$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

3 stars
Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 Zona Hotelera Norte Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
108 reviews
Jan '13 mom and daughter fun

I really enjoyed this hotel. We felt safe. It is close to the Mega Market, so convenient for... See full review

  • 49er fan and best mom
  • Feb 11, 2013
ecellent value

we had a gteat time. Food was great staff were excellenté Everthing was organized well. No negative... See full review

  • davc
  • Oct 29, 2012
Children's club, plus live shows with a different theme each night
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort provides the essentials for a relaxing stay. Visitors flock to two swim-up bars, the quintessential Mexican resort experience. The property also hosts live theme shows every night and a supervised children's club for kids ages 4 to 12. Two snack bars, a buffet and an a la carte eatery serving global fare offer guests a choice for casual dining. Rooms include the basics, from a flat-screen TV to a mini-bar restocked every other day with soda, beer and bottled water.
Highlights
  • Two snack bars, plus a main buffet and international restaurant
  • Live shows with a different theme every night
  • Children's club for kids 4 to 12
  • Mini-bars restocked every other day with bottled waters, sodas and beers
Rooms
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort masters the basics -- immaculate rooms with stark white linens paired with mustard-colored bed skirts and red-striped coverlets. Gray tile floors have a polished sheen or flat stone finish, while light floods in from windows that look out to canopy-dotted grounds. A mini-bar restocked every other day stores essentials such as bottled water, soda and beer. Other amenities include a flat-screen TV, two twin beds or one king-sized bed, bath products and air-conditioning.
Features
An expansive outdoor pool and kids' pool act are the heart of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort. Ample lounge chairs and two swim-up bars marked by tiki huts enhance the scene. Live entertainment with a different theme every night, an outdoor theater and a children's club for kids ages 4 to 12 add to the engagement for guests.
Dining
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort caters to both casual and upscale dining with two snack bars, a main buffet and an international restaurant serving a la carte dishes. A lobby bar glowing with fluorescent light and decorated with sports-themed murals draws the cocktail set.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (3.4 mi/5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Old Town (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Malecon (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (3.4 mi/5.6 km)

Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Grand Room
Beachfront hotel that offers 74 spacious standard rooms with street, garden, pool view and partial ocean view. All rooms fully furnished with two twins or one king size bed (type of bed and view are subject to availability) bath robes, slippers, satellite flat TV 27" , air conditioning, ceiling fan, phone, safety deposit box, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, coffee kit, mini bar (2 bottles of water, 2 beers, 2 softs drinks, restocked every other day) fully marble equipped bathroom (bath tub and shower) hair dryer , vanity mirror, bathroom amenities (shampoo- conditioner, lotion, facial & body soaps and shower cap).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Game room
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6338 -105.2325
Area served
Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta's International Airport
Area description
Plaza Pelicanos Hotels are four star properties located on the Playa Las Glorias beach. The hotels are located just 15 minutes from the airport and five minutes to charming downtown.

Dining

La Flor de Calabaza
Mexican - International fusion, reservation required, dress code in effect, sittings from 6:00 pm to 9:30 pm, adults only.
Pergolas
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort main restaurant cafeteria which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Calandria Snack Bar
Snacks from 11:30 am to 6:00 pm Bar 10:00 am to 01:00 am
Sky Lounge Bar
From 10:00 am to 10:00 pm with assorted variety of margaritas, wine house and au de ouver (subject to weather conditions) Beverage service at Las Pergolas Restaurant from 01:00 am to 7:00 am Late night snacks from 10:30 to 07:00 hrs at Las Pergolas Restaurant
Rodizio
Brazilian Steak for the meat lovers. Reservation required.
Sunset Lounge
Enjoy a delicious margarita with a 360* bay view.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 108
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ronniew
P.V. Mexico
Feb 18, 2013

Uncomfortable

There was very little beach and way too many children unsupervised in pools. The bed felt like we were sleeping on the box springs and they formed a king by putting the two twin box springs sideways. No ice machines working. Would not go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davc
bc canada
Oct 29, 2012

ecellent value

we had a gteat time. Food was great staff were excellenté Everthing was organized well. No negative comments..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

mega store

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PV Ron
Sacramento, Ca
Mar 4, 2012

Best room ever

We have been going to Puerto Vallerta every Winter for over 15 years and this was the very best room ever. We have stayed at the Pelicanos Club Resort 3 time s before but never the Grand. The Grand is much, much nicer than the Club. As with most all of the resorts in PV, the staff was outstanding, food was great and Weather that can't be beat. The last six years we stayed at the Friendly Vallarta but this year the price at the Pelicanos was much better so we tried it and are glad we did. We have stayed at most of the all inclusive resorts over the years and now the Pelicanos Grand will be our first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to take the bus to the Malicon and walk along the ocean side all the way to old PV. Take all of the tours you can, there is so much to see.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BC Bob
Dewdney, BC V0M, Canada
Sep 27, 2011

The Local Resort

We don't know who is at fault for the first issue at Plaza Pelecanos, but after an 11 hour trip from home we got there to NO reservation! They wouldn't accept the conf# in our travel plan from Cheap Tickets even though all was in order with airlines & shuttles. The staff was unhelpful, never apologized & the manager "Jose" wouldn't do anything for us in 100F heat unless we paid for another regular night. They blammed Cheap Tickets. Locals overunning the place with 100's of kids & a general distain for Canadians or Americans. No A/C anywhere public, same buffet always, No "by order" restaurant, 1 small pool & disgusting tiny beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Downtown PV is best shopping but the local vendors can make this "UN-Fun" with the constant bombardment. Go early! We went at 8:00 AM had peacful (best) breakfast on street Patio and shopped til 10:00 with no vendors to be seen!

