$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
331 reviews
Absolutely wonderful

Excellent service from Esmeralda at front desk and Lino my bell boy my main made me towel bunnies... See full review

  • Caroline aka Charlene
  • Jul 21, 2014
Oasis in PV!

I had such a nice experience at this hotel! The staff was fantastic - superb service! And, the room... See full review

  • Kimconferencegoer
  • Jul 17, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Located just 1.6 miles away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport.
Area description
This spectacular beach front resort is situated on 21 lush, tropical acres with more than 600 palm trees in the land and 879 feet of Pacific Ocean beach frontage. It is located in the exclusive Marina Vallarta Development, just 15 minutes drive from town center or a short walk to Marina Vallarta shops and dining, 5 minute drive to Puerto Vallarta International airport and at walking distance of the Marina Vallarta "Club de Golf" 18 hole course. The hotel offers the essence of Puerto Vallarta in a deluxe, first class manner, designed with modern structure and decorated with fine Mexican touches of mosaic stone floors and bright colors.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Grand Deluxe Room
Located from the 7th to 10th floors, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony with a large jacuzzi and, and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Royal Beach Club Room
Located on the 12th and 14th floors with an exclusive Ocean View Premier Lounge. All ocean view rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature control, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, well stocked mini bar, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, bathrobe and hairdryer. Rooms with one king size bed or two double beds. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge where are provided with Continental Breakfast, daily newspaper, 2 hours of open domestic bar from 5:00pm to 7:00pm with hors d'oeuvres and concierge assistance (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date)
Deluxe Ocean View
Located from the 5th to 11th floor, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, full line of fine bath amenities, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Junior Suite
Located on the 8th and 11th floors, ocean view. One bedroom suite with a exclusive "Heavenly II" king size bed end tables with iron cast lamps are on either side of the bed. White cedar desk, lamp and chair. Small sitting area with (2) rattan chairs, round marble iron cast table and love seat which pulls out into a twin bed for sleeping if necessary. There is a large white cedar dresser with drawers and a remote control color television on a swivel stand. "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath with dual sinks, commode, separate tub and double head shower, makeup mirror and hair dryer. Ample closet space, ceiling fan, coffee maker, Internet access, ironing boards with iron, mini bar and in room safe. The balcony runs the length of the suite with a large jacuzzi and, 1 chaise lounge chair and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge.
Deluxe Room
Located from the 1st to 4th floor, pool view and partial ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature elegant Mexican decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Cascada Lobby Bar
serving drinks, cocktails and snacks, big screen TV, live music and Unwind program with handcrafts exposition, margarita tasting and spa experience.
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Restaurant, Lounge and Beach Club, and exclusive spot where unique entertainment and elegant indulgence is complimented in an enhanced atmosphere of the world's natural beauty.Arrecifes Restaurant has a surcharge of 10 usd per person per meal, excluding 16% of tax
El Palmar
offers well designed buffet and A la carte breakfast, exquisite lunches and distinctive la carte dinners or sumptuous nightly theme buffets.
Tenampa & Tlaquepaque
swim up pool bars with refreshing beverages, delicious cocktails and light snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

Overall Great Vacation!

The Westin was very clean, had nice pools that had private coves to relax in. The showers, yes, the showers were awesome! The location was great too, very close (5 minute) walk to the downtown Marina area which had great restaurants and shops. It was only a 10 minute taxi ride to downtown for more options. The food was all very good at the restaurant and the staff was very friendly. My husband and I typically choose smaller hotels which offer more privacy and less "family" friendly so it was kind of noisy for us because there were lots of kids around jumping in the pool and, well, being kids. But it didnt ruin our trip, we are just accostomed to a more romantic type vacation resort. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to Las Carmelitas...it is on the top of the mountain (15 thousand feet) with breathtaking views of all of Puerta Vallarta! We got a little nervous because it is on a ranch, but the food was amazing too. Best food we had there!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyoming Gringo
Casper, WY
Mar 24, 2011

Not bad, nice location.

First of all, PV is a great destination - and we're particularly fond of the Marina area where the Westin is located, have stayed in the vicinity on multiple occasions, although this was our first stay at the Westin. Second, it should be noted that we're not overtly snobbish or picky when it comes to hotels - we've stayed at some of the world's best and some of the absolute worst, and generally try to make the best of wherever we land. Some general points for those who might be considering Mexico or PV for the first time: 1. You will see a bug. 2. You might find a bed that is a little firmer/harder than you might prefer. 3. People will try to sell you things. Lots of things. A simple "No, Gracias" or two will suffice. 4. Things, including service, might happen on "Mexican Time". It's a slower pace, embrace it. On to the Westin: Beautiful hotel - most everything seemed well-maintained, large and attentive staff, and great pools. Beach area and bars/restaurants were good - beaches in this particular section of PV aren't as scenic to me as the beaches on the Gulf side (Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Akumal, Tulum, etc.) - PV is a whole different vibe, more of a small city feel. We previously stayed next door at the Mayan Palace, and thought that the Westin's section of beach was a little nicer. Location of the whole place is great - nice sunset views, large cruise ships coming in to the port, near plenty of great (some inexpensive) restaurants in the Marina across the street - hotel is right across from an Oxxo convenience store, near shopping, and cabs are easy-access to take you wherever else you'd like to go with pretty inexpensive flat rates in most cases. Only negatives we experienced - check-in was delayed for an hour while they prepared our room, and when we got to it, it was pretty moldy smelling (moreso than the normal "close-to-the-beach in a warm climate" smells). Had some tile falling off the shower the next day, and finally requested to be moved to a more updated room, which they accomodated with no problem. Maid service was a little odd, they kept coming and taking our used towels & washcloths - but not leaving any new ones in their place, which was a little bit of a pain when you'd run in from the beach hoping to take a quick shower before going out to dinner and discovered there was nothing to dry off with. Again, every time we'd call, they'd send some up, it was just a minor inconvenience. The bar/restaurants are a little pricey - can't beat the convenience of having drinks/lunch brought to you on the beach, but for regular dining, I'd say the Marina restaurants like Victor's, Taco's/Pizza & Beer are much more economical and give you an opportunity to do a little exploring. The food we tried on-site was good, though. Some may be put off by the beach vendors who can get a little persistent/constant - again, a "No, Gracias" will generally get the message across, and if it's that big of a deal - move behind the concrete barrier where they aren't allowed to cross. Otherwise, it can be a fun lazy man's place to shop :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're traveling to places nearby like Wal-Mart, the port, the mall, shopping centers, the Malecon, downtown, etc. - there's a bus that runs right out front, that's only about 50-60 cents US. Lots of tourists take it, just don't get too adventurous if you're not familiar - we got stuck out one trip and had some language barriers getting back after "seeing where the bus goes". Otherwise, cabs are about 60-80 pesos depending on where you're going. Wal-Mart or Oxxo are great places to stock up on stuff you need and avoid things like Westin's expensive mini-bars, etc.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very tan
Chicago subur
Apr 6, 2010

