$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

4 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur #205, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
328 reviews
Perfect weekend getaway

This hotel is right next to the marina , with a nice beach and pool. We had our room upgraded for... See full review

  • Antonio Flowers
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great Family vacation

Very nice! Swimming pool was perfect! Water temperature just right!! Restaurants were good. Drinks... See full review

  • Kathy Collier
  • Mar 29, 2014
Puerto Vallarta hotel with modern style and true resort experiences
The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta maintains a tranquil setting, even with all the activities hosted on the site. Lagoon-style pools -- complete with a swim-up bar -- and outdoor restaurants take advantage of the stunning beach and ocean vistas. Rooms favor contemporary furniture and brightly colored accents. For parents, a supervised club for children 4 to 12 translates to more time at the spa, nearby golf courses and tennis courts.
Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with pool- or ocean-facing balconies
  • Alfresco dining
  • Lagoon-style pools with swim-up bar
  • Club for children ages 4 to 12
Rooms
Clean lines, tasteful fabrics and modern furniture capture a contemporary look synonymous with the Westin brand. Luxurious white linens complement with color, including red walls and copper throw pillows and amber-shaded lamps. Sleek media cabinets and headboards create symmetry for the space. Guests shift to full relaxation mode with amenities such as ocean- or pool-facing balconies, Heavenly Bath products, satellite TV and mini-bar. Wi-Fi is standard.
Features
Parents rely upon the kids' club, a year-round program open to children ages 4 to 12, for daily supervised activities. A typical day has children taking part in craft-making, pool aerobics, movie-watching and more (fees apply).
For adults, the recreation menu is just as rich. Visitors might start at the outdoor lagoon-style pools (complete with swim-up bar), play a match on the tennis courts, enjoy a black-mud wrap at the spa or work out on the Life Fitness machines in the gym. Golfers can also request to have tee times scheduled at four nearby courses.
Dining
Atmosphere plays a big role in the dining experiences at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse tempts guests with fusion cuisine and tables located under a thatched roof by the beach. El Palmar Restaurant, the all-day buffet, entices guests with a rooftop terrace overlooking the pools and gardens. Guests can enjoy the bar at La Cascada International Bar, where seasonal music and flat-screen TVs provide the entertainment. They can also dine by the pool at Tlaquepaque Bar, which serves light fare alongside tropical cocktails.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (3.3 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • More than 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Hotel Map

20.662 -105.2528
Area served
Puerto Vallarta
Nearby airports
Located just 1.6 miles away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport.
Area description
This spectacular beach front resort is situated on 21 lush, tropical acres with more than 600 palm trees in the land and 879 feet of Pacific Ocean beach frontage. It is located in the exclusive Marina Vallarta Development, just 15 minutes drive from town center or a short walk to Marina Vallarta shops and dining, 5 minute drive to Puerto Vallarta International airport and at walking distance of the Marina Vallarta "Club de Golf" 18 hole course. The hotel offers the essence of Puerto Vallarta in a deluxe, first class manner, designed with modern structure and decorated with fine Mexican touches of mosaic stone floors and bright colors.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta Rooms

