$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, MX 48330, Puerto Vallarta, 48330

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
218 reviews
Excellent adventure

We were so pleased that the hotel gladly changed our room from a beautiful room with a great view... See full review

  • Larry W.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta

From the time you walk in until the time you leave the staff treats you wonderfully. It's about a... See full review

  • Mikezccgg
  • Aug 2, 2014
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center aims for high style and Mexican flavor in the heart of Banderas Bay. A weekly fiesta and champagne brunch -- complete with Mariachi band -- sets the mood for the ultimate tropical vacation. Business travelers can manage both work and leisure in the ample meeting space, business center and Wi-Fi-equipped rooms. Terraces look out to the glorious water or lush gardens surrounding the property. Two swim-up bars complete the allure.
Dining
Diners enjoy a variety of choices at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, from bistro and outdoor dining at Gaviotas to regional Mexican specialities at oceanview palapa La Villita. Guests can also eat in their swimsuits at La Pergola, the poolside snack bar, after enjoying cocktails at the swim-up bar.
Rooms
Sliding glass windows frame breathtaking ocean views in the 475 rooms at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, where tropical charm meets modern style. Guests sleep atop Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds with red comforters. The first four floors beckon with terraces for enjoying the ocean locale, while garden view rooms invite visitors to take in the surrounding flora and fauna. All rooms are equipped with high-speed Internet, central air-conditioning, cable TV and a table and chairs.
Property features
Active travelers can stick to their workout regimen at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. Work up a sweat on cardio and weight machines in the gym, play volleyball or book a spa service.
Highlights
  • Two swim-up bars
  • Weekly Mexican fiesta and champagne brunch
  • Ocean-facing terraces or garden views
  • Spa and fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • More than 16,00 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (6.4 mi/10.4 km)
Entertainment
A live mariachi band enlivens the scene every Sunday when guests gather for the champagne brunch at La Villita restaurant. The hotel also hosts a Mexican fiesta on Thursday nights. The mood is shared in the lobby bar, also a hub for live music and cocktails.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View
Located at medium to high floors. Floor to ceiling ocean view rooms, with 435 sq ft. Suitable for friends, couples & families to enjoy a delightful view or just the best location in downtown. Featuring 32" flat screen TV with cable channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail, A/C with individual control, coffeemaker, hair dryer, vanity mirror, bathroom with shower, in-room safety box, alarm clock, iron & board, daily maid service and 24 hours room service, also featured with our signatured Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed in one king size or two double bedding.
Grand Deluxe Ocean View
With higher and extensive full bay view to both cabo corrientes and punta mita tips, from atop, Perfect for honeymooners and day dreamers. Featuring A/C with individual control, coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, in-room safety box, alarm clock, hair dryer, vanity mirror, daily maid service, 32" flat screen TV with cable channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail, 24 hrs. Room Service, bathroom with shower, signature bath amenities including robes and slippers, in our signatured Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed in one king size or two double bedding
Ocean Front Terrace
Oversized terraced rooms situated between the second and fourth floor with spectacular low rise views both overlooking the pool and the ocean surrounded by palm tree gardens. Relax, sunbathe and have breakfast in your own spacious private terrace with 600 sq ft. Couples and honeymooners can make their perfect nest in this spot. It is featured with a king or two double Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds coffeemaker, iron & board, in-room safety box, alarm clock, 32" flat screen TV with cable channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail, hair dryer, vanity mirror, bathroom with shower, A/C with individual control, 24 hrs. room service.
Ocean Front Club Level
Adults Only, Top and unique Ocean Front room located in the highest floors, with breathtaking views to the pacific ocean and the mountains scenario. Only for discerning guest whom enjoy the splendid Club Level Butler Service. Featured 32" flat screen TV with cable channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail, coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, in-room safety box, alarm clock, hair dryer, vanity mirror, bathroom with shower, signature bath amenities including robes and sleepers, A/C with individual control, daily maid service, 24 hrs. Room Service, daily turn down service and Club Lounge benefits in 435 square feet. King size Sheraton Sweet Sleeper signature bed. No roll away beds are permitted. Club Lounge located on the 23rd level, Enjoy the best sunsets, wine and hors d'ouvres from 5:00 pm to 8:00 pm. and Personalized Butler service from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Garden View Room
Room located at the ground level with 435 square feet and direct access to lush gardens and public areas. Ideal for seniors or families with children, next to our oversized pool and outlet areas. Equipped with A/C with individual control, coffeemaker, iron & board, in-room safe, alarm clock, hair dryer, vanity mirror, bathroom with shower, 32" flat screen TV with cable channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail, daily maid services, 24 hours Room Service. One king size or two double beds in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed are also included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

