$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
View map of Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
215 reviews
Last night before morning flight

We stayed here because it was close to the airport before leaving for home the next day. We had... See full review

  • Kim Q.
  • Mar 2, 2015
Always pleased with spg

Pleasant staff, great location.. Easy access to transportation and as always, the most comfortable... See full review

  • mleem
  • Feb 14, 2015
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

La Cascada Tequila Bar
Catch up with friends, enjoy seasonal live music, or watch the game on the video wall at this lively lounge bar. La Cascada serves a full selection of drinks and light snacks in a warm and relaxing atmosphere and convenient lobby location.
El Palmar Restaurant
Delicious à la carte options throughout the day plus tempting buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner make El Palmar the perfect resort restaurant. Dine indoors or out on the rooftop terrace, enjoying lovely views of the pools and surrounding gardens.
Tlaquepaque Bar
A day at the pool is even more relaxing with this casual eaterie ready to serve you. Swim right up to the bar in the Tlaquepaque pool for a refreshing drink, or enjoy sandwiches and snacks at your poolside lounge chair
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Arrecifes, our open-air dining and beach club spot, serves up a tempting array of steak and seafood specialties. Enjoy a great meal and a delicious drink with a great view of Bahia de Banderas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
married twenty-somethings
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2011

nice pool, cstly, too far from downtown

There was nothing wrong with the hotel. The people were friendly and the service was average. Pros: When we went (February), it was very quiet, so it was easy to relax. They have 4 large, nice pools. We were immediately upgraded upon arrival to an ocean view room and it was walking distance to the marina. Also, there is an Oxxo across the street to stock up on beer and some goodies at a cheaper price than getting it from the hotel. Cons: The Melecon (downtown boardwalk) has so much to offer, and that was not walking distance. The hotel's beach is small and unattractive and EVERYTHING at the hotel costs a LOT of money. I have been to Puerto Vallarta before, and if I go again, I will stay closer to downtown where there are more restaurants with things to do and see. I am not an especially snobby traveler, but I was generally unimpressed with the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cold Mom
Business
Omaha, Ne.
Jan 1, 2011

Fabulous Setting

The Westin Regina is saved by it's location and it's fabulous staff. The beach and surroundings are beautiful, and the location near the marina is very convenient.The staff is incredible-friendly, helpful, truly kind. [...]the bellman is the best! The physical plant of the hotel itself is only average, and it is somewhat surprising that it bears the "Westin" name. We will stay there again, however, because of the staff and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

"Rythms of the Night" is a truly cannot miss experience, and greatly underpriced for the evening. Also check out deli across the street for coffee, breakfast and Victor's in the marina for lunch/dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arquitex
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 17, 2009

Our weened in Puerto Vallarta

Reception desk, check in too slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 10, 2010

Sloooooow Season Shut Down

I was told by a couple different staff members to go to the happy hour in the lobby bar. When I got to the bar there was a small app buffet set out in the middle of the bar. I sat at the other end of the bar and ordered a drink. The bartender pored my drink and then told me the buffet was for a private promotion event. As he said this a houseman put up stantions between the end of the bar were I was sitting and the buffet. As I felt like I was encroaching on someone elses party I tried to assign my drink to my room which he was unable to do. A manager had to come to give him change so I could pay in cash and I had to move a stantion to be able to exit the bar. I just wish I new so much of the hotel was shut down for slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk to find something to do. The hotel might as well be closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Feb 12, 2011