Grand Deluxe Room
Located from the 7th to 10th floors, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony with a large jacuzzi and, and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Royal Beach Club Room
Located on the 12th and 14th floors with an exclusive Ocean View Premier Lounge. All ocean view rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature control, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, well stocked mini bar, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, bathrobe and hairdryer. Rooms with one king size bed or two double beds. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge where are provided with Continental Breakfast, daily newspaper, 2 hours of open domestic bar from 5:00pm to 7:00pm with hors d'oeuvres and concierge assistance (Room and Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date)
Deluxe Ocean View
Located from the 5th to 11th floor, ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature Contemporary decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, full line of fine bath amenities, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size bed or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).
Junior Suite
Located on the 8th and 11th floors, ocean view. One bedroom suite with a exclusive "Heavenly II" king size bed end tables with iron cast lamps are on either side of the bed. White cedar desk, lamp and chair. Small sitting area with (2) rattan chairs, round marble iron cast table and love seat which pulls out into a twin bed for sleeping if necessary. There is a large white cedar dresser with drawers and a remote control color television on a swivel stand. "Heavenly Bath" featuring full bath with dual sinks, commode, separate tub and double head shower, makeup mirror and hair dryer. Ample closet space, ceiling fan, coffee maker, Internet access, ironing boards with iron, mini bar and in room safe. The balcony runs the length of the suite with a large jacuzzi and, 1 chaise lounge chair and (2) patio chairs with matching table. Guests are entitled to the Royal Beach Club Lounge.
Deluxe Room
Located from the 1st to 4th floor, pool view and partial ocean view. All rooms are very spacious and feature elegant Mexican decor, private balcony, exclusive "Heavenly Bed II", air conditioning with individual temperature controls, tropical ceiling fans, direct dial telephones, Internet access, coffee maker, ironing boards with iron, electronic safety locks, in-room safes, sprinklers/smoke detector system, color satellite T.V. in-room music, "Heavenly Bath" featuring full line of fine bath amenities, full bath tub, separate double head shower, hairdryer, bathrobes, well stocked mini bar. Rooms available with one king size or two double beds (Room or Floor location and bedding type requests are subject to availability upon arrival date).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Cascada Lobby Bar
serving drinks, cocktails and snacks, big screen TV, live music and Unwind program with handcrafts exposition, margarita tasting and spa experience.
Arrecifes Seafood & Steakhouse
Restaurant, Lounge and Beach Club, and exclusive spot where unique entertainment and elegant indulgence is complimented in an enhanced atmosphere of the world's natural beauty.Arrecifes Restaurant has a surcharge of 10 usd per person per meal, excluding 16% of tax
El Palmar
offers well designed buffet and A la carte breakfast, exquisite lunches and distinctive la carte dinners or sumptuous nightly theme buffets.
Tenampa & Tlaquepaque
swim up pool bars with refreshing beverages, delicious cocktails and light snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (328)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pari
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

No Customer Service

Customer service was terrible and extreamly slow. One eg: Had complained about the cordless phone not working which was never fixed in our 4 day trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Sas
Boston,MA
Mar 8, 2010

THE WESTIN SUCKS

Our (short) stay at the Westin was horrible! First we were told that the hotel was all inclusive but we discovered that it was not,but the worst thing is that they were of NO HELP!! They lied to us and said that they won't charge a night when they eventually did and they didn't help us to get transfer to another resort saying it "was not their problem". Plus there was absolutely no one at this resort, the place was freaking deserted (no wonder since it's lame),with no activities...the food is ridiculously overpriced (and it's not that good) and they will charge you $20 to watch a movie!! Totally not worth it,a place TO AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Happy in ChiTown
Chicago, IL
Jan 12, 2011

Boo!!

Definitely not Westin quality - would not go back - rooms on the 5th floor are terrible - right over the Lobby Bar which is open until 1:00 AM - they won't grant late check outs, even if you are a preferred memeber, unless you pay a fee...told us that the hotel was full, when we know for a fact that wasn't true - just trying to nickel and dime customers. Food was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated Travler
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 13, 2010

PICK ANOTHER HOTEL!! They have theives.

For a four diamond, supposedly top of the line hotel/resort I think they have been way OVER rated. Upon arriving at the hotel and knowing our guest count was 3, when we got to our room there was one king bed and at first all they offered a roll away bed for our son. We politely asked for a different room and were met with sighs of irritation from the staff at the front desk. After finally getting a room with 2 beds we proceeded to put away our clothes and other items. We put my purse, travel documents and our passports in the safe, locked it and headed down to the beach. Upon return to our room the safe code we put in and checked before we left no longer worked, we called the front desk and notified them of the situation. Quite quickly we had someone at our door to reset the safe. The person quickly, and without any questions or asking any of us for ID to verify we were who we were, reset the safe. When we pulled out my purse, in which we had some money divided and put into two places, the money we had in one place was gone. We had a camera right in front of our room, but go figure it showed nothing. The hotel said they checked the room keys, the safe and the camera, but ultimately they did not find anything and did nothing to help us and insisted we were idiots. On top of unfriendly service the entire trip our safety was compromised at this hotel. I would highly recommend looking at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited many places near and far for food and the best place that is close to this hotel is Victors Tacubana. The best food, service and value!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated Travler
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 13, 2010

PICK ANOTHER HOTEL!! They have theives.

