$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
SunSet Plaza Beach Resort

The Sunset Beach Resort is our favorit place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. The staff are very good... See full review

  • Tammyt65
  • Sep 28, 2014
great hotel

The hotel was all ocean views.Higher the better.One bedroom was extra large with two bathrooms... See full review

  • kayaking kirk
  • Sep 15, 2014
SO CLOSE, SO COMFORTABLE.
Sufficiently close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer in order for you to enjoy a full experience, but far enough to preserve tranquility. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is located in the best area, four kilometers from the airport and a short distance from downtown Puerto Vallarta, a few steps from the most important commercial centers and Marina Vallarta. They are close to everything and getting around is a cinch.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallartas hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.106 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces divided into eight different categories, Deluxe Room, Lanai Deluxe Rooms, One Bedroom Suite, Fitness one bedroom suite, Spa One Bedroom Suite, Master Suite, Family Master Suite & Plaza Luxury Suite Penthouse with full kitchen
SWEET DREAMS
At Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, sleeping like an angel is a priority. They have designed a special mattress with a natural fiber base for a restful experience. A pillow menu is available to serve even the most sophisticated preferences.
INFINITELY PLEASING
The sunset, its colors and all the magic of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa stretches to infinity. Not only because of the propertys has design that always allowed for an unrestricted ocean view but also for the quality of its services.
INFINITELY FAMILY ORIENTED
A pool for the family and an activity program that insures everyone has fun. A Kids Club from which the little ones will never want to leave gives the adults the opportunity for an enjoyable stay as well. Hotel has facilities like Reception, Lobby,Banquet facilities and Dry cleaning.

For Room Service is 10usd extra charge as a service fee, even if it is an All Inclusive package

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bhavi
Business
chicago,il
Feb 6, 2011

horable dont every stay over here

*under staff especially doing dinner time * if you book all inclusive they will say its not * rooms are not done in the afternoon * absolutely no options for vegeterian and they will not even make something * very expenisve compare to others especially for food and drinks *

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Symond
Business
San Jose California t
Mar 31, 2014

Room condition good,Restuarants poor condition

This property is a descent Hotel , don,t expect as a resort, the rooms are clean and good condition but Restuarants are really unacceptable ,beach is not good, swimming pool water is so hot that you can not get in ,management is careless... Not a good choice if you are going Puetro Vallareta For an enjoying vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Older Spring Breaker
Business
Iowa, USA
Apr 9, 2012

annual couples get away

The hotel in its self was very nice but we were there for 8 days and the menu for food remained the same. there was an Italian resturant on premise which we did for 2 nights, but left the premise 4 nights because not much variety in food. My opinion is when you go all inclusive you should want to stay on premise and enjoy. Any they had NO night activity, even when the outside resturant closed (10PM) no one was at inside bar nor most of the time did it even have a bartender. Would not go back and wouldn't recommend if you go for Fun and not just relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canuck123
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Apr 14, 2012

Not bad, Could be better

Had a suite at a great price. Probably the nicest room I have stayed in. 2 Bathrooms, jacuzzi, huge balcony. The Staff is so-so, depending on who you get. Only having 2 restaurants make the dining options limited. Nowhere to go to get something quick. Also nothing to do in the evenings other than the lounge/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IA2thfairy
Business
Iowa
Feb 9, 2014

Exactly what I expected!