They're Cheaping Out on Everything Here

Obviously this hotel is in trouble.There were just a handful of guests in high season while the nearby Velas Vallarta was booming with conventioneers, weddings and timeshare people. First the good: Nice linens and very comfortable pillow-topped beds. Nice staff. Good workout facility with a large room for stretching, another with machines. Really good hamburgers and entrees at dinner. Now the disappointing: No real beach for walking and the water was scummy and filthy from the Marina. Getting anything...from a coffee pot to the coffee to the creamers/sugars, took mulitiple phone calls to the front desk. When they would finally bring one of the several items we requested, someone would immediately call the room to confirm that it came. This was annoying after awhile as it seemed they wanted to be congratulated for finally delivering one part of our request. Everywher ethere wa evidence of cheaping out including permanent-looking signs on things like water dispensers that were "out of order." How can you not have a water dispenser in a fitness center? Especially one that requires only that a jug of water be placed in it? We got one tiny bar of soap (For two women sharing a room) and a little bottle of shampoo. This was to last 5 days. No other amenities in the room--not even a shower cap. Very few towels and they didn;t replace the ones we used. One day they took away the bath mat but didn't leave another one and that took several calls. We finally had to request it directly from the maid by hanging out in the room until she came. Otherwise we would have had to use one of our two remaining bath towels. On the other hand, they charged a fortune for things like a very small amount of no-name wine ($9.00/glass). Hamburgers were $15...you get the picture. We didn't go all inclusive but that would not have been a good deal either as none of us could eat or drink enough to justify the cost. They charge $2.50 for the keycards and if you request a duplicate it immediately shows up on your bill. I turned all 3 of ours in but had to remind the desk clerk to remove the charges several times. The hotel gift shop is not related to the hotel, so you can't charge items to your room. This was not what I would have expected from a Westin hotel and I have stayed in several. Architecturally this place might be nice when it is boiling hot, but it was cool/cold and breezy while we were there and the halls, bars, restaurants were wind tunnels. The rooms had heavily textured concrete floors so that getting out of bed felt like walking on a bed of gravel. The quality of the "marble" in the bathroom (as well as the workmanship) was horrid and the tub was surrounded by mildew-infested caulking over an inch deep! The fabric headboards in our room had such a layer of dust I could have peeled it off like lint from a dryer filter. The curtains didn't close all the way, so I woke at the crack of dawn from the light in my eyes. In summary, I wondered the entire time whether this property is being sold and they are trying to raise their profit picture by reducing costs. The entire staff, while very nice, didn't seem to understand that their role was to make our stay a pleasant experience. So, for example, a pool guy stood right in front of our chaise lounges for several hours steel brushing the side of the pool when he could have worked nearly anywhere else without disturbing anyone as we were one of only 3 parties at the pool. It was so irritating. One day we wanted to go to dinner and got there a few minutes early. Rather than letting us sit down and wait for service, or better yet, offering us a beverage, we were told to leave and come back even though there were people inside still eating from lunch. There were no offerings of peanuts, olives, crackers or anything else during happy hour or when you ordered at the bar. We finally asked for something because we learned that it took nearly an hour from sit-down to actually getting food, and the...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage at Venus in the Marina Vallarta. Pure heaven and so inexpensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Apr 22, 2009

Begging for room towels

Over all is a nice motel...But does not compare to the quality found at other Westins I have stayed at.We did have great massages...by the Westin Spa staff. Would definitely recommend Monica & Roger !We took a day trip sailing. This was the highlight of our trip. We had to ask every day for wash cloths & hand towels .Our housekeeper must have been on break. Needed to ask for floor cleaning and Bed turn down .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manny dining choices at near by Marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 8, 2009

Great family hotel as well as couples!

Hotel great location near the marina with all the great restaurants! Initial room was on the 5th level which unfortunately sits underneath the lobby/bar roof area and is very noisey due to the echoing of people coming out of the bar at wee hours. We were promptly moved by the mgr. Martha to the 7th floor. Very quiet and just as nice, perfect. The hotel staff are great but would highly recommend not eating at the hotel as prices are ridiculous and the food is avg. A short stroll to the marina will find very nice restaurant's for any taste and pocket book. Some recommendations are: For breakfast the one and only "Mr. Creme" For Lunch/and a decent dinner "Victor's" For a very nice Italian dinner "Portebellos" For the most romatic dinner go to old town and get a resv for "La Casa de Angel". This is Richard and Elizabeth Burtons' old home re-done into a boutique hotel and very nice small restauraunt. Prices very reasonable for the quality and service $100 for 2. Other activities: swim with the dolphins. Book on line and you'll get a 10%-15% disc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago illinois
Jun 8, 2009

great

At the hotel everything went great there is nothing wrong what i can say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joemama
Business
san antonio, tx
Dec 11, 2009

Great getaway

A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, BUT FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY. gREAT AND HELPFUL STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street and about two blocks down and on the Marina, there are a dozen nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatyana
Business
san antonio, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Westin PV

Had a great time in Puerto Vallarta. I had not been in 19 years and the Westin was wonderful. Only an 80 peso ride to town for shopping, night life and dining. walking distance to the Marina for dining too. I did whale watching and saw 4 hump backs then swam with the dolphins in Nuevo Vallarta the next day. Pool area is quite beautiful and the staff was very attentive. Would go back in a heartbeat. San Antonio traveller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do whale watching or swim with dolphins wait to purchase in town or on the beach. The salesmen are willing to bargin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top