$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
56 reviews
N/A

The hotel provides excellent services, great rooms, swimming pools, and staff. See full review

  • Polo the Great
  • Jun 17, 2014
Best View

Hotel is very nice...only 120 rooms or so and all have big balcony with ocean view. If you have the... See full review

  • Hardcore Hotel Reviewer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Well-equipped Puerto Vallarta seafront resort with spa and free Wi-Fi

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa welcomes travellers to a stylish foreshore-set resort that offers plush spaces and recreation facilities set in the scenic tourist destination in Mexico. This Puerto Vallarta retreat features an infinity pool, heated children's pool and an adults-only heated pool. Guests have pampering treatments at Zen Set Spa (fees apply), hang out at the solarium Jacuzzi area, play a few rounds at tennis courts and work out at the fitness center on site. This posh property offers free parking, 24-hour butler service, complimentary Wi-Fi access and kid's club with video games area, restaurant, mini golf and playground.

 

Diners enjoy dining at Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano, have light fares at the La Canela Deli and unwind at Sunset Bar and Aqua Bar.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Child-friendly facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi and parking
  • Spa, pools, solarium with Jacuzzi and fitness centre on site
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa provides tasteful rooms and suites that come with 32-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, hairdryer, iron/board, en suite marble bathroom and private terrace. Room service and accessible units are available. All units offer soothing ocean views. Select units have full kitchen, dining table for four people and in-room Jacuzzi.

Things To Do
  • Plaza de Armas (1.0 km/0.6 mi)
  • Augustin Flores Contreras Municipal Sports Stadium (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (1.5 km/0.9 mi)
  • The Malecon (2.3 km/1.4 mi)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (3.5 km/2.1 km)
  • Casa Museo Manuel Lepe (3.7 km/2.2 mi)
  • Playa Conchas Chinas (5.4 km/3.3 mi)
  • Paradise Village Contry Club (8.7 km/5.4 mi)
  • Puerto Vallarta Zoo (13.0 km/8.0 mi)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (20.0 km/12.4 mi)

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Amber
Hammond, Indiana
Aug 21, 2012

Great place!

Staff was amazing, place was beautiful. We went with a group of people and everyone loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The boardwalk is renovated and the sand sculptures are impressive.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCROO
Lisle IL
Sep 28, 2013

Excellent Resort

The Sunset Plaza is beautifully furnished and very clean. The covered terrace on each of the rooms is the best place to watch sunset. The staff exceeded my expectations in hospitality. The pool and spa are wonderful getaways. The location is even within walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Great value and a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperChillGuy
Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

If this is an option for you, jump at the chance to spend your holiday here!

What a wonderful trip! From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the staff. Our room was immaculate with an extraordinary view. The kitchenette in our suite was well supplied. I did nor encounter a single staff member who was sub-par -- everyone from the housekeeping team to the butlers to the wait staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. We opted to go with the European Plan (not all-inclusive) since we don't drink and wanted to try different restaurants in the area. It was the way to go for us. The first meal we had once we arrived was dinner by the pool. Unfortunately, it was the worst meal we had in PVR. The final night we ate there as well and it was better this time, although the menu was quite limited and I can't imagine having eaten there for the entire trip. This hotel is in the 'Hotel Zone' -- which we found far more preferable than the Old Town area, which is dirtier, less intimate and had many, many more street sellers and locals asking for money. We had one meal in the Old Town and we couldn't return to our hotel fast enough. I would return without hesitation to Sunset Plaza -- it was an exceptional trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rouzic
Spokane, WA
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Acommodation!

Everything was absolutely perfect. Could not be any better. We'll be definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
oakland, ca
Aug 1, 2011

great resort!

Great experience. The hotel staff were excellent, attentive, and very friendly. We stayed three nights with our two kids, 2 and 5. The kids pool is a bit small, but fun. The main pool is very nice with a swim up bar. They have a "kids zone" which we did not use, but looked entertaining. I believe its reserved for the "all inclusive package". We ordered room service once, which was excellent. There are two restaurants in the hotel, but we only ate breakfast, not much of a selection. The other restaurant is a bit more fancy. Overall, i was very satisfied with the service and cleanliness of the resort. I would definately come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
oakland, ca
Aug 1, 2011

great resort!

Great experience. The hotel staff were excellent, attentive, and very friendly. We stayed three nights with our two kids, 2 and 5. The kids pool is a bit small, but fun. The main pool is very nice with a swim up bar. They have a "kids zone" which we did not use, but looked entertaining. I believe its reserved for the "all inclusive package". We ordered room service once, which was excellent. There are two restaurants in the hotel, but we only ate breakfast, not much of a selection. The other restaurant is a bit more fancy. Overall, i was very satisfied with the service and cleanliness of the resort. I would definately come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skelly3055
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2014

Amazing views and great staff.

short cab ride from the airport and was greeted by Javier the hotel Mgr. at the entrance of the hotel. Check-in was great, we overheard guest reluctant to leave and requested late check-out, therefore our check-in was not ready immediately. We could not fault the hotel. All rooms of this hotel face the beach and the water temp and pressure in our shower are great even for our high floors. Food is really good with no buffet lines, very personable and attentive staff in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hardcore Hotel Reviewer
Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2014

Best View

Hotel is very nice...only 120 rooms or so and all have big balcony with ocean view. If you have the suite you get a full kitchen, two bathrooms, jacuzzi, plus an over 300 square feet balcony with an ocean front view and great view of the sunset...service at hotel is good...nice pools, 2 mils from malecon and romantic zone basically 60-100 peso cab ride depending if go to malecon (60 peso) or 80-100 peso for romantic zone. Also can take bus easily and safely there for 7.5 pesos as well and buses leaving on block outside hotel ever 5 minutes or less....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polo the Great
Danville, VA
Jun 17, 2014

N/A

The hotel provides excellent services, great rooms, swimming pools, and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken joint

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona 105
Seattle, Washington
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Family Spring Break Getaway

I stayed at Sunset Plaza for eight days with my 8 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We all had a wonderful time and were very sad when we had to leave. The hotel was impeccably clean, the staff members were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and beautifully plated, the swimming pools were clean and the water was nicely warm. This is a smaller resort, so we didn't get the feeling of overcrowding that you sometimes get with big resorts. The hotel has an amazing kid's club where my children loved going (they usually avoid this clubs). Gloria, one of the attendants, has a wonderful imagination and did all kinds of art crafts with the children. The three of us felt very pampered during our stay at Sunset Plaza and wished we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a big shopping mall just a couple of blocks from the hotel, and there are plenty of smaller shops right next to it.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Padrino
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2013

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER

We were there in Jan 1013 Serpt 2013 Going back in Dec 2013 I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis Restaurant Great Mexican Food

Back to menu Return to top