$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
58 reviews
2014 lovely vacation

A lady friend and I stayed at the Sunset for two weeks and had an excellent experience. The hotel... See full review

  • Myra of Texas
  • Oct 30, 2014
SunSet Plaza Beach Resort

The Sunset Beach Resort is our favorit place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. The staff are very good... See full review

  • Tammyt65
  • Sep 28, 2014
Well-equipped Puerto Vallarta seafront resort with spa and free Wi-Fi

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa welcomes travellers to a stylish foreshore-set resort that offers plush spaces and recreation facilities set in the scenic tourist destination in Mexico. This Puerto Vallarta retreat features an infinity pool, heated children's pool and an adults-only heated pool. Guests have pampering treatments at Zen Set Spa (fees apply), hang out at the solarium Jacuzzi area, play a few rounds at tennis courts and work out at the fitness center on site. This posh property offers free parking, 24-hour butler service, complimentary Wi-Fi access and kid's club with video games area, restaurant, mini golf and playground.

 

Diners enjoy dining at Mirador Bistro and Grill and Lucciano, have light fares at the La Canela Deli and unwind at Sunset Bar and Aqua Bar.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Child-friendly facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi and parking
  • Spa, pools, solarium with Jacuzzi and fitness centre on site
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa provides tasteful rooms and suites that come with 32-inch flat-screen TV, iPod docking station, hairdryer, iron/board, en suite marble bathroom and private terrace. Room service and accessible units are available. All units offer soothing ocean views. Select units have full kitchen, dining table for four people and in-room Jacuzzi.

Things To Do
  • Plaza de Armas (1.0 km/0.6 mi)
  • Augustin Flores Contreras Municipal Sports Stadium (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Vista Vallarta Golf Club (1.5 km/0.9 mi)
  • The Malecon (2.3 km/1.4 mi)
  • Genius of Paco Gallery and Museum (3.5 km/2.1 km)
  • Casa Museo Manuel Lepe (3.7 km/2.2 mi)
  • Playa Conchas Chinas (5.4 km/3.3 mi)
  • Paradise Village Contry Club (8.7 km/5.4 mi)
  • Puerto Vallarta Zoo (13.0 km/8.0 mi)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (20.0 km/12.4 mi)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Myra of Texas
Business
Houston, tx
Oct 30, 2014

2014 lovely vacation

A lady friend and I stayed at the Sunset for two weeks and had an excellent experience. The hotel is right on the beach with 3 good restaurants, very clean and large suites fully furnished. An adult pool and separate area is nice but they also have lots for kids. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is in the best and most convenient area. We have stayed in this area for many years before this lovely NEW hotel was completed, but this was our second year to enjoy the luxury here at a very reasonable price. Elizabeth

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Les Polomar de Los Gongalzes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammyt65
Business
Salem, Oregon
Sep 28, 2014

SunSet Plaza Beach Resort

The Sunset Beach Resort is our favorit place to stay in Puerto Vallarta. The staff are very good and will make sure you have everything you need and want. The Food is very good and fresh. They have enough pools for everyone, one that is quite and very peacefully with cabanas. Another pool with the swim up bar it's more of the party pool. This resort has a few jetted small round pools that are jetted one of the is a heated hot tub with beautiful view. Staying at Sunset will be the place we will stay when visiting puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kayaking kirk
Business
erie, pa.
Sep 15, 2014

great hotel

The hotel was all ocean views.Higher the better.One bedroom was extra large with two bathrooms jacuzzi extra large balcony with 2 recliners and table & 4 chairs.Two sinks in 1 bedroom.Free wyfi & free use of computers. Were in room 1116 and it was perfect.Maid did ex job.No one there Labor day weekend. Would definetly go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy lobster

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ruiz Family Vacation
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 31, 2014

Best 5 days ever!

These were the best 5 days I have spend in any hotel. I loved it! The hotel was beautiful and the staff & service was excellent. I will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Brandt
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 21, 2014

Couple Getaway

The hotel accommodations were better than expected. Separate bedroom from kitchen and living area, 2 bathrooms, not to mention that the patio was private with a gorgeous view of the beach. Butler service was available 24 hrs and the staff was more than helpful to assist with recommendations, directions, taxi service, or anything else that was needed. The food onsite was good; we did not get the all-inclusive plan because we like the flexibility to explore. We ate at an offsite restaurant called the El Guacamole, which was recommended by the butler. We were skeptical since we were the only patrons there, but we pleasantly surprised with the food and service, excelente! Also recommended is the activities of Marietas Islands and Rhythms of the Night. We had a fabulous time and look forward to visiting Puerto Vallarta again :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Guacamole-Comida y Servicio esta excelente!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsMJ
Business
San Francisco
Jun 17, 2014

Great for Couples

Hotel was awesome, pretty swanky, loved the pool, room and lobby staff. The restaurants are not that great: food or service. We opted not to do the "all inclusive" because we would not be at the hotel long enough to enjoy it. The hotel is far away from the tourist spots to feel like your away from it all. Downtown, Marina, airport and old PV are 15 - 20 mins away and taxi's are very easy to get by the bell staff. There were four of us, room with suite and connecting room. The suite was awesome and a great space for the group to decompress from all the fun in the sun and night time activities. The suite had a full kitchen, couch,table and chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

cabs from hotel to marina = $50 -60 pesos, downtown $70-90 pesos, old PV $100-120 pesos. From the airport your gonna get rip off and pay $400-450, but hotel to airport should only be $200 ( in a van bc we had alot of luggage)- always get car and not van, van's always hike up the prices...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polo the Great
Business
Danville, VA
Jun 17, 2014

N/A

The hotel provides excellent services, great rooms, swimming pools, and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken joint

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hardcore Hotel Reviewer
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2014

Best View

Hotel is very nice...only 120 rooms or so and all have big balcony with ocean view. If you have the suite you get a full kitchen, two bathrooms, jacuzzi, plus an over 300 square feet balcony with an ocean front view and great view of the sunset...service at hotel is good...nice pools, 2 mils from malecon and romantic zone basically 60-100 peso cab ride depending if go to malecon (60 peso) or 80-100 peso for romantic zone. Also can take bus easily and safely there for 7.5 pesos as well and buses leaving on block outside hotel ever 5 minutes or less....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona 105
Business
Seattle, Washington
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Family Spring Break Getaway

I stayed at Sunset Plaza for eight days with my 8 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We all had a wonderful time and were very sad when we had to leave. The hotel was impeccably clean, the staff members were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and beautifully plated, the swimming pools were clean and the water was nicely warm. This is a smaller resort, so we didn't get the feeling of overcrowding that you sometimes get with big resorts. The hotel has an amazing kid's club where my children loved going (they usually avoid this clubs). Gloria, one of the attendants, has a wonderful imagination and did all kinds of art crafts with the children. The three of us felt very pampered during our stay at Sunset Plaza and wished we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a big shopping mall just a couple of blocks from the hotel, and there are plenty of smaller shops right next to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnaBella4992
Business
Minneapolis,MN
Apr 10, 2014

Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown and beautiful suites are worth the extra money...huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown PV great place to check out...lots great restaurants and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top