LA VILLITA - INTERNATIONAL CUISINE
Breakfast Buffet or la carte, enjoy in a real Palapa restaurant. Overlooking Banderas Bay. Sunday champagne brunch; with live Mariachi and Marimba band music. From 9.00 a.m. to 3.00 p.m. Open daily from 7.00 a.m. to 11.00 p.m.
ALFRESCO - TRATTORIA
At Sheraton Buganvilias we offer the best of the Italian cuisine in our open air "pergola". Romantic atmosphere; located closed to the pool. Dress: Casual - Formal Open in season (Nov thru Apr) from 6.00 to 11.00 p.m.
GAVIOTAS MEXICAN CONTEMPORANY
Exclusive atmosphere & the excellent view of Banderas bay. Taste the best of the Mexican cuisine with our wine selection recommended by our Sommelier. For your comfort choose the inside air-conditioned or feel the breeze of the ocean view terrace. Dress code: casual-formal / children under 11 are not allowed. Open daily from 5.00 to 11.00 p.m. LA
LA PERGOLA
Pool and Snacks the Best Combination. Delight yourself with the best snacks with sea food specialties and Vallarta special. Located closed to the swimming pool. Open from 11.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.
EL EMBARCADERO
Tequila Lovers. A contemporary Mexican setting, ideal for an after dinner drink, this certified Tequila bar offers. Over 50 tequila brands and an exclusive wine selection and delight with great food and snacks. Dance and sing with our Karaoke. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 p.m. to 01.00 a.m.
LA PALAPA BAR
Enjoy the best tropical cocktails while you are in our swimming pool. Get your best suntan while you participate in our daily Activities program. Open Daily 10-19hrs.
LOBBY BAR
A great place to relax. Enjoy your favorite cocktail and the Best Spectacular Sunset. Live music and happy hour. Open daily from 5.00 to 11.00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center affords convenient and direct access to the Convention Center. Innovative architectural designs, meeting rooms and areas certain to enhance business encounters and promote successful results. Perfect dimensions, flexibility of arrangements, unobstructed open spaces - simple and versatile areas to meet your needs.
We offer 13,000 square feet of meeting space; capacity for up to 1,200 attendees and a total of 17 breakout rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeganJoy415
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Aug 29, 2012

Front Desk is TERRIBLE!!!

