$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome hotel

I was totally impressed with the hospitality, the service was awesome, the pool area was great, and... See full review

  • DanisMatt
  • Sep 30, 2014
Overall Great Hotel

This hotel was an excellent value and very clean. The pool area is perfect for families. We... See full review

  • Family of 5 from Houston
  • Jul 26, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Nearby airports
Licenciado Gustavo Díaz Ordaz International Airport, (PVR), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaredrey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Just Plain Beautiful!

I was there to photograph a wedding and highly enjoyed my experience at this hotel/resort. It was full of greenery and palm trees. The restaurant on site was delicious. The beach and pool were beautiful. I just can't say anything but great things about this location. I also loved that there was places to eat just walking distance outside of the resort and nothing seemed unsafe. The only downside I can think of was the wireless internet cost money and it only worked in the lobby. All I had was my ipad so I could only use the wireless network. If you have a laptop you can plug in to the ethernet port to get online free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not purchase water in your room, just go across the street to the mini mart (Oxxo) to get water and other snacks for a much cheaper rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC, Canada
Jun 1, 2011

Mexican Paradise

Overall great, nice hotel and service. Pool was enjoyable, food fairly good. Cons poor beach, some inconsistencies in the room service, a fair walk from amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can catch the local bus for sixty five cents right out front of the entrance into downtown or the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
May 27, 2011

Highly Recommended

Tennis, pool, ocean, work-out,eating, relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the great restaurants in the nearby Marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenfuzz
Business
Montreal, Quebec
May 23, 2011

Amazing place

Great service, amazing food, wonderful staff (especially the dining staff), very nice rooms. the spa and gym offer great services. clean and modern. close to airport but a little farther from downtown. Definitely go all-inclusive as food and drink can be pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go for all inclusive package!! Otherwise the food and drink at hotel can be pricey and you'll end up paying way more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington state
May 9, 2011

great itme again!

we have been to this hotel three times and loved it every time they have a great staff and wonderful grounds and the best pools! the rooms are very nice with big balconys and heavenly beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the marina is a short walk lots of places to eat and a nice view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Volo, IL
Apr 6, 2011

Nice

The hotel was beautiful! The lobby and hallways were bright and colorful, everything was open and breezy, and the decor included a lot of art and greenery. The rooms were comfortable, and the view of the pool, beach, and ocean from the private balcony was breathtaking. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. My biggest complaint is that they did not offer free internet to guests. What's worse, the internet was not even reasonably priced: $15 USD for a 24-hour period. Considering that I've stayed in less expensive hotels in Mexico that did have free wi-fi/internet, I was pretty disappointed. I wasn't able to use my cell phone, so e-mail/FB/Skype was supposed to be my way to keep in touch with my kids Stateside and communicate with friends and family who were also in the Puerto Vallarta area. Not having it was a huge inconvenience. As for the location, the Westin in is the Marina, not in downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you're going for a quieter, more secluded setting, then this is it! If, however, you're looking for a good selection of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife, you're going to have to go to the downtown area (the "malecon") to get it - maybe a 20 minute cab ride, a little longer by bus. The restaurants and spa in the hotel were quite pricey, which was only to be expected. So, if you're looking for more affordable places, check out the Marina (maybe a 10 minute walk) or downtown Puerto Vallarta. Favorite restaurants: Victor's Place in the Marina for Mexican food, Cafe de Olla downtown for outstanding Mexican food and strong margaritas, and Cheeky Monkey downtown for their $1 Coronas, $1 margaritas, and $2 drink menu (great place to get the night started!) Also, the OXXO (Mexican version of 7-11) right across the street from the hotel was a lifesaver! We got all our water, liquor/beer, snacks, and several breakfasts of cinnamon rolls and fruit from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus downtown instead of a taxi! Bus fare is only 6.5 pesos, as compared to the 80-100 peso taxi fare. The [unmarked] bus stop is right across the street from the hotel, in front of the OXXO. The bus drivers have change for small bills (20 or 50) if you don't have exact change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, or
Mar 24, 2011

fantastic family vacation

The hotel offer para sailing, fishing trips, snorkeling trips. This was a great trip! we felt very safe. there is a lot of police presence (on foot and in cars). locals are so friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

used local bus to get to the Malecon (downtown). took about 15 minutes, less that 50 cents per person. great restaurants. we asked locals for best places to go. Bring cash. Most restaurants that are authentic mexican, do not take credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wyoming Gringo
Business
Casper, WY
Mar 24, 2011

Not bad, nice location.

