$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 Zona Hotelera Norte Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
109 reviews
You get more bank for buck

The Hotel is more of a Mexican crowd oriented, there's is alot of local families (about 15%... See full review

  • Monicalrh1988
  • Jul 14, 2014
Jan '13 mom and daughter fun

I really enjoyed this hotel. We felt safe. It is close to the Mega Market, so convenient for... See full review

  • 49er fan and best mom
  • Feb 11, 2013
Children's club, plus live shows with a different theme each night
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort provides the essentials for a relaxing stay. Visitors flock to two swim-up bars, the quintessential Mexican resort experience. The property also hosts live theme shows every night and a supervised children's club for kids ages 4 to 12. Two snack bars, a buffet and an a la carte eatery serving global fare offer guests a choice for casual dining. Rooms include the basics, from a flat-screen TV to a mini-bar restocked every other day with soda, beer and bottled water.
Highlights
  • Two snack bars, plus a main buffet and international restaurant
  • Live shows with a different theme every night
  • Children's club for kids 4 to 12
  • Mini-bars restocked every other day with bottled waters, sodas and beers
Rooms
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort masters the basics -- immaculate rooms with stark white linens paired with mustard-colored bed skirts and red-striped coverlets. Gray tile floors have a polished sheen or flat stone finish, while light floods in from windows that look out to canopy-dotted grounds. A mini-bar restocked every other day stores essentials such as bottled water, soda and beer. Other amenities include a flat-screen TV, two twin beds or one king-sized bed, bath products and air-conditioning.
Features
An expansive outdoor pool and kids' pool act are the heart of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort. Ample lounge chairs and two swim-up bars marked by tiki huts enhance the scene. Live entertainment with a different theme every night, an outdoor theater and a children's club for kids ages 4 to 12 add to the engagement for guests.
Dining
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort caters to both casual and upscale dining with two snack bars, a main buffet and an international restaurant serving a la carte dishes. A lobby bar glowing with fluorescent light and decorated with sports-themed murals draws the cocktail set.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.4 mi/5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Old Town (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Malecon (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.4 mi/5.6 km)

Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Grand Room
Beachfront hotel that offers 74 spacious standard rooms with street, garden, pool view and partial ocean view. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (type of bed and view are subject to availability) bath robes, slippers, satellite flat TV 27" , air conditioning, ceiling fan, phone, safety deposit box, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, coffee kit, mini bar (2 bottles of water, 2 beers, 2 softs drinks, restocked every other day) fully marble equipped bathroom (bath tub and shower) hair dryer , vanity mirror, bathroom amenities (shampoo- conditioner, lotion, facial & body soaps and shower cap).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6338 -105.2325
Area served
Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta's International Airport
Area description
Plaza Pelicanos Hotels are four star properties located on the Playa Las Glorias beach. The hotels are located just 15 minutes from the airport and five minutes to charming downtown.

Dining

La Flor de Calabaza
Mexican - International fusion, reservation required, dress code in effect, sittings from 6:00 pm to 9:30 pm, adults only.
Pergolas
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort main restaurant cafeteria which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Calandria Snack Bar
Snacks from 11:30 am to 6:00 pm Bar 10:00 am to 01:00 am
Sky Lounge Bar
From 10:00 am to 10:00 pm with assorted variety of margaritas, wine house and au de ouver (subject to weather conditions) Beverage service at Las Pergolas Restaurant from 01:00 am to 7:00 am Late night snacks from 10:30 to 07:00 hrs at Las Pergolas Restaurant
Rodizio
Brazilian Steak for the meat lovers. Reservation required.
Sunset Lounge
Enjoy a delicious margarita with a 360* bay view.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 109
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.9

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
49er fan and best mom
woodland, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Jan '13 mom and daughter fun

I really enjoyed this hotel. We felt safe. It is close to the Mega Market, so convenient for shopping. Buses are close, so no need for taxis. I got a $20 massage down the street. The pool and activities were great. And the gym is included, with excellent equipment. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mega store has everything you need. and reasonable prices.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blow
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Nov 28, 2011

loud party most of the night-- all in all - just ok

one night there was a party by the pool in the middle of the hotel- put on by the hotel with a 100 or more people at the party that last until 2am or so in morning-- extremely loud--kept the family up most of the night--- food ok -- nothing special--

