$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Best 5 days ever!

These were the best 5 days I have spend in any hotel. I loved it! The hotel was beautiful and the... See full review

  • The Ruiz Family Vacation
  • Jul 31, 2014
N/A

The hotel provides excellent services, great rooms, swimming pools, and staff. See full review

  • Polo the Great
  • Jun 17, 2014
Well-equipped Puerto Vallarta seafront resort with spa and free Wi-Fi

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa welcomes travellers to a stylish foreshore-set resort that offers plush spaces and recreation facilities set in the scenic tourist destination in Mexico. This Puerto Vallarta retreat features an infinity pool, heated children's pool and an adults-only heated pool. Guests have pampering treatments at Zen Set Spa (fees apply), hang out at the solarium Jacuzzi area, play a few rounds at tennis courts and work out at the fitness center on site. This posh property offers free parking, 24-hour butler service, complimentary Wi-Fi access and kid's club with video games area, restaurant, mini golf and playground.

 

Diners enjoy dining at Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano, have light fares at the La Canela Deli and unwind at Sunset Bar and Aqua Bar.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Child-friendly facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi and parking
  • Spa, pools, solarium with Jacuzzi and fitness centre on site
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa provides tasteful rooms and suites that come with 32-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, hairdryer, iron/board, en suite marble bathroom and private terrace. Room service and accessible units are available. All units offer soothing ocean views. Select units have full kitchen, dining table for four people and in-room Jacuzzi.

Things To Do
  • Plaza de Armas (1.0 km/0.6 mi)
  • Augustin Flores Contreras Municipal Sports Stadium (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (1.5 km/0.9 mi)
  • The Malecon (2.3 km/1.4 mi)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (3.5 km/2.1 km)
  • Casa Museo Manuel Lepe (3.7 km/2.2 mi)
  • Playa Conchas Chinas (5.4 km/3.3 mi)
  • Paradise Village Contry Club (8.7 km/5.4 mi)
  • Puerto Vallarta Zoo (13.0 km/8.0 mi)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (20.0 km/12.4 mi)

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rouzic
Spokane, WA
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Acommodation!

Everything was absolutely perfect. Could not be any better. We'll be definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
warren and bea
columbus, ohio
Feb 17, 2014

Fantastic getaway with friends.

Our stay was just about perfect in every way. We were able to spend some very special time with close friends who live far from us. We met at The Sunset Plaza Beach Resort for a wonderful week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Trio Restaurant, Guerrero 264, Puarto Vallarta, and their sister Bistro restaurant right on the bay, were excellent and resaonably priced.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skelly3055
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2014

Amazing views and great staff.

short cab ride from the airport and was greeted by Javier the hotel Mgr. at the entrance of the hotel. Check-in was great, we overheard guest reluctant to leave and requested late check-out, therefore our check-in was not ready immediately. We could not fault the hotel. All rooms of this hotel face the beach and the water temp and pressure in our shower are great even for our high floors. Food is really good with no buffet lines, very personable and attentive staff in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaBella4992
Minneapolis,MN
Apr 10, 2014

Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown and beautiful suites are worth the extra money...huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown PV great place to check out...lots great restaurants and shopping

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona 105
Seattle, Washington
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Family Spring Break Getaway

I stayed at Sunset Plaza for eight days with my 8 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We all had a wonderful time and were very sad when we had to leave. The hotel was impeccably clean, the staff members were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and beautifully plated, the swimming pools were clean and the water was nicely warm. This is a smaller resort, so we didn't get the feeling of overcrowding that you sometimes get with big resorts. The hotel has an amazing kid's club where my children loved going (they usually avoid this clubs). Gloria, one of the attendants, has a wonderful imagination and did all kinds of art crafts with the children. The three of us felt very pampered during our stay at Sunset Plaza and wished we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a big shopping mall just a couple of blocks from the hotel, and there are plenty of smaller shops right next to it.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella Lavina
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Back for second time

Great food, staff very helpful and friendly, 1 bedroom suite was out of this world! Marble, clean, granite counters in small kitchen. Would recommend. Location is super, 10 min cab ride.. Well be back and great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

$6-7 cab ride to downtown PV

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrino
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Great Trip

2nd time at this hotel april 2011 jan 2012 We are planning to go back next april I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob P.
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Superb resort experience

From the minute we arrived at Sunset Plaza to the day we left, we had a fantastic time. The suite was amazing, with a glorious ocean view and crashing waves you could hear all night from the 11th floor. The staff was incredibly helpful (with the exception of a persuasive timeshare/points sales attempt), the food and drinks were excellent (an a la carte menu that changed every other day) and the other guests were very friendly. The spa seemed over-priced and the Italian restaurant (as remarked upon in other reviews) didn't have very good food -- burnt bread, salty pesto sauce, bland pasta dishes -- but those were the only downsides to a wonderfully relaxing vacation. If you can get a good deal on the all-inclusive and upgrade to a suite, this is a place that is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Amber
Hammond, Indiana
Aug 21, 2012

Great place!

Staff was amazing, place was beautiful. We went with a group of people and everyone loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk is renovated and the sand sculptures are impressive.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
albersweb
San Francisco, California
Dec 19, 2012

Great, new, hotel

We were here for a week. A great value. The hotel was just amazing, we booked a suite with breakfast as we did not want a full meal service resort. The hotel was amazing, people were friendly, the place was immaculately clean, the service great. Only problem was the noise from the resort next door. A lot of evenings it sounded like spring break in the middle of December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurants in town, however the Hotel provided great food also.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search