Nice trip

The hotel is lovely and we enjoyed staying in the marina versus staying in town like we usually do. The hotel appeared to be short on staff. Frequently our room wasn't cleaned until after 6 p.m. in the evening. And then the job appeared to be rushed. However, once we notified the front desk they did try very hard to be accommodating and were apologetic. The only other complaint was that there was an additional charge for the use of the gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the breakfast buffet in the hotel. Very expensive and not worth the money. Several restaurants in the Marina served great relatively inexpensive breakfasts.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2008

family friendly, nice ameneties

Overall Westin was a positive experience. The facilities are very clean, staff was very friendly and the rooms are big enough for family of four. The downside were the following: - The hotel nickle/dimed for every thing(business center, water bottle in rooms etc) - The location (Marina Vallarta) is not very active and colorful. Downtown is very active and enjoyable which is a cab ride (approximately $6-8 one way) But overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time PV traveler
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 13, 2009

What a great view

The hotel was one building with about 10 floors of rooms. We were on the top floor with great views of the three pools down below and the beachfront. This hotel also shares property with their 3 building timeshare...but thankfully we were not pressured to participate in any seminars. I was dissapointed that there were not more adult options...adult only pool, disco club on site...etc. My husband and I were on vacation for relaxing and romance so the mid-day bingo games and running and screaming kids were not a plus for us. Also, there was no welcoming hotel written guide so we basically had to figure things out for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful getaway location

Loved the pool area. Lots of choices for sun or shade. Royal Beach Club a convenient option. Close to town and so easy to get to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooner 2012
Cleveland, OH
Oct 20, 2012

Honeymoon

This was a fantastic hotel to spend our honeymoon at. It was beautiful and very clean. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything. Antonio from the beach bar was absolutely the best. The downsides to this hotel was that there was only one restaruant to eat at (excluding the swim up bar). The second restarant and bar were closed. Also the workout room was too hot in to get a really good workout. I work out every day for a minimum of 1.5 hrs and it was too hot to go more than 30 minutes of cardio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants at the marina offer more variety and are fairly inexpensive. they are only about a 5 min walk away.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Sunshine
Bay Area, California
Jul 6, 2014

Relaxing family vacation

This was our second stay at the Westin in Puerto Vallarta, and it was very pleasant. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very quiet and private. I traveled with my husband, son and dog- it was by far the most pet friendly hotel in Vallarta! They do not charge you a pet fee or clean up fee. We had the royal beach club suite and that was very nice as usual. The pools are always clean and spacious, and the beach is only a few feet beyond the pool area. The only reason I gave the Westin 4 stars is because the food is not good. The restaurant, El Palmar is okay, but the quality is not 4 stars. The breakfast and cocktail hour is very convenient for families, however, the food was either a hit or miss (it has a very repetitive menu). Breakfast is okay, but happy hour food is sometimes old. The best part about royal beach club is that you get unlimited well drinks. Overall, the Westin is a very nice hotel which is extremely family and pet friendly; however, the food is not 4-star quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Langosta Feliz! It is by far the most delicious seafood restaurant in Vallarta and it is very affordable! (Get the 3 musketeers platter & try the sweet corn ice cream) you'll want to travel back to Vallarta just for this!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaredrey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Just Plain Beautiful!

I was there to photograph a wedding and highly enjoyed my experience at this hotel/resort. It was full of greenery and palm trees. The restaurant on site was delicious. The beach and pool were beautiful. I just can't say anything but great things about this location. I also loved that there was places to eat just walking distance outside of the resort and nothing seemed unsafe. The only downside I can think of was the wireless internet cost money and it only worked in the lobby. All I had was my ipad so I could only use the wireless network. If you have a laptop you can plug in to the ethernet port to get online free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not purchase water in your room, just go across the street to the mini mart (Oxxo) to get water and other snacks for a much cheaper rate!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Merced CA
Dec 21, 2010

Great Hotel!

Great hotel for adults and familites. Hotel staff is very attentative. Rooms are very nice; grounds and pool area is beatiful. Tacos and Beer restaurant across the street is great for breakfast and quick dinner. Will return again to this wonderful property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tacos and Beer outdoor restaurant across the street.

Back to menu Return to top