$453 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greghhh
Couples
St Paul, MN
Jan 30, 2013

I travel a lot and.....

I have traveled a lot in my life. This was my 4th time to Puerto Vallarta. I must say that I was more than surprised at this hotel. We were met by the manager upon our arrival, things were explain well and in english too which was quite good, the rooms were clean and everything was nice. Staff was more than helpful as well. One big point I would like to say which had turned me off of Mexico in the past was all the push for you to buy those time shares. I actually avoided going to Mexico because of that reason actually. This time, for the 7 days I was there, not once did someone approach me or even talk about time shares. It is apparent that it had affected tourism there as the American tourism fell off for quite a while as some of the locals told me. It appears they are trying to win people back now. The time we had there was absolutely fantastic and we will be going back there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the eating places off the beaten path. If you go downtown into Puerto Vallarta, all the places are good to eat, but if you go into one of the side streets, the places have excellent food and are cheaper.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I was in PV
Couples
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 12, 2013

Best Hotel I have stayed at

Staff was so helpful, the atmosphere was gorgeous, the rooms(1 bedroom suite) are huge and clean with 2 full bathrooms. We opted out of all inclusive, because we wanted to eat out. We ate some breakfasts and lunchs at the hotel, and the food was very good. The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. There were children at the hotel, but we didn't notice. I would definitely recommend for families too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperChillGuy
Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

If this is an option for you, jump at the chance to spend your holiday here!

What a wonderful trip! From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the staff. Our room was immaculate with an extraordinary view. The kitchenette in our suite was well supplied. I did nor encounter a single staff member who was sub-par -- everyone from the housekeeping team to the butlers to the wait staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. We opted to go with the European Plan (not all-inclusive) since we don't drink and wanted to try different restaurants in the area. It was the way to go for us. The first meal we had once we arrived was dinner by the pool. Unfortunately, it was the worst meal we had in PVR. The final night we ate there as well and it was better this time, although the menu was quite limited and I can't imagine having eaten there for the entire trip. This hotel is in the 'Hotel Zone' -- which we found far more preferable than the Old Town area, which is dirtier, less intimate and had many, many more street sellers and locals asking for money. We had one meal in the Old Town and we couldn't return to our hotel fast enough. I would return without hesitation to Sunset Plaza -- it was an exceptional trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdean
Couples
iowa
Mar 21, 2013

Going to Relax

If you are going to relax this is a great place and you're still close enough to town if you want some night life. Staff was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ngoc Lan
Couples
San Francisco
Apr 29, 2013

AMAZING!!!

What you see on the picture is what it really is. I was blown away by the resort and the especially the wait staff. They are AMAZING!!! They go above and beyond for you. I wasn't sure what the butler was suppose to do for you but he didn't do much for us. Everywhere is spotless. I can't hardly wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get it an all inclusive. You can eat and drink all you want.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl530
Family
San Diego
Jun 18, 2013

Great Vacation

Had an awesome stay at Sunset, the staff was attentive and the hotel room view was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Most tours are a short drive from the hotel.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzy8616
Family
Chicago
Jul 21, 2013

Amazing family reunion

Where do I begin? My family and I were there from July 16th to July 20th and our time there was unforgettable! From the staff to the cleanliness of our room and to the exquisite meals and activities they had at the resort, just remarkable! I am definitely going back to this resort soon, never have I encountered so many friendly people and such a great time all in one... We were greeted with champagne and orange juice and just lovely smiles everywhere, what more can you ask for? I've have stayed at several resorts in Puerto Vallarta and none of them compare to Sunset! The only problem I had was with a subcontractor who offered scuba diving sessions (long story) but ill have to say is that the management interfered immediately and took matters into their own hands which was something I didn't expect since subcontractors operate under their own management... I will be going back in September and if your looking for relaxation at its finest you need Sunset :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta adventure

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCROO
Couples
Lisle IL
Sep 28, 2013

Excellent Resort

The Sunset Plaza is beautifully furnished and very clean. The covered terrace on each of the rooms is the best place to watch sunset. The staff exceeded my expectations in hospitality. The pool and spa are wonderful getaways. The location is even within walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Great value and a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrino
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2013

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER

We were there in Jan 1013 Serpt 2013 Going back in Dec 2013 I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis Restaurant Great Mexican Food

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hardcore Hotel Reviewer
Couples
Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2014

Best View

Hotel is very nice...only 120 rooms or so and all have big balcony with ocean view. If you have the suite you get a full kitchen, two bathrooms, jacuzzi, plus an over 300 square feet balcony with an ocean front view and great view of the sunset...service at hotel is good...nice pools, 2 mils from malecon and romantic zone basically 60-100 peso cab ride depending if go to malecon (60 peso) or 80-100 peso for romantic zone. Also can take bus easily and safely there for 7.5 pesos as well and buses leaving on block outside hotel ever 5 minutes or less....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top