$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown... See full review

  • AnnaBella4992
  • Apr 10, 2014
Amazing views and great staff.

short cab ride from the airport and was greeted by Javier the hotel Mgr. at the entrance of the... See full review

  • Skelly3055
  • Mar 24, 2014
SO CLOSE, SO COMFORTABLE.
Sufficiently close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer in order for you to enjoy a full experience, but far enough to preserve tranquility. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is located in the best area, four kilometers from the airport and a short distance from downtown Puerto Vallarta, a few steps from the most important commercial centers and Marina Vallarta. They are close to everything and getting around is a cinch.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallartas hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.106 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces divided into eight different categories, Deluxe Room, Lanai Deluxe Rooms, One Bedroom Suite, Fitness one bedroom suite, Spa One Bedroom Suite, Master Suite, Family Master Suite & Plaza Luxury Suite Penthouse with full kitchen
SWEET DREAMS
At Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, sleeping like an angel is a priority. They have designed a special mattress with a natural fiber base for a restful experience. A pillow menu is available to serve even the most sophisticated preferences.
INFINITELY PLEASING
The sunset, its colors and all the magic of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa stretches to infinity. Not only because of the propertys has design that always allowed for an unrestricted ocean view but also for the quality of its services.
INFINITELY FAMILY ORIENTED
A pool for the family and an activity program that insures everyone has fun. A Kids Club from which the little ones will never want to leave gives the adults the opportunity for an enjoyable stay as well. Hotel has facilities like Reception, Lobby,Banquet facilities and Dry cleaning.

For Room Service is 10usd extra charge as a service fee, even if it is an All Inclusive package

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Skelly3055
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2014

Amazing views and great staff.

short cab ride from the airport and was greeted by Javier the hotel Mgr. at the entrance of the hotel. Check-in was great, we overheard guest reluctant to leave and requested late check-out, therefore our check-in was not ready immediately. We could not fault the hotel. All rooms of this hotel face the beach and the water temp and pressure in our shower are great even for our high floors. Food is really good with no buffet lines, very personable and attentive staff in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Wish I was in PV
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 12, 2013

Best Hotel I have stayed at

Staff was so helpful, the atmosphere was gorgeous, the rooms(1 bedroom suite) are huge and clean with 2 full bathrooms. We opted out of all inclusive, because we wanted to eat out. We ate some breakfasts and lunchs at the hotel, and the food was very good. The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. There were children at the hotel, but we didn't notice. I would definitely recommend for families too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Padrino
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2013

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER

We were there in Jan 1013 Serpt 2013 Going back in Dec 2013 I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis Restaurant Great Mexican Food

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
albersweb
San Francisco, California
Dec 19, 2012

Great, new, hotel

We were here for a week. A great value. The hotel was just amazing, we booked a suite with breakfast as we did not want a full meal service resort. The hotel was amazing, people were friendly, the place was immaculately clean, the service great. Only problem was the noise from the resort next door. A lot of evenings it sounded like spring break in the middle of December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurants in town, however the Hotel provided great food also.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Ngoc Lan
San Francisco
Apr 29, 2013

AMAZING!!!

What you see on the picture is what it really is. I was blown away by the resort and the especially the wait staff. They are AMAZING!!! They go above and beyond for you. I wasn't sure what the butler was suppose to do for you but he didn't do much for us. Everywhere is spotless. I can't hardly wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get it an all inclusive. You can eat and drink all you want.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
warren and bea
columbus, ohio
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic getaway with friends.

Our stay was just about perfect in every way. We were able to spend some very special time with close friends who live far from us. We met at The Sunset Plaza Beach Resort for a wonderful week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Trio Restaurant, Guerrero 264, Puarto Vallarta, and their sister Bistro restaurant right on the bay, were excellent and resaonably priced.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
AnnaBella4992
Minneapolis,MN
Apr 10, 2014

Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown and beautiful suites are worth the extra money...huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown PV great place to check out...lots great restaurants and shopping

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Lizzy8616
Chicago
Jul 21, 2013

Amazing family reunion

Where do I begin? My family and I were there from July 16th to July 20th and our time there was unforgettable! From the staff to the cleanliness of our room and to the exquisite meals and activities they had at the resort, just remarkable! I am definitely going back to this resort soon, never have I encountered so many friendly people and such a great time all in one... We were greeted with champagne and orange juice and just lovely smiles everywhere, what more can you ask for? I've have stayed at several resorts in Puerto Vallarta and none of them compare to Sunset! The only problem I had was with a subcontractor who offered scuba diving sessions (long story) but ill have to say is that the management interfered immediately and took matters into their own hands which was something I didn't expect since subcontractors operate under their own management... I will be going back in September and if your looking for relaxation at its finest you need Sunset :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta adventure

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
John and Amber
Hammond, Indiana
Aug 21, 2012

Great place!

Staff was amazing, place was beautiful. We went with a group of people and everyone loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk is renovated and the sand sculptures are impressive.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
SRJ4
San Clemente
Sep 18, 2013

Nice Place

We booked 1BR suite for a last minute trip. When we arrived the next day, they could not locate the reservation, so there was some waiting around, and several phone calls but reservation office was closed. Despite not being able to locate the reservation, they checked us in, but room was not ready at 5:00. Eventually they led us to our room. It was HUGE! Great view too. The room was top notch and the grounds were impeccable. My only other complaint was having to wear a silly fabric bracelet the whole stay. We weren't even on the all-inclusive plan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top