I had a vacation with 3 ladies ( 4 of us total). One of the ladies had to push her room reservation to a few days later last minute. We called to see if her reservation could be moved and if her friend could share a room with us until she got in a few days later. We all called both the Sheraton and our booking company and were assured that there would not be any extra fee's, just a regulatory change fee of 25$. When we arrived the front desk demanded we pay more for a 3rd guest. If we had been treated as welcomed guests and offered some sort of compensation when we arrived we might have actually enjoyed our stay. If you want a nice customer service experience DON"T STAY AT SHERATON BUGANVILLAS!!! Dear Guillermo, As a Starwood member I think the Sheraton is missing the point here. We were treated with disrespect from the second we walked into the hotel and spoke to the front desk. All 3 of us come from customer service and know that this is absolutely not the way to treat a guest. Both Andres Salazar and Hector Fragaso were terrible to us. We asked to speak to Andres' supervisor after being treated horribly for over an hour. Andres kept telling us that he is the manager, and he does have someone above him; but his boss would just tell us the same thing as what Andre's had been telling us and it would not do us any good. He at first told us there was no way to discount or offer us anything to help make up for the new price to be paid . It took the front desk supervisor over and hour and a half to finally get his boss and to finally offer some sort of compensation. We had to get online and call our booking company and contact the starwods customer service ourselves. This is a hospitilaty industry, the guest walking into the hotel should not have to deal with calling around to all of these places after spending hours on an airplane! This was a mistake made by the hotel and miscommunication from the hotel. This was in no way shape or form an issue created by us, the guests of the hotel. We were made to feel like we were being accused for the situation. We totally understand the issue with the 3rd guest but we were told that there would not be another fee. This was told to us by both our booking company and the hotel staff on 2 different occasions. If we were treated respectfully we would have not any any sort of issue to begin with. If we were at first treated graciously we would have willingly paid the full 35$ per night fee with out question. Sheraton has lost 3 future patrons. Expect to receive a lot of negative press from the 3 of us. Dear Sheraton Guest, Thank you for contacting Starwood Customer Services regarding your present stay at the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center. We have reviewed your case thoroughly, your room reservation and the confirmation you presented to the hotel was only for two people therefore a third person charge does apply in this case, as confirmed by our front desk staff if you have a writing confirmation from your booking company or the hotel that there is no charge for a third person we will be glad to honor it, front desk staff connected your call to your booking company who confirmed that the reservation was only for two people. As a gesture of good will Hector Fragoso our Front Desk manager offer you a discount from 35 USD to 20 USD plus taxes per night for the third person in your party. We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences this situation may cause you however we cannot waive the third person fee. Due to the fact the 3 people in your party will be enjoying all Club Level benefits and there is not any record of the confirmation either from your booking company or the Hotel, confirming that there will be no extra charge for the third person. Sincerely Guillermo Villalvazo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Xxta
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 22, 2013

Leaves much to be desired

This hotel is awful! Before I list everything that is wrong with this hotel, I will start by noting the few positive points: 1) the pool was actually very nice, although a "one towel only per person"policy is strictly enforced. Plenty of nice umbrellas, large 3-foot deep area great for children, swim-up bar, clean pool bathrooms. 2) great location on the beach, short cab ride into town center. 3) decent workout center. 4) attractive lobby area. The hotel was supposedly remodeled relatively recently, which apparently was limited to the pool and lobby areas, which are very nice. Nothing else about this hotel is nice. The rooms are very dated, no iPod docks, tiny bathroom with single sink, only one electrical outlet in bathroom and one outlet in bedroom, tiny counter space, combined bath/shower with plastic shower curtain with plastic rings (straight out of a travel trailer), drain attached by chain. The food was unedible. I wished we could have changed hotels instead of wasting our vacation at a sub par hotel. The one thing this hotel clearly has going for it is it's prime location. Beyond that, It doesn't offer anything that would make me stay there again or recommend this hotel to anyone else. I NEVER take the time to write reviews, but created an account just to get this review out there. The other reviews that give this hotel multiple stars are either planted by The company or by people who don't travel much and/or have low standards for food and accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DomiNicole
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 26, 2013

worst vacation

bad experience took so long for check in reservation not in the system then before you can go & relax to your room they let you go to the next counter to get a card for your outdoor towel then they will get you to attend timeshare meeting with them. food & mix drinks not good is not worth the all inclusive . wifi bad signal , timeshare agent annoying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 10, 2007

not a good place to stay

we were moved to 3 different rooms in 2 days. Our room got flooded by the rain. The staff was not very helpful when our room flooded. The breatfast buffet was good but the other restaurant was terrible and overpriced. The only good thing was the location of the hotel. It is just a short walk to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Pipis or the Barcelona.

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2008

HONEYMOON DISASTER

THE SHERATON BUGANVILIAS RESORT&CONVENTION CENTER WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE,THE ROOM DID'NT COME WITH A BATHTUB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
old mex
Business
mammoth lakes
Jun 30, 2009

no stars for u

I cant believe Sheraton puts there name on this place . Old structure,dirty. I could go on and on . I left two days early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach
Nov 30, 2008

untrained staff

When we got to the hotel after 7 hours of travel, the floor hadn't been washed in weeks it was so dirty our feet were black from the dirt. The last night we were there they had a private party going on until one in the morning, the noise level was so loud we couldn't sleep, when we called the front desk they said they couldn't do anything about it. We have made the decision never to go back to that hotel again. When we were there two years ago things were a lot better. Management told us they had dismissed all old employees because they weren't doing a good job, we feel that the new staff is ill trained to handle the jobs they are supposed to be doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2010

