$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, MX 48330, Puerto Vallarta, 48330

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raven Craven
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2014

great getaway

The resort is in a great location -- far enough away from everything but within walking distance of the Malecon. The beach isn't great because it's rocky and hard to walk on in bare feet, but the pool area is terrific. Service poolside left something to be desired, but the waiters did bring free drinks a few times to make up for their lack of attentiveness/prompt service. The hotel restaurants were good and reasonably priced -- and the Club Level breakfast was just right for having enough to choose from to start your day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Vista Grill is a fantastic restaurant. Great view and wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shadowor
Business
Portland or
Mar 24, 2014

less than good

The Club Level room was barely adequate with two uncomfortable chairs at the glass top table. The beds were very comfortable, but to relax in the room required lying on the bed as there was no other place to relax. We ate at the hotel restaurants several times found the food to be minimally acceptable (or less), even though very high priced for Vallarta, To have a meal that was enjoyable, we had to leave the hotel and, as there are few restaurants available in the area, we had to taxi into the town center. There are some excellent restaurants in Vallarta, but no the Sheraton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Barracuda restaurant is a 15-20 min walk from the hotel and offers excellent seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EstanG
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 17, 2014

Good Vacation

This is the third time staying here and each year it has gotten better each year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cowboy Irma
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 13, 2014

I expected more

I thought the staff was friendly and helpful. I was disappointed in the room as soon as the door opened...it was clean, but musty smelling and seemed cold and damp and uninviting. I appreciated the two small bottles of complimentary water. The decor and fixtures are very out of date. The wifi was terrible and the cellular reception was poor as well. This made it difficult to stay in contact with my friends. The buffet was large but not worth $30 USD. I would not stay here again if I could find a boutique hotel or bed and breakfast for a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

For LGBT folks, Garbo Martini Bar was a lot of fun. For dinner El Arrayan restaurant was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stephen oustatcher
Business
stamford,ct
Mar 10, 2014

PV Heaven

The staff was friendly and courteous. Could have done without the time share harassment. The room was beautiful,facing Bandaras Bay. Everything was kept immaculately clean. The pool was large and no problem finding chairs. Very convenient to the beach. Security was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent Mexican ma trave
Business
ma
Jan 14, 2014

overall great hotel

Its a great hotel in a nice location. The only small complaints I have is that the WiFi signal wasn't available in my room, nor many others from what I understand and the bed was very firm. I would certainly stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron yoga girl
Business
Phoenix
Dec 30, 2013

Birthday Celebration

Miirium in the lobby bar was awesome! She made the birthday celebration special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mikey jones
Business
california
Aug 19, 2013

Average hotel compared to US hotels.

Friendly staff at the concierge desk only. I would consider this place average compared to US hotels. Bar and front desk employees are dull and boring. It looks like they are just their for their paychecks. You get better services when you tip the employees. But don't spoil them like I did just for some decent service. The pool bar had too many little kids at the bar than adults. It gets uncomfortable at times when little kids start drinking your pina coladas with alcohol when you go for a swim or splash pool water into your alcohol. Hey its Mexico, so no rules I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Gaviota is a decent restaurant inside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DisappointedGuest
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 16, 2013

Worst Hotel Staff At a Resort

After booking 2 months in advance, we arrive on site to have the hotel staff tell us we have no reservations. Even after presenting our confirmation number we were bothered several more times about the confirmation email. In addition, we had visitors that were stopped and told to leave or the police would be called. We later found out they could pay $30 per person to stay (which is outrageous) but were never presented with that option when they first came. The entire time we were there we were being hounded and harassed to listen to a timeshare presentation. After we refused several times and saw we would not be able to enjoy our vacation until we did it we gave in. Once we did we were then told we could use the gift they gave us because it was cheaper to do the daily promotion they were offering to everyone. They were actually running after people to harass them about the presentation. When asking the concierge for a more affordable breakfast option other than the outrageous $28 per person breakfast buffer we were told the prices are regulated and all prices in the town are the same. We found out that the Mayan Palace ( a 5 star resort) was offering $10 per person buffet. I am appalled that this could go on at a Sheraton hotel. I will never book with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not eat at this hotel if you some how get suckered in to staying there. Mayan Palace is a short bus or cab ride away and is cheaper for a 5 star experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh Marcus
Business
Silaom Springs, Arkansas
Apr 14, 2013

Good family or firends getaway.

It was very relaxing because of low season time, but I was able to tell that it is a good place to stay if you like to explore to city's main attractions or dine out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is very close to downtown boulevard where most of the main attractions are located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top