$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
Diego Rivera 121 Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Zona Norte, Puerto Vallarta, 48330
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Amazing Family Spring Break Getaway

I stayed at Sunset Plaza for eight days with my 8 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We all had... See full review

  • Simona 105
  • Apr 16, 2014
Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown... See full review

  • AnnaBella4992
  • Apr 10, 2014
SO CLOSE, SO COMFORTABLE.
Sufficiently close to everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer in order for you to enjoy a full experience, but far enough to preserve tranquility. Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa is located in the best area, four kilometers from the airport and a short distance from downtown Puerto Vallarta, a few steps from the most important commercial centers and Marina Vallarta. They are close to everything and getting around is a cinch.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallartas hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.106 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces divided into eight different categories, Deluxe Room, Lanai Deluxe Rooms, One Bedroom Suite, Fitness one bedroom suite, Spa One Bedroom Suite, Master Suite, Family Master Suite & Plaza Luxury Suite Penthouse with full kitchen
SWEET DREAMS
At Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, sleeping like an angel is a priority. They have designed a special mattress with a natural fiber base for a restful experience. A pillow menu is available to serve even the most sophisticated preferences.
INFINITELY PLEASING
The sunset, its colors and all the magic of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa stretches to infinity. Not only because of the propertys has design that always allowed for an unrestricted ocean view but also for the quality of its services.
INFINITELY FAMILY ORIENTED
A pool for the family and an activity program that insures everyone has fun. A Kids Club from which the little ones will never want to leave gives the adults the opportunity for an enjoyable stay as well. Hotel has facilities like Reception, Lobby,Banquet facilities and Dry cleaning.

For Room Service is 10usd extra charge as a service fee, even if it is an All Inclusive package

Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Deluxe Room
Ocean Front View, this comfortable room offers 2 queen size beds and full bathroom, Terrace with room service table., Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.
One Bedroom Suite
This Ocean Front View Suite offers one king size bed and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. Living room with queen size sofa-bed, dining room up to 4 people, kitchenette with granite counter. Terrace with sun beds and room service table. Upscale amenities, WI FI Internet Free in all the suites and areas of the hotel, Smoke detector and sprinklers, sophisticated security camera system, advanced approximate door locks RFID, Avaya Telephones-internet connectivity, IPod port with alarm clock, 32" LCD screen with DVD player and safety box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.6351 -105.2334
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International airport.
Area description
Only 4 km from the international airport Gustavo Diaz Ordaz.
1.5 km to downtown.3 km to Marina Vallarta.

Dining

Mirador Bistro Grill
Hotel's specialty restaurant where you can find a wide variety of dishes from international cuisine to the most succulent seafood. We look forward in schedules for breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte service, giving a better option.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner & snack. Open From 7:00 am to 11:00 pm
La Trattoria di Luciano
Hotel's gourmet a la carte restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. You will find an exquisite range of 100% Italian dishes as well as a variety of table wines, which enjoy an unforgettable evening in the company of his family.
We are open 18hrs. To 23hrs.
Reservations required.Formal dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
JCROO
Lisle IL
Sep 28, 2013

Excellent Resort

The Sunset Plaza is beautifully furnished and very clean. The covered terrace on each of the rooms is the best place to watch sunset. The staff exceeded my expectations in hospitality. The pool and spa are wonderful getaways. The location is even within walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Great value and a wonderful place to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
SuperChillGuy
Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Mar 18, 2013

If this is an option for you, jump at the chance to spend your holiday here!

What a wonderful trip! From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of by the staff. Our room was immaculate with an extraordinary view. The kitchenette in our suite was well supplied. I did nor encounter a single staff member who was sub-par -- everyone from the housekeeping team to the butlers to the wait staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. We opted to go with the European Plan (not all-inclusive) since we don't drink and wanted to try different restaurants in the area. It was the way to go for us. The first meal we had once we arrived was dinner by the pool. Unfortunately, it was the worst meal we had in PVR. The final night we ate there as well and it was better this time, although the menu was quite limited and I can't imagine having eaten there for the entire trip. This hotel is in the 'Hotel Zone' -- which we found far more preferable than the Old Town area, which is dirtier, less intimate and had many, many more street sellers and locals asking for money. We had one meal in the Old Town and we couldn't return to our hotel fast enough. I would return without hesitation to Sunset Plaza -- it was an exceptional trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Rouzic
Spokane, WA
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Acommodation!

Everything was absolutely perfect. Could not be any better. We'll be definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
oakland, ca
Aug 1, 2011

great resort!

Great experience. The hotel staff were excellent, attentive, and very friendly. We stayed three nights with our two kids, 2 and 5. The kids pool is a bit small, but fun. The main pool is very nice with a swim up bar. They have a "kids zone" which we did not use, but looked entertaining. I believe its reserved for the "all inclusive package". We ordered room service once, which was excellent. There are two restaurants in the hotel, but we only ate breakfast, not much of a selection. The other restaurant is a bit more fancy. Overall, i was very satisfied with the service and cleanliness of the resort. I would definately come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Skelly3055
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2014

Amazing views and great staff.

short cab ride from the airport and was greeted by Javier the hotel Mgr. at the entrance of the hotel. Check-in was great, we overheard guest reluctant to leave and requested late check-out, therefore our check-in was not ready immediately. We could not fault the hotel. All rooms of this hotel face the beach and the water temp and pressure in our shower are great even for our high floors. Food is really good with no buffet lines, very personable and attentive staff in all areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Simona 105
Seattle, Washington
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Family Spring Break Getaway

I stayed at Sunset Plaza for eight days with my 8 year old son and 11 year old daughter. We all had a wonderful time and were very sad when we had to leave. The hotel was impeccably clean, the staff members were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and beautifully plated, the swimming pools were clean and the water was nicely warm. This is a smaller resort, so we didn't get the feeling of overcrowding that you sometimes get with big resorts. The hotel has an amazing kid's club where my children loved going (they usually avoid this clubs). Gloria, one of the attendants, has a wonderful imagination and did all kinds of art crafts with the children. The three of us felt very pampered during our stay at Sunset Plaza and wished we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a big shopping mall just a couple of blocks from the hotel, and there are plenty of smaller shops right next to it.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Padrino
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2013

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER

We were there in Jan 1013 Serpt 2013 Going back in Dec 2013 I think that says it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pipis Restaurant Great Mexican Food

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
albersweb
San Francisco, California
Dec 19, 2012

Great, new, hotel

We were here for a week. A great value. The hotel was just amazing, we booked a suite with breakfast as we did not want a full meal service resort. The hotel was amazing, people were friendly, the place was immaculately clean, the service great. Only problem was the noise from the resort next door. A lot of evenings it sounded like spring break in the middle of December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurants in town, however the Hotel provided great food also.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Ngoc Lan
San Francisco
Apr 29, 2013

AMAZING!!!

What you see on the picture is what it really is. I was blown away by the resort and the especially the wait staff. They are AMAZING!!! They go above and beyond for you. I wasn't sure what the butler was suppose to do for you but he didn't do much for us. Everywhere is spotless. I can't hardly wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get it an all inclusive. You can eat and drink all you want.

Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
AnnaBella4992
Minneapolis,MN
Apr 10, 2014

Birthday get together

our third time staying at this hotel and we love it...great food, great close location to downtown and beautiful suites are worth the extra money...huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown PV great place to check out...lots great restaurants and shopping

Back to menu Return to top