$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
59 reviews
trip to Sunset Plaza Resort at puerto vallarda,mex

Sunset Plaza is one of the best places I ever stayed. the service is amazing, the room was awesome,... See full review

  • puerto vallarda
  • Nov 22, 2014
2014 lovely vacation

A lady friend and I stayed at the Sunset for two weeks and had an excellent experience. The hotel... See full review

  • Myra of Texas
  • Oct 30, 2014
Well-equipped Puerto Vallarta seafront resort with spa and free Wi-Fi

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa welcomes travellers to a stylish foreshore-set resort that offers plush spaces and recreation facilities set in the scenic tourist destination in Mexico. This Puerto Vallarta retreat features an infinity pool, heated children's pool and an adults-only heated pool. Guests have pampering treatments at Zen Set Spa (fees apply), hang out at the solarium Jacuzzi area, play a few rounds at tennis courts and work out at the fitness center on site. This posh property offers free parking, 24-hour butler service, complimentary Wi-Fi access and kid's club with video games area, restaurant, mini golf and playground.

 

Diners enjoy dining at Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano, have light fares at the La Canela Deli and unwind at Sunset Bar and Aqua Bar.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Child-friendly facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi and parking
  • Spa, pools, solarium with Jacuzzi and fitness centre on site
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa provides tasteful rooms and suites that come with 32-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, hairdryer, iron/board, en suite marble bathroom and private terrace. Room service and accessible units are available. All units offer soothing ocean views. Select units have full kitchen, dining table for four people and in-room Jacuzzi.

Things To Do
  • Plaza de Armas (1.0 km/0.6 mi)
  • Augustin Flores Contreras Municipal Sports Stadium (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (1.5 km/0.9 mi)
  • The Malecon (2.3 km/1.4 mi)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (3.5 km/2.1 km)
  • Casa Museo Manuel Lepe (3.7 km/2.2 mi)
  • Playa Conchas Chinas (5.4 km/3.3 mi)
  • Paradise Village Contry Club (8.7 km/5.4 mi)
  • Puerto Vallarta Zoo (13.0 km/8.0 mi)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (20.0 km/12.4 mi)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 59
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella Lavina
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Back for second time

Great food, staff very helpful and friendly, 1 bedroom suite was out of this world! Marble, clean, granite counters in small kitchen. Would recommend. Location is super, 10 min cab ride.. Well be back and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

$6-7 cab ride to downtown PV

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob P.
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Superb resort experience

From the minute we arrived at Sunset Plaza to the day we left, we had a fantastic time. The suite was amazing, with a glorious ocean view and crashing waves you could hear all night from the 11th floor. The staff was incredibly helpful (with the exception of a persuasive timeshare/points sales attempt), the food and drinks were excellent (an a la carte menu that changed every other day) and the other guests were very friendly. The spa seemed over-priced and the Italian restaurant (as remarked upon in other reviews) didn't have very good food -- burnt bread, salty pesto sauce, bland pasta dishes -- but those were the only downsides to a wonderfully relaxing vacation. If you can get a good deal on the all-inclusive and upgrade to a suite, this is a place that is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Amber
Business
Hammond, Indiana
Aug 21, 2012

Great place!

Staff was amazing, place was beautiful. We went with a group of people and everyone loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk is renovated and the sand sculptures are impressive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rouzic
Business
Spokane, WA
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Acommodation!

Everything was absolutely perfect. Could not be any better. We'll be definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
albersweb
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 19, 2012

Great, new, hotel

We were here for a week. A great value. The hotel was just amazing, we booked a suite with breakfast as we did not want a full meal service resort. The hotel was amazing, people were friendly, the place was immaculately clean, the service great. Only problem was the noise from the resort next door. A lot of evenings it sounded like spring break in the middle of December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurants in town, however the Hotel provided great food also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greghhh
Business
St Paul, MN
Jan 30, 2013

I travel a lot and.....

I have traveled a lot in my life. This was my 4th time to Puerto Vallarta. I must say that I was more than surprised at this hotel. We were met by the manager upon our arrival, things were explain well and in english too which was quite good, the rooms were clean and everything was nice. Staff was more than helpful as well. One big point I would like to say which had turned me off of Mexico in the past was all the push for you to buy those time shares. I actually avoided going to Mexico because of that reason actually. This time, for the 7 days I was there, not once did someone approach me or even talk about time shares. It is apparent that it had affected tourism there as the American tourism fell off for quite a while as some of the locals told me. It appears they are trying to win people back now. The time we had there was absolutely fantastic and we will be going back there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the eating places off the beaten path. If you go downtown into Puerto Vallarta, all the places are good to eat, but if you go into one of the side streets, the places have excellent food and are cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I was in PV
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 12, 2013

Best Hotel I have stayed at

Staff was so helpful, the atmosphere was gorgeous, the rooms(1 bedroom suite) are huge and clean with 2 full bathrooms. We opted out of all inclusive, because we wanted to eat out. We ate some breakfasts and lunchs at the hotel, and the food was very good. The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. There were children at the hotel, but we didn't notice. I would definitely recommend for families too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdean
Business
iowa
Mar 21, 2013

Going to Relax

If you are going to relax this is a great place and you're still close enough to town if you want some night life. Staff was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ngoc Lan
Business
San Francisco
Apr 29, 2013

AMAZING!!!

What you see on the picture is what it really is. I was blown away by the resort and the especially the wait staff. They are AMAZING!!! They go above and beyond for you. I wasn't sure what the butler was suppose to do for you but he didn't do much for us. Everywhere is spotless. I can't hardly wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get it an all inclusive. You can eat and drink all you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCROO
Business
Lisle IL
Sep 28, 2013

Excellent Resort

The Sunset Plaza is beautifully furnished and very clean. The covered terrace on each of the rooms is the best place to watch sunset. The staff exceeded my expectations in hospitality. The pool and spa are wonderful getaways. The location is even within walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Great value and a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top