Worst Customer Service I've Ever Seen

Upon arriving to the hotel, my friends and I were told that we would have to pay a substantial fee per night to have a 3rd person in our 2 double bed room. The front desk was making comments in spanish about my friends and I - not expecting that I also spoke spanish and could understand what they were saying. I have never felt more disrespected or insecure of my personal well being than I did during those 2 hours it took for us to finally check in. Not only were the hotel staff unhelpful, they were rude and disrespectful. I will not be staying in another Sheraton hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 22, 2007

Somewhat close to Downtown

Sheraton in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, was a disappointing experience. There was no micorwave, no complimentary coffee, not even coffee filters If we wanted coffee, the employee informed us, we had to buy it at the supermarket OR we could get it out of the mini-bar in the room, but there would be a charge for it everytime we used anything out of the minibar, including the coffee. But there was no coffee in the minibar. We bought coffee cream and sugar at the market and were UNABLE to find filters to fit the coffee pot The hotel would not even provide complimentary filters We made rustic filters out of toilet tissue and face tissue. After using the home made, non-functioning filters, we got tired of the coffee issue, we got INSTANT COFFEE. The front door of our room looked like an old mistreated, beaten kitchen counter, from year 1959 The marble on the table, on the dresser and on the night stands is full of stains and spots The marble top does not meet the furniture on the corner/edge. There is some type of alarm-look-alike close to the ceiling, dangling from the corner The mini bar contents were barely cold, and they seem to be older than time The handles of the drawers of the dresser were painted to match the furniture When we turned the bathroom light on, the fan/extractor made a constant noise, so we did not turn the bathroom light on. They were repairing the hotel and there was hammering and construction noises all day long, off-and-on, until 7:00 pm. Some guests close to our room had a bunch of kids and we heard kids crying very often. Then the parents took the kids to the hall to play soccer/football. Guests with kids should be placed on specific floors, away from people without kids. Chairs at the restaurants and lobby bar are old and very uncomfortable. Food/drinks are good, but not large in quantity and overpriced. We ordered ice cream and a malt (Room Service) The malt was a very small glass. Ice cream bwas missing waffer/cookie on top. Wine/alcoholic drinks selections are also limited/over priced. Employees were nice A phone call within the hotel was charged We did not make the call, they credited our account Floors in the lobby, public areas and elevators are not shiny as in other hotels. There is a desk with employees trying to book tours, condominium/time share presentations, etc., at all times. Everyone is approached/harrassed, you have to be deaf and blind not to be bothered. The hotel has ice machines only every other floor. Personel and the service is good. Bed/pillows are comfortable. This is a old hotel. It is not of Sheraton's quality. It is overpriced. We were not happy and will not recommend it, unless some sort of compensation is given to us for another stay at another location, or a better room at same this same hotel in Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants serving good food. Mexican food and Seafood is very fresh and highly reccommended

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2009

NO!

If you are considering this hotel I would STRONGLY advise you to move on. It may look like a good deal, nice low price...move on...pay more if you have to. Our 2nd day here we were by the pool for a few hours had 3 small margaritas each, got violently ill, made it to our room and passed out about 5pm, woke up about 2am with little recollection of events. [...] No we did not drink too much and if we were sick from food then it was food from this hotel. It was a chemical sickness, not food sickness. I agree with all reviews that say food is mediocre at best. Redeeming quality is that the hotel is close enough to walk to town and eat there. The landscaping is gorgeous, the hotel should spend more time on the food and less on the plants! We locked up our room tight every night. Looking back we should have just come home. Very disappointed. I recommend DREAMS and Marriot Casamagna. Staff at Sheraton were almost always begrudgingly helpful and never seemed very happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do stay here, walk about a mile into town and eat or take a cab to the Marina Vallarta and eat at Tikul or any of the restaurants there, they are great. In town try Cafe Des Artists for an upscale tasting menu dinner or Palomar de Los Gonzales for amazing seafood with the best view. My favorite on the beach dining is La Palapa.

Back to menu Return to top