First of all, PV is a great destination - and we're particularly fond of the Marina area where the Westin is located, have stayed in the vicinity on multiple occasions, although this was our first stay at the Westin. Second, it should be noted that we're not overtly snobbish or picky when it comes to hotels - we've stayed at some of the world's best and some of the absolute worst, and generally try to make the best of wherever we land. Some general points for those who might be considering Mexico or PV for the first time: 1. You will see a bug. 2. You might find a bed that is a little firmer/harder than you might prefer. 3. People will try to sell you things. Lots of things. A simple "No, Gracias" or two will suffice. 4. Things, including service, might happen on "Mexican Time". It's a slower pace, embrace it. On to the Westin: Beautiful hotel - most everything seemed well-maintained, large and attentive staff, and great pools. Beach area and bars/restaurants were good - beaches in this particular section of PV aren't as scenic to me as the beaches on the Gulf side (Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, Akumal, Tulum, etc.) - PV is a whole different vibe, more of a small city feel. We previously stayed next door at the Mayan Palace, and thought that the Westin's section of beach was a little nicer. Location of the whole place is great - nice sunset views, large cruise ships coming in to the port, near plenty of great (some inexpensive) restaurants in the Marina across the street - hotel is right across from an Oxxo convenience store, near shopping, and cabs are easy-access to take you wherever else you'd like to go with pretty inexpensive flat rates in most cases. Only negatives we experienced - check-in was delayed for an hour while they prepared our room, and when we got to it, it was pretty moldy smelling (moreso than the normal "close-to-the-beach in a warm climate" smells). Had some tile falling off the shower the next day, and finally requested to be moved to a more updated room, which they accomodated with no problem. Maid service was a little odd, they kept coming and taking our used towels & washcloths - but not leaving any new ones in their place, which was a little bit of a pain when you'd run in from the beach hoping to take a quick shower before going out to dinner and discovered there was nothing to dry off with. Again, every time we'd call, they'd send some up, it was just a minor inconvenience. The bar/restaurants are a little pricey - can't beat the convenience of having drinks/lunch brought to you on the beach, but for regular dining, I'd say the Marina restaurants like Victor's, Taco's/Pizza & Beer are much more economical and give you an opportunity to do a little exploring. The food we tried on-site was good, though. Some may be put off by the beach vendors who can get a little persistent/constant - again, a "No, Gracias" will generally get the message across, and if it's that big of a deal - move behind the concrete barrier where they aren't allowed to cross. Otherwise, it can be a fun lazy man's place to shop :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're traveling to places nearby like Wal-Mart, the port, the mall, shopping centers, the Malecon, downtown, etc. - there's a bus that runs right out front, that's only about 50-60 cents US. Lots of tourists take it, just don't get too adventurous if you're not familiar - we got stuck out one trip and had some language barriers getting back after "seeing where the bus goes". Otherwise, cabs are about 60-80 pesos depending on where you're going. Wal-Mart or Oxxo are great places to stock up on stuff you need and avoid things like Westin's expensive mini-bars, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NIKKIB
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 23, 2011

Overall Great experience!!

This was an overall great hotel! We ended up staying here after making a last minute decision to take a vacation and the price was right for this hotel!Although some of the reviews said it was a little dated we did not feel this way at all. It was very authentic feeling with tons of great local artwork throughout the hotel. The pools and the beach were both great and only felt a little too crowded on Sunday for some reason? We thought it seemed kid friendly but not annoying for those of us without kids. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants the first night which was overpriced and not that amazing. During the day though, we ate at a different hotel restaurant on the beach that had wonderful tacos al pastor, ceviche, and guacamole. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. We stayed on the "club level" which gave us a nice view from our room along with complimentary breakfast and cocktails. The breakfast left A LOT to be desired but for a quick easy bite before hitting the beach, it wasn't terrible. The main problem was that although breakfast went until 11AM and we were usually there by 9AM everything already was gone and not refilled unless you bugged the server a bunch of times- I am talking the basics like coffee cups and juice. It was as if no one told the server that there were actually 2 hours left for breakfast! We didn't take advantage of the cocktail hour but overall were still glad we paid a little more for club level. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice. The beds and the shower were awesome as well. the only other complaint had to do with the timeshare side of the hotel. I don't quite know what the deal over there is but once their pool filled up they would take over our side of the pool area which was evident because of the different colored towels. This was pretty annoying on Sunday when there was not a poolside seat to be found. Luckily we are more beach people and we found this to be the most enjoyable part of our stay! The service was great, the drinks were great, and the people watching was primo. Keep in mind, if you are a person who doesn't like being approached by vendors this may not be the place for you. For me, I got to shop with a beer in my hand while getting a suntan which I enjoyed immensely!!! Even though there were a couple of issues, we would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would highly recommend you take the short taxi ride downtown to experience the shopping and the incredible restaurant scene! We ventured out each night after a day in the sun and ended up having some fantastic dinners!!! The cab ride downtown is quickly arranged by the hotel staff out front and has a set price of 80 pesos which makes it nice not to have to haggle with the cab driver. The same goes for the trip back and all you have to do is establish the price with the driver once you get in. There is great dining and shopping in the downtown area without it feeling too incredibly touristy. There is a ton of great artwork and jewelry but do watch out for the timeshare people. We got a lot of our restaurant ideas from the free magazines and newspapers in the lobby of the hotel, many of which seemed to have been written by ex pats living in PV.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Westin Puerto Vallarta Hotel and Spa

It doesn't get any better than relaxing by the pool at the Westin Puerto Vallarta Hotel and Spa... the food service by the pool was excellent, the staff was accommodating at every turn, and the view of the beach was as good as it gets. The grounds are well maintained with an abundance of swaying Palm trees, bouganvilla, and other native flora and fauna. We stayed in a adjoining suite with friends and the rooms are clean and very comfortable, again with a view of the gardens and ocean. We were happy to find the gym to be state of the art and the spa center was perfect. A complete package for a wonderful stay in a warm country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Describe what you're looking for and either the helpful bellman or taxi cab driver will be more than happy to accommodate and get you to the right place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top