This was my first trip to Puerto Vallarta. I specifically came to Puerto Vallarta to go whale watching. I was not disappointed. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is close to the airport and shopping areas. We felt safe walking down to the Malecon and other areas around the hotel. I can't say enough good things about the hotel rooms. We booked a suite and they are gorgeous and enormous. The suites are equipped with a full kitchen, two bathrooms and a large balcony with a wonderful ocean view. The only bad thing I can say about the rooms is that you can hear things going on in the neighboring rooms. And I do mean, EVERYTHING! Which can be pretty entertaining at times. You can also hear music and partying going on at the neighboring resort, but once that is over, all that you usually hear is the ocean...which is music to my ears. We went with an all inclusive package, so we ate all of our meals on the resort. The resort does not have a buffet, so depending on the preferences of an individual that can be a good thing or a bad thing. I preferred eating off of a menu and I never went hungry. The food was good and the staff was always open to any special requests I had. You could also have food delivered to the pool area. They do charge for room service, but since there was an extra charge we never tried it. They have two pools. One large pool with swim up bar and another "Adult only pool." The adult pool area could be larger. It was usually full and people had to get up early to save a spot in that area. The beach is okay. It's not a great beach for walking or jogging and the vendors drive you bananas constantly trying to sell you things. Our friends used the fitness room daily and never had any complaints. Beach towels are easily accessible and it was nice not to have to worry about a towel card. The resort could use some sort of entertainment and activities. There isn't much going on around the pools like other resorts we have visited and the night life is dead. Seriously...no shows...nada. We were traveling with friends, so entertainment was not an issue for us. If I were to return to Puerto Vallarta I wouldn't hesitate a bit to return to this hotel. I definitely recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AFSA Frank
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Feb 15, 2014

Sun and Fun in Puerto Vallarta

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort exceeded our expectations. The Hotel is 3 years old and well designed.The views of the sunset from our 8th floor room were spectacular. We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious and had a well equipped kitchen. Staff was excellent. A modern supermarket is 3 blocks away so we made our own breakfast and lunch most days and went out to wonderful and not costly restaurants at night in the Centro and Zona Romantica zones of Puerto Vallarta. We also eat at the Hotel restaurant which was very good. We spent most time at the adult pool and beach area where Juan brought us great drinks and snacks. Our butler, Haziel, was very helpful giving us good tips on restaurants. We enjoyed the Trio, Palapa, El Arrayan and Daiquiri Dick's. We will definitely return to the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort again. One last comment, we enjoyed 6 days of sunny, mid-80s temperature and returned to 12 inches of snow and mid-20s in the Washington, DC area. We should have stayed for another week in Puerto Vallarta.Try it, you will like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants in the Centro and Zona Romantica districts. Taxi to Centro was $4 and $6 to ZR. Prices for food were very reasonable. Sunset Plaza food was also very good but we liked to go out of the Hotel at night. The security in Puerto Vallarta is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elizcathome
Business
San Francsico
Feb 20, 2014

Great staff

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating with recommendations for activities and dinners in old town. Great place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Trio, great food and service downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puerto Vallarta traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 23, 2014

Good vacation, but get spoiled at the end!

Overall stay in the hotel was good. We were traveling with child so kid's club was very helpful. Food was very good, except sometimes you need to ask 100 times for one item b/c there is no buffet, and food is cooked per your order. Facility is clean, staff overall is very friendly and helpful. However, at checkout they show us receipt without our signature and we were asked to pay for some food we didn't purchase (we had all-inclusive plan). We did refuse to pay, and you can tell how unfriendly and rude this person immediately became. We didn't had lunch before checkout in hope to do it after checkout b/c we had couple of hours to kill before the plane, we were declined lunch after 12 pm b/c all-inclusive ended at this time. We are in Puerto Vallarta 5th time, however this is our 1st time staying in Sunset Plaza. 4 times we were staying in different hotels and always all-inclusive. Not even once we were declined to have food or drink after our check out time. So we were unpleasantly surprise by this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't change $ in the hotel. Exchange rate is very small. Near by many banks with good rate. Don't forget your passport!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeattleKi
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 26, 2014

Nice hotel in great location!

We spent 5 days at the Sunset Plaza in February and had a really nice time. The rooms all face the ocean and are huge--two bathrooms, two huge closets, and a big deck with table and chairs. The ONLY downside was that you could hear your neighbors and those above you really well. Too well. I'm surprised because this is a newer hotel--you'd think the insulation would be better. Regardless, we'd stay here again--the location was perfect, the pools were nice and you really can't beat the price ( we didn't do the all-inclusive because we wanted to explore other options and were really glad we didn't).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie2197
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 16, 2014

Classy Spring Break

We went with a smaller group of students from our school on spring break. A bunch of our friends were staying at the resort next door - Los Pelicanos. We were able to enjoy the luxuries of Sunset Plaza while also having access to our friends next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipi's was the must fun restaurant we visited and they had amazing Mexican food and the biggest margaritas ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top