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Boss
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Never again

I stayed at the club side in Jan. and enjoyed it very much.I booked the club again,upon my arrival was told it was closed and was sent to the Grand.There is only 1 pool,1 bar,a buffet and 1 restaurant that changes its name so they say there is 3.Buffet is almost inedible.I am not a picky eater by any means and even I had a hard time finding something.My wife enjoyed the omlet station for breakfast.The alcohol is of very low quality,a few people brought their own booze to the bar and just used the mixers.Rooms are nice,clean and comfortable.Most staff member are very friendly,with the exception of the front desk,they werent very helpful.I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blakes is a sports bar with good food(prices not too bad)good drinks,friendly owners,within walking distance.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Boss
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Never again

I stayed at the club side in Jan. and enjoyed it very much.I booked the club again,upon my arrival was told it was closed and was sent to the Grand.There is only 1 pool,1 bar,a buffet and 1 restaurant that changes its name so they say there is 3.Buffet is almost inedible.I am not a picky eater by any means and even I had a hard time finding something.My wife enjoyed the omlet station for breakfast.The alcohol is of very low quality,a few people brought their own booze to the bar and just used the mixers.Rooms are nice,clean and comfortable.Most staff member are very friendly,with the exception of the front desk,they werent very helpful.I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blakes is a sports bar with good food(prices not too bad)good drinks,friendly owners,within walking distance.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin, USA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice vacation resort

Rhythms of the Night and City Tour were highlights. Otherwise we just relaxed by the pool and in our room when it got too hot and humid to be outside. It was disappointing that there was no cool indoor bar. Food was acceptable, but nothing really stood out as exceptional. Drinks were plentiful, but very ordinary. We wished the mini bar/refrigerator had been a little bigger, and really missed having a microwave in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the main street was a pizza/chicken buffet that was quite good.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin, USA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice vacation resort

Rhythms of the Night and City Tour were highlights. Otherwise we just relaxed by the pool and in our room when it got too hot and humid to be outside. It was disappointing that there was no cool indoor bar. Food was acceptable, but nothing really stood out as exceptional. Drinks were plentiful, but very ordinary. We wished the mini bar/refrigerator had been a little bigger, and really missed having a microwave in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the main street was a pizza/chicken buffet that was quite good.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
st. louis, MO
Jul 6, 2011

you get what you pay for

We had just finished three weeks working in another part of Mexico with no air conditioning and luxuries such as television. We only wanted to relax in some air conditioning, have some drinks and eat some good food. So we chose one of the cheapest resorts we could find. We arrived to find that the main bar was closed indefinately. The beach was very small and closed after 9pm. Most unfortunately, the food was extremely poor. There was very little to choose from and even condiments such as butter were at a premium if you could manage to flag down one of the few employees to restock the small buffet. Overall, the resort was far understaffed, we felt bad for how hard some of the staff had to work just to attemp to meet the needs of the visitors. The food was in no way good. We resorted to eating out despite having paid for an all inclusive vacation on our last day. This was simply a cheap hotel. We got what we paid for I suppose. We do not recommend this resort for anyone unless you can afford only the cheapest options. You too, will get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet was simply pathetic. We resorted to ordering a pizza for dinner on our last night, rather than deal with the lack of selection and poor quality again.

Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
st. louis, MO
Jul 6, 2011

you get what you pay for

We had just finished three weeks working in another part of Mexico with no air conditioning and luxuries such as television. We only wanted to relax in some air conditioning, have some drinks and eat some good food. So we chose one of the cheapest resorts we could find. We arrived to find that the main bar was closed indefinately. The beach was very small and closed after 9pm. Most unfortunately, the food was extremely poor. There was very little to choose from and even condiments such as butter were at a premium if you could manage to flag down one of the few employees to restock the small buffet. Overall, the resort was far understaffed, we felt bad for how hard some of the staff had to work just to attemp to meet the needs of the visitors. The food was in no way good. We resorted to eating out despite having paid for an all inclusive vacation on our last day. This was simply a cheap hotel. We got what we paid for I suppose. We do not recommend this resort for anyone unless you can afford only the cheapest options. You too, will get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet was simply pathetic. We resorted to ordering a pizza for dinner on our last night, rather than deal with the lack of selection and poor quality again.

Back to menu Return to top