$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, MX 48330, Puerto Vallarta, 48330

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 28, 2008

The rooms are not as they appear

I have visited Puerto Vallarta several times, and have stayed at different hotels each time. The rooms are very dated, and the garden rooms are dark and creepy feeling. The front desk staff was very accomodating, and changed our room, It is worth it! There are a few good things about the hotel- the pool is beautiful, the live music is fun, and the hotel is walking distance to downtown. The beach is very rocky, and there are several people trying to sell you merchandise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There are some good drink deals, but be very leary of the 2x1 offers. Burger Paradise is a horrible rip off for tourists.

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2008

perfect location, plenty to do and just relax at the pool

My family has stayed at this hotel many times it is within walking distance to town, very safe. We love to lounge by the poolside and relax. The staff remember us from previous visits - they are all very friendly. Very good for families with kids -plently to do. I recommended this hotel to my sister and her family and they will be going next week. The buffet for breakfast is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jul 25, 2008

Great location

I stayed in a studio unit at the Sheration Buganvilias for five nights. Check-in was very quick and my studio had a lovely ocean/pool view. I travel to Mexico twice a year and the bed in this hotel was the most comfortable I have experienced (nice cozy duvet). Housekeeping was great. There is a OOXX minimart right across the street and a MEGA grocery store within a five minute walk. The vacation club side is very quiet so you have to go over to the hotel side pool if you want music, games etc. Swim up bar was fun. Lots of families on this side. My only complaint was that you have no privacy on the studio balcony.. The wall between units is only four feet high which for me was very dissatisfying as I felt uncomfortable sitting outside with an other family within arms reach. For that reason alone, I would not stay there again. The Malecon is also an easy 10 minute walk downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Joe Jacks Fish Shack at 2112 Basilio Badillo and don't let a cab driver say they can't find it. Sit upstairs on the outdoor patio. Mojitos are wonderful as is the food!!!

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Great Location!

The Sheraton is about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the downtown area Malecon (Boardwalk)and another 10 minutes to Old Town. The location is great. Lots of places to eat. Lots of kids. Great Pool. Great Ocean view from my room! Small, but nice Beach area. I felt as if it were a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 23, 2008

Sincere Pleasure

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Buganvilia Hotel, it had very friendly service staff and a comfortable atmosphere. The location is pretty good, just a quick taxi ride from the airport. Amenities are pretty good, particularly the pool, but the dining options can be pretty pricey. I recommend getting out and exploring the town. As for the room itself, it was adequate, and clean, which is always a plus. I feel I got all my money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There are a lot of decent little arts and crafts shops within the area, full of amazing Mexican trinkets and stunning works of art. I recommend taking a stroll and getting to know the town. I also recommend bartering!

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 15, 2008

Nice Getaway

The Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center was a nice little vacation spot. Walking distance to town and shops. Rooms were clean and had a great ocean view from the balcony. Went to write for work and enjoyed every minute. The facilities were great. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which worked out well as they have several markets on premises and nearby. However, that did not prevent us from enjoying restaurants served by the Sheraton and near by. Great mini-vaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great opporunity to shop a local flea market as well as many other shop within 10-15 minutes walking distance.

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland
Jul 6, 2008

Good place to stay

the Place was overall very good...The room was great. Wonderful ocean view, very comfy beds and pillows... glad there was a safe in the room and that the vanity was separated from the bathroom, made getting ready easier.. good location, close enough to walk downtown easily. The prices at the hotel for food/drinks are a little high but other options are available across the street (an oxxo convenience store) and of course all the downtown restaurants and shops

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at some of the places downtown is great.. The main road is full of small family restaurants and street vendors that are incredible.. the food is great and the prices are even better.. There is also a good Italian food spot (i think its called La Dola Viche)Good food there

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Sheraton Buganvilias ...

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center provided a very realaxing vacation. My adult daughter and I wanted a week to just read and be in the sun. We got exactly what we wanted in that respect. Upon check in, a staff member escorted us to an area to talk to us about the time share available at the facility. It put a slight damper in my arrival experience, but I was not approached again about the time share during my stay. The bus staff was courteous and professional. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. The pools were clean. The location is an easy 15 minutes to downtown. The hotel restaurant is expensive, but there is a small casual restaurant right across the street. We were disappointed in the beach area. Most of the beach was just small stones. The small strip of sand by the ocean was not an area that you would lie on to read a book. The ocean smelled like fish, and my daughter had a rash on her legs after wading in the ocean. We stayed away from the ocean the rest of the week and stayed by the pool. Why be on ocean front property if you can't enjoy the ocean? There were chairs set up in a beautiful sand area, but the vendors would come to visit you. I do not mind the vendors, but my daughter cannot stand them. I would go back again if I knew that I was getting a great rate, and I would recommend it to a friend if I knew that they did not want to spend their vacation on the beach of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The caf? right across the street has good coffee and good food at an affordable price.

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

Excellent Location

The Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center was very customer oriented; the room had a queen size bed with a pillow top mattress, plush bedding and extra pillows. The roomy tub and toilet area was separate from the sink and mirror area, this increased privacy. A table with two chairs allowed us to sit and enjoy a quick snack during our late returns from exploring Puerto Vallarta. The closet was spacious and provided a safe box that was easy to operate. The room was very clean and quiet. We had a terrace that overlooked one of the pools and the beautiful beach. In the negative side, it took us a few days to find out where the ice was located (it was in a different floor) and the room had almost no decoration (the walls are white). Overall the hotel was comfortable and the best thing was the location since it is so close to all the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Well stocked supermarket is nearby. Includes an internet cafe. Do currency exchange in bank two blocks across from hotel. 20% discount if you pay with Mexican currency. Use a laundromat (find in yellow pages). Restaurant prices were at least 1/3 less if located away from the beach.

Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort and Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Mar 27, 2008

Convenient

The room was in an excellent location with a very favorable view. The daily cleaning was very slow but when it was done was excellent. The room did not have a fridge or a microwave. It was simple, clean and had a table and two chairs. The toilets must be flushed at least twice to keep them clean. There was a room safe and the hotel staff was very courtious. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A taxi was 34 pesos and the bus stops right in front of the hotel and is only 5 pesos

Back to menu Return to top