$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
329 reviews
Oasis in PV!

I had such a nice experience at this hotel! The staff was fantastic - superb service! And, the room... See full review

  • Kimconferencegoer
  • Jul 17, 2014
Perfect weekend getaway

This hotel is right next to the marina , with a nice beach and pool. We had our room upgraded for... See full review

  • Antonio Flowers
  • Jun 19, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Grand Deluxe Room
Located from the 7th to 10th floors, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony with a large jacuzzi and, and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Royal Beach Club Room
Located on the 12th and 14th floors with an exclusive Ocean View Premier Lounge. All ocean view rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature control, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, well stocked mini bar, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, bathrobe and hairdryer. Rooms with one king size bed or two double beds. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge where are provided with Continental Breakfast, daily newspaper, 2 hours of open domestic bar from 5:00pm to 7:00pm with hors d'oeuvres and concierge assistance (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date)
Deluxe Ocean View
Located from the 5th to 11th floor, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, full line of fine bath amenities, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Junior Suite
Located on the 8th and 11th floors, ocean view. One bedroom suite with a exclusive "Heavenly II" king size bed end tables with iron cast lamps are on either side of the bed. White cedar desk, lamp and chair. Small sitting area with (2) rattan chairs, round marble iron cast table and love seat which pulls out into a twin bed for sleeping if necessary. There is a large white cedar dresser with drawers and a remote control color television on a swivel stand. "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath with dual sinks, commode, separate tub and double head shower, makeup mirror and hair dryer. Ample closet space, ceiling fan, coffee maker, Internet access, ironing boards with iron, mini bar and in room safe. The balcony runs the length of the suite with a large jacuzzi and, 1 chaise lounge chair and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge.
Deluxe Room
Located from the 1st to 4th floor, pool view and partial ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature elegant Mexican decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Located just 1.6 miles away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport.
Area description
This spectacular beach front resort is situated on 21 lush, tropical acres with more than 600 palm trees in the land and 879 feet of Pacific Ocean beach frontage. It is located in the exclusive Marina Vallarta Development, just 15 minutes drive from town center or a short walk to Marina Vallarta shops and dining, 5 minute drive to Puerto Vallarta International airport and at walking distance of the Marina Vallarta "Club de Golf" 18 hole course. The hotel offers the essence of Puerto Vallarta in a deluxe, first class manner, designed with modern structure and decorated with fine Mexican touches of mosaic stone floors and bright colors.

Dining

La Cascada Lobby Bar
serving drinks, cocktails and snacks, big screen TV, live music and Unwind program with handcrafts exposition, margarita tasting and spa experience.
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Restaurant, Lounge and Beach Club, and exclusive spot where unique entertainment and elegant indulgence is complimented in an enhanced atmosphere of the world's natural beauty.Arrecifes Restaurant has a surcharge of 10 usd per person per meal, excluding 16% of tax
El Palmar
offers well designed buffet and A la carte breakfast, exquisite lunches and distinctive la carte dinners or sumptuous nightly theme buffets.
Tenampa & Tlaquepaque
swim up pool bars with refreshing beverages, delicious cocktails and light snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (329)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
w.b. mi
Feb 25, 2010

disappointed

our hotel room never got cleaned throughout the trip, & the front desk employees were unprofessional and barely spoke the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
My Moments
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 24, 2013

Pushing for dollars

From the moment we arrived and the desk clerk up-charged us for the room that our contract stated that we had reserved we could feel that there was a change from our past stay there. The facility and grounds looked as though they were struggling, fixtures showed signs of repairs to past repairs, and when fixtures failed completely they were replaced by newer ones of lesser quality. Kudos should go to the wait and housekeeping staff which mustered energy and smiling faces. You have heard the expression "they get you coming and going", right? Well, as our flight out was in the afternoon we asked (the same desk clerk) to park our bags at the concierge ($12), have lunch at the pool, and then use the gym showers ($12) prior to departing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was inconsistent in that I could order an item from the menu three times and receive three good, but very different, versions of the dish!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver
Jul 2, 2008

Westin falls short

The room was clean but small. The pool was under major construction. The food was extremely expensive. Be prepared to pay $80 just for a simple breakfast for 4. Luckily, we only stayed a few days at the end of our trip. The beach access was fine and the location was in the marina which had many dining and shopping options accessible by foot. We did become sick during our stay while staying here. I can't say where the bacteria came from, but I felt very bad after a terrible margarita at poolside. It seems Mexico is no longer the bargain it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buenos Aries Restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices. They are in the center of the marina if you can dodge the many time share hawkers.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jan 13, 2011

Disappointing

Con: Hotel was outdated, decor cheesy, food lackluster, rooms not sound proofed AT ALL. Pro: Staff friendly, outside space very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C's Up
Cali
Sep 8, 2011

Hotel was ok- wouldn't go back.

We went in down season so hardly anyone was staying at the hotel which made it kind of boring. There was more staff then guests. The neighboring hotels had more occupancy. The staff seemed desperate for money/tips which definately got on our nerves. We had an invasion of some type of bug in our room but hotel staff eventually accomodated and let us switch rooms. At first they just sprayed Raid- but then we requested the switch because the smell was intoxicating. The rooms were very nicely laid out, and we had a nice ocean view. The food was ok, good variety. I had room service one night and the tomatoes with mozzerella and sauce were awesome. We went jet skiing - and one of the jet skis broke down, so that sucked. The menu at the pool bar was dissapointing so we went next door to Club Regina's hotel pool bar and ate there on a few occasions. Chicken quesadilla's are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tacos & Beer restaurant just outside the hotel was a lifesaver. Simple, convenient and good tasting.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond
Aug 6, 2008

Friendly, but noisy

My stay at the Westin Puerto Vallarta was a mixed bag. I'll begin with the great parts: The Staff - lovely, helpful, friendly, efficient. I didn't meet a person working there who was not completely engaged in addressing guest's comfort. They are awesome. It was beautiful, spacious, had a great view and was comfortable. The Gym - was what it needed to be, well equiped, TVs with cable on all the cardio machines, a nice yoga room. Climate controlled. The less than great parts: The Location - If you're interested in anything other than the hotel - you can walk across the street to see the marina, but you'll need to take a bus or a cab to get anywhere with a bit of Mexico to it. The Remodeling - Time at the pool is accompanied by the sound of power-tools and construction. There's no pool area that escapes that sound. I did not find that sound relaxing. The Beach - Small, shade is only available if you pay extra for a pergola. There's a time share condo sharing the facility that has access to palapas, but hotel guests do not. If you want to be outside in the shade, you need to be by the pool. If you're by the pool, you'll be listening to construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for cheaper / better food, there's a number of restaurants in the marina area across the street from the hotel.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MeVale
Chicago, Il
Aug 4, 2011

Low Expectations

Low service and Hotel needs a major rehab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

This Hotel did not have any entertainment or ambiance

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
w.b. mi
Feb 25, 2010

disappointed

our hotel room never got cleaned throughout the trip, & the front desk employees were unprofessional and barely spoke the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top