groups were staying at the hotel on weekends it was noisy in the hallways. That's it for the downside. Beautiful view of pool & ocean from balcony. Excellent breakfast buffet with a few different items each day.Westin has a "crackerjack" staff, second to none. Probably not for the young crowd but a great place to relax for the rest of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaramonson
Business
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2012

Relaxing vacation

We enjoyed our stay and chose this hotel because of the incredible deal we received even though the hotel is a bit further away from downtown than we like to stay. We rode the bus just about daily which runs every 15 minutes in front of the hotel. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was included in our pricing, every day. The staff was wonderful and remembered our names after the first day. The grounds are kept up very well. The only disappointment we had was that the lounge chair in our room was stained/gross, the drain in the bathroom sink was very slow, there was a bit of mold at the bottom of the shower and some of the doors in the room needed to be fixed. But overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple restaurants in the Marina that we would recommend; Angelos, Mariachilis, the Taco/Pizza place across from the hotel for inexpensive dinner and the coffee shop that offers free wi-fy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marvy Marv
Business
Highland Park, IL, USA
Feb 29, 2012

The Westin is a winner!

This was my first stay at any location in the Marina area of Puerto Vallarta, though I have been going there for over twenty years. In the past, I have always stayed either in town,or close to town. My experience in the Marina area, and particularly at the Westin far exceeded my expectations! The staff at the Westin was very well trained and could not be nicer. The front desk people in particular, and management in every department, were helpful and pleasant in every way possible! I would highly recommend this hotel. The Marina location itself also was very nice. A breath of fresh air from the sometimes crowded and noisy city areas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many wonderful restaurants to experience, just a short walk from the Westin. I particularly enjoyed Dante's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattle surfer dude
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great time at the Westin

This hotel was a very good pick. Close to the airport and to downtown. The hotel was clean and the people there were courteous. They didn't have any amenities like kayaks or games there, the beach was kind of small and they only had 3 umbrellas on the whole beach. Also, some amenities like the little covered seats by the beach were extra. This being an expensive hotel I would've expected them to be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the marina a short walk away for good food, drinks and don't pay the high prices at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glitterninja
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 27, 2012

Solid vacation spot

We had a great time. Was somewhat skeptical given some other reviews that we had seen, but were pleased with everything overall. We thought the food was great, the service at any of the restaurants/bars more than friendly and prompt. They could use more help at the front desk - lots of impatient long lines. The ocean view room was lovely. Room service was hit or miss; lots of loud birds outside the door in the mornings, but all in all this was a really nice stay for the money. Kid friendly, but enough pools that one side was the kid side and one was the non-kid side, which was nice (as someone looking for quiet).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top