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Choice
Colorado
Nov 16, 2011

Family getaway

The location of the hotel and amenities are very good and the staff is really friendly. I had a good experience and I would go back to that location but not in all inclusive regime- the food and drinks were poor and I am not a picky person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Mar 30, 2011

beware of exactly what you are booking

Be sure you know if it is the grand or the club that you are booking...I was sure it was the grand, but under room it said club. What I thought was booked was VERY different than the club. NO fitness center, not on the beach, room did not have, fridge, micro, coffee maker, iron (shucks..), alarm clock or even a blow dryer. I spoke to at least five other people who thought they were getting the grand!! Also advertises restaurants. There were two at the club - Italian and Japanese. We were given a voucher for one meal during our 4 night stay there, which we didn't know. When we went to make our reservation for Italian on friday, that restaurant was closed. Same thing for saturday. We had not been told this either. The manager did accomodate us which we were pleased and grateful for. Plus side, [...] the omelette chef was exceptional and the staff was very good! We feel duped, as did others and will not use this or the sister resorts again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Mar 30, 2011

beware of exactly what you are booking

Be sure you know if it is the grand or the club that you are booking...I was sure it was the grand, but under room it said club. What I thought was booked was VERY different than the club. NO fitness center, not on the beach, room did not have, fridge, micro, coffee maker, iron (shucks..), alarm clock or even a blow dryer. I spoke to at least five other people who thought they were getting the grand!! Also advertises restaurants. There were two at the club - Italian and Japanese. We were given a voucher for one meal during our 4 night stay there, which we didn't know. When we went to make our reservation for Italian on friday, that restaurant was closed. Same thing for saturday. We had not been told this either. The manager did accomodate us which we were pleased and grateful for. Plus side, [...] the omelette chef was exceptional and the staff was very good! We feel duped, as did others and will not use this or the sister resorts again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Mar 22, 2011

Disappointing!

Disappointing is about all I can think of to describe. Made reservations for a wedding party in Grand section, only to find out my reservations were messed up and in order to join the rest of the wedding party, we had to walk 3 blocks each morning and night to join them, and pay extra!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

All inclusive was the way to go.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Mar 22, 2011

Disappointing!

Disappointing is about all I can think of to describe. Made reservations for a wedding party in Grand section, only to find out my reservations were messed up and in order to join the rest of the wedding party, we had to walk 3 blocks each morning and night to join them, and pay extra!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

All inclusive was the way to go.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 13, 2011

Nice resort in reasonable location

Nice place, good amenities, polite and attentive staff, reasonable location. Easy/short transit to downtown and south part of town via bus or taxi. Excellent and huge rooftop with hot tubs, bar, and plenty of lounging and socializing space. Food is decent, pools nice (poolside bar as well). Basically no beach which was a disappointment (concrete wall goes pretty much to the water). Really nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little coffee/wine place around the corner, to the left (north) of the bus stop. Stay away from coffee and wine at the resort at all costs! :)

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 13, 2011

Nice resort in reasonable location

Nice place, good amenities, polite and attentive staff, reasonable location. Easy/short transit to downtown and south part of town via bus or taxi. Excellent and huge rooftop with hot tubs, bar, and plenty of lounging and socializing space. Food is decent, pools nice (poolside bar as well). Basically no beach which was a disappointment (concrete wall goes pretty much to the water). Really nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little coffee/wine place around the corner, to the left (north) of the bus stop. Stay away from coffee and wine at the resort at all costs! :)

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Jan 6, 2011

LIES LIES AND MORE LIES.

[...] What is said to be 4 restaurants other then the Buffet, is only 1 that changes their menu 2 days per week. They have recently changed the advertisement to say 2 restaurants but it is only the same ONE!!!!! The staff was excellent but the rooms had MOLD in all 3 rooms I saw. NOT a HIGH CLASS resort. FOOD was average at best. Lunch at the pool and room service was the highlights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can find anything just down the road.

Back to menu Return to top