$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
353 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 353
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Traveler
Plymouth, MN, USA
Apr 8, 2014

Los Arcos PV Mexico

Always a great stay. Was disappointed in our 1st room. the next day, they moved us right next door to our friends and provided a refrig for our room. We love this place with how centralally located it is and right on the beach! Very nice staff and clean rooms - our maid did a great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommended restaurants: Derby City Burgers (right next door) Old Sweeney's

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seniora
MN
Mar 19, 2014

Flavor of Old Puerto Vallarta

Takes you back to when the resorts were all close to downtown right on the beach. Step out your door for a drink, panaderia, shop dinner swim or whatever. A different type of trip than the big resorts of today.. Good for the person who enbraces old Mexico and the culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be adventurous. Love the food from the street venders.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pansiegirl
Minnesota
Dec 1, 2013

Enjoyed the time off

I have been staying at Playa Los Arcos for several years now and the staff is top shelf could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Med student Mx
Guadalajara, Mx.....from Chi-town
Sep 2, 2013

returning for years to come....

I have been to this hotel 3 times now and for good reason. The vista is priceless for the money, you can see the ocean the minute walk into the hotel! Service is professional and personal, staff remembers you and are friendly. It is a family destination for native Mexicans, but also for Americans and Europeans who also cont. to come back. However, a great place regardless of age. The attached restaurant has a formidable breakfast buffet, locals come for just that! Authentic Mexican cuisine for a reasonable price. Private beach front property where you an lay on the beach and be served, is wonderful. Also, a great selling point is that hotel staff will lock up your belongings for free after checkout so you can cont. your relaxation on the beach until the very last moment! FYI please do not leave your belongings unsupervised in public areas, there is a safe in the rooms for your safe keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the constant stream of vendors on the beach....always remember to barter and start low...you will be surprised what you can get! If you don't want to be bothered by them...purchase a sign that says: "No gracias" , that has been known to help those of you who would rather not be bothered.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skt54
Arkansas, USA
May 26, 2013

Playa

Just finished my fifth stay at Playa Los Arcos in a year and a half.... Very clean, food decent, two gourmet nights very good, drinks strong and plentiful, location fantastic, staff super nice and efficient, beach clean and people watching great....Not five star and not an "American" hotel, but a great little slice of Mexico and a fun place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to restaurants, bars, shopping, pier, etc. AI is inexpensive and worth the $$$$ for drinks and breakfast, convenience alone. Very easy to eat out if want too, also.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Az Coupe Jason
Tempe Arizona
Aug 20, 2012

Great location, Great Staff!!

Dont expect a Westin or a Hilton Hotel.. this is a Very Mexican Style Hotel with a ton of Charm, The All inclusive is a great value, if your a foodie it will not be for you.. regardless the food was good the drinks are good.. the pool has a ton of kids in it so if your wanting a nice adult weekend make sure they put you in the Adult only hotel.. also the beach is great we found the beach to be far better about quarter mile south takes 4 min to walk there.. TOns of great places to eat with in min of the hotel.. no need for a car. ALSO BEWARE OF NON STOP BEACH VENDORS they are 20% of the beach population and will bug the snot out of you!!..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skt54
Arkansas, USA
May 25, 2012

Playa Los Arcos

This is the second time I have been to Playa Los Arcos in seven months, and will be going back in three months. I buy the AI because it is reasonable, I want t, and the food is decent. I have been going to PV for years and am aware of the wonderful food available in various locations. The breakfast at PLA is cooked to order eggs/omelets, waffles, pancakes, beautiful fresh fruit, Mexican chocolate (which I love), and several other dishes. For lunch I do not eat the buffet, but rather have fresh guacamole, quesidillas, nachos or hamburger at the grill area. I find the dinners to be plentiful, varied and above average on the buffet. If one stays a week, you are treated to two menu meals for dinner. Both of my choices were excellent. The location of PLA is superb. Just a few steps from the Malecon, the river, shopping, restaurants, a market place, and a nice expanse of beach either direction you might care to walk. The staff is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The bartenders pour a healthy drink and will pour mas if asked nicely. The rooms/bathrooms are small, furnished with Mexican furniture and extremely clean. I ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor as near the beach as possible and have received it for no upgrade cost. The two wings of the hotel are slanted so that many of the rooms, though not facing the bay, still have a decent view. Most of the rooms have balconies, I never ran out of hot water and the air conditioner worked better than the other local hotels where I used to stay. This is a VERY child friendly hotel. My only suggestion would be for them to have an adult only pool area. If you are looking for local culture, warm friendly people, good service and a fantastic location, you would enjoy PLA. It is not a Hilton, Marriott or the Ritz and if that's what you want, don't go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take an insulated cup for your drinks on the beach and you won't have to go back and forth to the bar so often. Beach service is not included in AI, however the bar is convenient to the beach.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick7007
Corona, California
Apr 6, 2012

An annual New Years Getaway.

Had a real good time, employees were great. Not too much noise where are room was located, real close to all the clubs that we like. I saw a comment before about the noise, but we didn’t have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful of your surroundings, and that’s any where you are, even in the US. We never had a problem in all the years we been there, but just be safe and don’t drink too much lol

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican Traveler
Eagan, MN, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Annual Trip

I have stayed here 3 times now. Love the location, staff, and rooms. Can't go wrong for the price. Have also stayed at Casa Dona Susana whihc is nice too. The rooms are smaller at Casa and no kids running around. Los Arcos is more family oriented. I will definately stay at Los Arcos again & again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
Dec 18, 2011

Great location! Downtown, shopping, church, restuarants, bars, etc all within walking distance.

Location is on the south end of the boardwalk, within walking distances to everything. Great places to eat in the area, about 10 mins walk to downtown, only blocks away from gay bars, beach is quite nice, taxi's are right around the corner, rooms are pretty spacious, good value for the costs, One of the few hotels that have a pool, hot tub and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a few blocks from gay bars

Back to menu Return to top