$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Best 5 days ever!

These were the best 5 days I have spend in any hotel. I loved it! The hotel was beautiful and the... See full review

  • The Ruiz Family Vacation
  • Jul 31, 2014
N/A

The hotel provides excellent services, great rooms, swimming pools, and staff. See full review

  • Polo the Great
  • Jun 17, 2014
Well-equipped Puerto Vallarta seafront resort with spa and free Wi-Fi

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa welcomes travellers to a stylish foreshore-set resort that offers plush spaces and recreation facilities set in the scenic tourist destination in Mexico. This Puerto Vallarta retreat features an infinity pool, heated children's pool and an adults-only heated pool. Guests have pampering treatments at Zen Set Spa (fees apply), hang out at the solarium Jacuzzi area, play a few rounds at tennis courts and work out at the fitness center on site. This posh property offers free parking, 24-hour butler service, complimentary Wi-Fi access and kid's club with video games area, restaurant, mini golf and playground.

 

Diners enjoy dining at Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano, have light fares at the La Canela Deli and unwind at Sunset Bar and Aqua Bar.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Child-friendly facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi and parking
  • Spa, pools, solarium with Jacuzzi and fitness centre on site
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa provides tasteful rooms and suites that come with 32-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, hairdryer, iron/board, en suite marble bathroom and private terrace. Room service and accessible units are available. All units offer soothing ocean views. Select units have full kitchen, dining table for four people and in-room Jacuzzi.

Things To Do
  • Plaza de Armas (1.0 km/0.6 mi)
  • Augustin Flores Contreras Municipal Sports Stadium (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (1.5 km/0.9 mi)
  • The Malecon (2.3 km/1.4 mi)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (3.5 km/2.1 km)
  • Casa Museo Manuel Lepe (3.7 km/2.2 mi)
  • Playa Conchas Chinas (5.4 km/3.3 mi)
  • Paradise Village Contry Club (8.7 km/5.4 mi)
  • Puerto Vallarta Zoo (13.0 km/8.0 mi)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (20.0 km/12.4 mi)

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greghhh
St Paul, MN
Jan 30, 2013

I travel a lot and.....

I have traveled a lot in my life. This was my 4th time to Puerto Vallarta. I must say that I was more than surprised at this hotel. We were met by the manager upon our arrival, things were explain well and in english too which was quite good, the rooms were clean and everything was nice. Staff was more than helpful as well. One big point I would like to say which had turned me off of Mexico in the past was all the push for you to buy those time shares. I actually avoided going to Mexico because of that reason actually. This time, for the 7 days I was there, not once did someone approach me or even talk about time shares. It is apparent that it had affected tourism there as the American tourism fell off for quite a while as some of the locals told me. It appears they are trying to win people back now. The time we had there was absolutely fantastic and we will be going back there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the eating places off the beaten path. If you go downtown into Puerto Vallarta, all the places are good to eat, but if you go into one of the side streets, the places have excellent food and are cheaper.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I was in PV
Edmonton, Alberta
Feb 12, 2013

Best Hotel I have stayed at

Staff was so helpful, the atmosphere was gorgeous, the rooms(1 bedroom suite) are huge and clean with 2 full bathrooms. We opted out of all inclusive, because we wanted to eat out. We ate some breakfasts and lunchs at the hotel, and the food was very good. The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. There were children at the hotel, but we didn't notice. I would definitely recommend for families too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperChillGuy
Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

If this is an option for you, jump at the chance to spend your holiday here!

What a wonderful trip! From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the staff. Our room was immaculate with an extraordinary view. The kitchenette in our suite was well supplied. I did nor encounter a single staff member who was sub-par -- everyone from the housekeeping team to the butlers to the wait staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. We opted to go with the European Plan (not all-inclusive) since we don't drink and wanted to try different restaurants in the area. It was the way to go for us. The first meal we had once we arrived was dinner by the pool. Unfortunately, it was the worst meal we had in PVR. The final night we ate there as well and it was better this time, although the menu was quite limited and I can't imagine having eaten there for the entire trip. This hotel is in the 'Hotel Zone' -- which we found far more preferable than the Old Town area, which is dirtier, less intimate and had many, many more street sellers and locals asking for money. We had one meal in the Old Town and we couldn't return to our hotel fast enough. I would return without hesitation to Sunset Plaza -- it was an exceptional trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdean
iowa
Mar 21, 2013

Going to Relax

If you are going to relax this is a great place and you're still close enough to town if you want some night life. Staff was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ngoc Lan
San Francisco
Apr 29, 2013

AMAZING!!!

What you see on the picture is what it really is. I was blown away by the resort and the especially the wait staff. They are AMAZING!!! They go above and beyond for you. I wasn't sure what the butler was suppose to do for you but he didn't do much for us. Everywhere is spotless. I can't hardly wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get it an all inclusive. You can eat and drink all you want.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl530
San Diego
Jun 18, 2013

Great Vacation

Had an awesome stay at Sunset, the staff was attentive and the hotel room view was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Most tours are a short drive from the hotel.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzy8616
Chicago
Jul 21, 2013

Amazing family reunion

Where do I begin? My family and I were there from July 16th to July 20th and our time there was unforgettable! From the staff to the cleanliness of our room and to the exquisite meals and activities they had at the resort, just remarkable! I am definitely going back to this resort soon, never have I encountered so many friendly people and such a great time all in one... We were greeted with champagne and orange juice and just lovely smiles everywhere, what more can you ask for? I've have stayed at several resorts in Puerto Vallarta and none of them compare to Sunset! The only problem I had was with a subcontractor who offered scuba diving sessions (long story) but ill have to say is that the management interfered immediately and took matters into their own hands which was something I didn't expect since subcontractors operate under their own management... I will be going back in September and if your looking for relaxation at its finest you need Sunset :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Vallarta adventure

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCROO
Lisle IL
Sep 28, 2013

Excellent Resort

The Sunset Plaza is beautifully furnished and very clean. The covered terrace on each of the rooms is the best place to watch sunset. The staff exceeded my expectations in hospitality. The pool and spa are wonderful getaways. The location is even within walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Great value and a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrino
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2013

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER

We were there in Jan 1013 Serpt 2013 Going back in Dec 2013 I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis Restaurant Great Mexican Food

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hardcore Hotel Reviewer
Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2014

Best View

Hotel is very nice...only 120 rooms or so and all have big balcony with ocean view. If you have the suite you get a full kitchen, two bathrooms, jacuzzi, plus an over 300 square feet balcony with an ocean front view and great view of the sunset...service at hotel is good...nice pools, 2 mils from malecon and romantic zone basically 60-100 peso cab ride depending if go to malecon (60 peso) or 80-100 peso for romantic zone. Also can take bus easily and safely there for 7.5 pesos as well and buses leaving on block outside hotel ever 5 minutes or less....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search