$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Joe Traveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 14, 2013

Perfect Family Vacation spot!

We chose this property with a few things in mind 1) Star ratings/reviews 2) Location-it was close to my mom's timeshare 3# Price. You can't beat this hotel for under $100! The hotel is located in the marina and not the main hotel zone but that is a plus not a negative. It is closer to the airport which makes it convenient and has everything the downtown properties have just at a a better price. We decided to upgrade to the Royal Ocean Club #which I highly recommend# since it gives you a higher floor ocean view room and included complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon happy hour. Both meals are great and filling. Fresh fruit, omelet station, pastries, you name it! The pool is also very relaxing, they have a family pool and adult pool. We brought along our two boys #both under 2# so they loved playing in the shallow end. The properties restaurants are nice but you can always walk one block down to the marina and have a large selection of restaurants to choose from. Taxis to downtown are only $5 US or you can take the bus which stops in front of the hotel every 10-15 minutes for less than a $1 US #7 pesos). Overall, the hotel lived up to our expectations and I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus, it is only 7 pesos (less than $1 US) and goes by the hotel every 10-15 minutes and will take you downtown. It is very easy to take the bus as the stops are listed right in the front window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob and Maria
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 1, 2013

Family getaway

We had a great time. Location is great for what we wanted to do. Staff was very helpful and always willing to assist us with all our needs. We recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to have a great stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Attending Rithmos if the night is an unforgetable experience while in Puerto Vallarta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andres J.
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
May 23, 2013

Most enjoyable vacation

The room and views were superb. All the staff was very polite and efficient. Jacet at the Beach Bar was extremely efficient and went out of his way to take care of us. We enjoyed the hotel and facilities so much that we spent most of the time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.seuss
Business
ms Dr.seuss
May 23, 2013

definitely coming back!

staff is very nice and helpful. Miguel from gray line helped us out big time as first time travelers, he was extremely helpful and nice it was awesome. my girlfriend and I had a great time the hotel is beautiful amazing view. and best of all we felt safe. definitely coming back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

take the bus its cheap 65 pesos comes out being like 50¢ and it picks you up in the front of the hotel and drops you off there. malecon its in the downtown area is where you wanna go at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CACAC
Business
SD, CA
May 22, 2013

Great hotel, amenities and staff

The Westin is great and the royal club is an awesome feature. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a great view of the Banderas Bay. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab into the malecon and go to cafe de artistes. Great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viimmm
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 5, 2013

great hotel

really nice hotel, cab ride to town is very inexpensive. No timeshare nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

get to pool early if you want an umbrella

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linda xxx
Business
los angeles
Mar 20, 2013

good deal

clean ,some days crowded some days empty the staff best ever angel the guy in the upstairs restaurant the nicest hard working man ever met nice beach 500 yards north take a walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

go to sayulita

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nonametraveler1987
Business
Washington
Mar 18, 2013

Friendly Staff

I had a wonderful stay at The Westin. The pool was clean and the room service was awesome. They just didn't have ranch dressing...that would be my only gripe...and that is not a big deal at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not buy anything from the salesmen on the beach. Take the bus into town and buy everything at the flea market or find an actual store that sells "hand made" stuff for the price that they probably paid for the item.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottswahey 1958
Business
Canada
Mar 5, 2013

Good Vacation.

Got a good deal on this hotel with an all inclusive package. Meals were very limited on where and what you could eat . Dont expect to get seafood or steak on the all inclusive package. All menu order food only in one restaurant. Package did not include the steak and seafood house. Also some items on the allowed menu were not included. Breakfast were good. Freshly made omelettes every morning. Drinks were ok. Have to drink what beer they allow. Some beers would cost extra. No intertainment what so ever day or night. Pretty boring. On a good note. 24 hr room service was included as well as wifi. Internet would normally cost $18 a day. Crazy. For what we paid on this hotel, I would go back at the same price. I would never pay full price for this all inclusive. Not a bad hotel though. A little out dated but clean enough. Location is good. Close to the marina and lots of places to eat and have fun there. An $8.00 taxi ride to down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Victors or the restaurant just before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Moments
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 24, 2013

Pushing for dollars

From the moment we arrived and the desk clerk up-charged us for the room that our contract stated that we had reserved we could feel that there was a change from our past stay there. The facility and grounds looked as though they were struggling, fixtures showed signs of repairs to past repairs, and when fixtures failed completely they were replaced by newer ones of lesser quality. Kudos should go to the wait and housekeeping staff which mustered energy and smiling faces. You have heard the expression "they get you coming and going", right? Well, as our flight out was in the afternoon we asked (the same desk clerk) to park our bags at the concierge ($12), have lunch at the pool, and then use the gym showers ($12) prior to departing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was inconsistent in that I could order an item from the menu three times and receive three good, but very different, versions of the dish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top