$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
213 reviews
I was sick the first three days

I got sick on the way down to Mexico probably from sitting in the USO all night before boarding my... See full review

  • nonametraveler1987
  • Jan 16, 2015
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 26, 2009

Great hotel, needs better music. :)

Hotel was great -- pool is amazing and uncrowded, beach was great, staff was friendly, happy to speak to you in either Spanish, English, or some combination. Service was quick, particularly room service dining. We had breakfast on our private balcony for the same price as dining downstairs at the restaurant and the food came even more quickly. Only notable downside was the constant top 40 on the speakers located throughout the hotel grounds. There was one pool where no music was playing, but overall too much top 40 for our tastes. The room could have been cleaner -- it was clean, but not perfect when we checked in. Overall I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking to relax, have great poolside and room service, swim in an uncrowded ocean, etc. So long as you can take the music, you'll have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order room service. Same price, food comes more quickly, and you can enjoy it on the balcony while you watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madeline World Traveler
Business
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Oct 11, 2009

Wonderful resort but slightly tarnished

The property was wonderful and the staff was uber friendly. A little updating would have made it perfect. Fresh coat of paint, all elevators working, modernize the gum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get a cab, go to the base of the driveway and barter with the drivers. Also go to Victor's Tucuba Cafe on the marina, they have great service and good food. Its a short walk for either breakfast or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed in pv many times
Business
olympia, wa
Oct 6, 2009

hurt by less business

I have stayed at this Westin a few other times, but the recession/lack of visitors has had a real effect on the hotel. The food was not nearly as good. The room had the main window, actually a window wall, but on one side there was a 3 inch gap with no glass nor screen. the number of staff was down, and it showed in the upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Sep 7, 2009

Rainy Season? Where was the rain?

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin very much. We loved the modern look and feel of the building and rooms, especially compared to other hotels in town. The pools were nice, we appreciated fast and humble service and really loved the comfy bed! Weird gnat bugs were annoying but sparse and the health club was 7 bucks per person, which was a ripoff. The club Regina seemed to get all the perks, so the hotel people were kind of secondary. Overall great place, and the marina location is great. Four minute walk to the marina, if you can find the shortcut. Oh, and the weather was very sunny and hot, it only rained hard once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus picks up right in front of the hotel at the oxxo about every 10 mins. its 11 pesos for 2 to go all the way into downtown and is much cheaper than taxis, who often try to lie about the rates to the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racked with stress
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2009

not so much---

The hotel itself was nice. The noise level was unbelievable. For such a vast property, they had something in every corner- LOUD music, aerobics, kids games, screaming microphones, etc.. This should NOT be a get away for relaxation (there was no "relaxation area") This was VERY unfortunate and even though I was on the 10th floor, each morning I woke to running and screaming children (and I love kids, but not on a spa retreat). Check out the website- NONE of the kids activities are mentioned. Nothing but relaxation. When asked for the nearest quiet beach, I was pointed to 30 minutes away. My five day retreat ended up being a quest for solitude at any minute (mostly after 930PM). Great for family though- Also, a big timeshare property on site-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victors on the Marina is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beatle800
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 8, 2009

Great Vacation Resort

My wife and I went to Puerto Vallarta for a quick getaway. Our goal was to find a hotel/resort where we could find peace & quiet, and never have to leave the location for food and entertainment. The Westin accomplished this. The pool area is fantastic, the property was well-maintained, food/drink was easily accessible, and the staff was extraordinarily curteous. We stayed for 4 days, never left the resort, and had a fantastic time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 14, 2009

Overall decent place to stay...

Traveled here for a week stay. The location was great and we were upgraded to the prefered 9th floor upon arrival, which had a fantastic ocean view. The beach didnt look much like the picture, and had a lot to be left desired, but head north or south 10-15 miles and you have some great beaches to swim and relax at. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the nearby marina where there were several great places to eat. Hotel restaurants were also good though. Quick tip is to walk across the street to the oxxo market (like a circle k) and swoop up some water or other small refreshments... milk/cereal. BUT DONT EAT AT THE RESTUARANT RIGHT NEXT DOOR ON THE LEFT!!! Very important!! That place was the foulest I have ever been in... cockroaches flying onto the open grill, bottled water served with the seal already broken... Super sketchy wait staff. Just walk another 5 mins to the marina! Back at the hotel, the pool area didnt look as nice as the photos, and one of the pools was out of order, but the hotel seemed only 1/4 full, because we went in the off season (their rainy season). That was nice not to have a bunch of people everywhere and it was quite peaceful to relax without a ton of noise. Outside the hotel, didnt enjoy all the pesty hustlers constantly bugging us to take tours everyday... I swear by the last day we were on first name basis with them all and they would still haggle us... But whatever it was still a great location very centralized to everything north and south you will want to check out. I would probably never stay there again, because we have now explored around and found some really secluded beautiful areas we enjoyed much more. But for a first time visitor it worked out perfect for exploring the wonderful city of PV. p.s. no need for a rental car... taxies are cheap as dirt and are a set price for each location you want to travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat most your meals away from the hotel.. the marina is a short walk with like 10-15 places to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time PV traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 13, 2009

What a great view

The hotel was one building with about 10 floors of rooms. We were on the top floor with great views of the three pools down below and the beachfront. This hotel also shares property with their 3 building timeshare...but thankfully we were not pressured to participate in any seminars. I was dissapointed that there were not more adult options...adult only pool, disco club on site...etc. My husband and I were on vacation for relaxing and romance so the mid-day bingo games and running and screaming kids were not a plus for us. Also, there was no welcoming hotel written guide so we basically had to figure things out for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas divers
Business
Austin , Texas
Jun 30, 2009

Location for the price was fantastic

The hotel and staff were very attentive. Our room was upgraded at not extra cost to the 9th floor with specticular view. The room was always clean. It was close to the marina for diving and bus route into the city. The only down side was all the time share people always pursing you, everywhere you went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The marina across the street had wonderful dining facilities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grimsel
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 29, 2009

Westin is good.

We enjoyed our time at the Westin. The hotel staff is very friendly. We ate at Dante's at the marina and it was awesome. We also went horseback riding at the El Rancho Campo which was incredible. Do NOT purchase the global card from orbitz. It doesn't work well and to call out of the hotel using an 1800 number will cost you $5 bucks. Otherwise, it was a nice and relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Malecon was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top