For a four diamond, supposedly top of the line hotel/resort I think they have been way OVER rated. Upon arriving at the hotel and knowing our guest count was 3, when we got to our room there was one king bed and at first all they offered a roll away bed for our son. We politely asked for a different room and were met with sighs of irritation from the staff at the front desk. After finally getting a room with 2 beds we proceeded to put away our clothes and other items. We put my purse, travel documents and our passports in the safe, locked it and headed down to the beach. Upon return to our room the safe code we put in and checked before we left no longer worked, we called the front desk and notified them of the situation. Quite quickly we had someone at our door to reset the safe. The person quickly, and without any questions or asking any of us for ID to verify we were who we were, reset the safe. When we pulled out my purse, in which we had some money divided and put into two places, the money we had in one place was gone. We had a camera right in front of our room, but go figure it showed nothing. The hotel said they checked the room keys, the safe and the camera, but ultimately they did not find anything and did nothing to help us and insisted we were idiots. On top of unfriendly service the entire trip our safety was compromised at this hotel. I would highly recommend looking at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited many places near and far for food and the best place that is close to this hotel is Victors Tacubana. The best food, service and value!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Liz and Sas
Boston,MA
Mar 8, 2010

THE WESTIN SUCKS

Our (short) stay at the Westin was horrible! First we were told that the hotel was all inclusive but we discovered that it was not,but the worst thing is that they were of NO HELP!! They lied to us and said that they won't charge a night when they eventually did and they didn't help us to get transfer to another resort saying it "was not their problem". Plus there was absolutely no one at this resort, the place was freaking deserted (no wonder since it's lame),with no activities...the food is ridiculously overpriced (and it's not that good) and they will charge you $20 to watch a movie!! Totally not worth it,a place TO AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Happy in ChiTown
Chicago, IL
Jan 12, 2011

Boo!!

Definitely not Westin quality - would not go back - rooms on the 5th floor are terrible - right over the Lobby Bar which is open until 1:00 AM - they won't grant late check outs, even if you are a preferred memeber, unless you pay a fee...told us that the hotel was full, when we know for a fact that wasn't true - just trying to nickel and dime customers. Food was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver
Jul 2, 2008

Westin falls short

The room was clean but small. The pool was under major construction. The food was extremely expensive. Be prepared to pay $80 just for a simple breakfast for 4. Luckily, we only stayed a few days at the end of our trip. The beach access was fine and the location was in the marina which had many dining and shopping options accessible by foot. We did become sick during our stay while staying here. I can't say where the bacteria came from, but I felt very bad after a terrible margarita at poolside. It seems Mexico is no longer the bargain it once was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Buenos Aries Restaurant had great food at very reasonable prices. They are in the center of the marina if you can dodge the many time share hawkers.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Vallarta
Nov 15, 2010

would not recommend

The Westin lists many amenities, but then when you get there they say there are fees for all of them. Our hotel room didn't come with your standard coffee machine. the water for the tub came out yellow! cabana that is advertised for also has a $50 fee. So really all you are paying for is a bed and an shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

100% Natural great dining.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Public Swells
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Feb 3, 2010

Puerto's Westin

Atypical of Westin, as a chain. Spectacular location. Plaqued by noisy midnight to 3 a.m. party in adjoining Westin time share.Restaurants and staff consistently pleasant. Daily room cleaning and re-freshing very veriable...anytime from noon to, in one case reported by member of our group, 11:30 p.m. Paint chip on floor in back of bathroom door remained there for five nights. Tried to charge another guest $7.50 to use gym/health club when there was no provision for such charge in any of hotel's materials. Charged 540 pesos for room keys that had to be removed from bill at check out. Nickled and dimed items: free packet of coffee in room for first use only; all additional uses were 420 pesos on minibar bill. Advised no Starwoods points would apply because arrangements thru [...]. Clearly needs detailed visit by Westin corporate to reinvigorate philosophy of that chain to its former glory. Easy and pleasant walk to nearly marina for shops, tours, trips and good assortment of restauransts w/o going into old town Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much shopping, checking for tours, boat trips, adventure experiences, assortment of restaurants and reasonable prices were a short walk in or around the marina....avoiding taxi rides to downtown (should not be missed) that were $8 to 10 each way. (Down town and a walk along the Malecon is a must, however.)

Back to menu Return to top