$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
216 reviews
we got married there...best wedding ever!

The hotel met our expectations and the crew were amazing! Our place to go now every time we go to PV See full review

  • Walter V.
  • Jun 18, 2015
Excellent

We have stayed at playa los arcos many times and it has always been great, the staff is very... See full review

  • Marko W.
  • Mar 12, 2015
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Property features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Nearby attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeff3096
Business
Syracuse
Apr 22, 2015

Great time in Vallarta - skip Playa Los Arcos

If you only need a place to rest your head then Playa Los Arcos is the place for you. Don't expect luxury or even average amenities for that matter. The place is dated and if you have a mold allergy then I highly caution you from staying here. Pros: Location, semi clean rooms Cons: Food, staff isn't the friendliest, dated rooms, mold smell in rooms (yes we were in two rooms. We booked a room with two doubles and the hotel overbooked. So we got a king the first two nights.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William M.
Business
Arnold
Apr 16, 2015

Spring Break

Hotel staff was great- location was a tad far from airport but otherwise wonderful- walking to shops and restaurants, not that you need them if you do all inclusive. Lots of people on the beach interrupting you to sell items, but it's just part of the experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mini mee
Business
Alburnett
Jan 21, 2015

puerto vallarta

the stay at play los arcos was ok.. the food was below average, seems like the same food all time.. room smelled a little like mold or sewer. Location was good. its a old hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita Rene
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Location is fabulous

The hotel was fabulous. I did not do the all inclusive plan because I like authentic street food. Tip: Mahi-Mahi grilled on a stick can be found on the Malecon for $2.50 USD. I have never had a bad experience with the street food except that I eat too much because it is so delicious. Free fresh ground brewed coffee every morning in two of the three property locations was so nice. For being a "Mexican" hotel, I found it nearly as pristine as any resort. The only negative for me was that my first room was small, bad location and not as nice as the room my sister was assigned. But I had read other reviews and it seems that asking for another room is a common practice. Most everybody I met was changing rooms the next day. After persistence, the next day we were given a beautiful room, off the street, facing the ocean and absolutely loved it. I will only stay here each year now on my annual January Puerto Vallarta get-away. If you like a more quiet environment, the two sister properties are perfect. I prefer to be in the heart of activity, noise, music and ocean so the Playa Los Arcos is my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating from street vendors is my favorite thing to do. I found Mahi-Mahi on a stick for a mere 25 pesos ($2.30 USD) which was as delicious and mouth watering as any $20 per plate sit down dinner. The location I go to is about two blocks from the hotel and it is a little hole-in-wall. They also offer tables right on the beach which we did one night and it was fabulous. Fresh cut fruits and veggies can be found for 22 pesos around the town interior in huge portions. I ate a large bag of cucumber and jicama every day along with several skewers of fresh grill fish on a stick. Also, don't miss the corn in a cup on the Malecon each night from about 6 p.m. and on. Add sour cream, cheese and lemon and it can be a meal.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheyob
Business
jersey city
Jan 9, 2015

Great location in the heart of downtown

The hotel is located right by the water and i was very impressed with the buffet offerings for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not expensive at all. The proximity to playa de los muertos and all the restaurants and shops in downtown is priceless. The only thing i would recommend is to better the wifi network. I spent too much time at the lobby or hallways trying to connect because there was little to no reception in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vamos a la Playa
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

long weekend escape

Can't beat the location with walk-out beach access and gentle surf for easy swimming. This is not a typical all-inclusive resort type of hotel catering to Americans and Canadians who never want to leave hotel property. It has more local flavor, older but clean, lots of Mexican nationals vacationing with their families. Great place for people who want to explore the neighborhood and like to enjoy Vallarta's many excellent restaurants. Easy walk to the Malecon and neighborhoods around the Cathedral. Nice spa on site for massages, pedicures, facials, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trapper mike
Business
birtle, canada
Dec 7, 2014

Our home away from Canada

We have travelled to Puerto Vallarta several times in the last few years and every time we have returned to our home away from home, Playa Los Arcos beach hotel and spa. We come back primarily because of the staff and amenities at Playa Los Arcos. Every employee from maintenance and room personel to dining and lounge servers to front desk and management, treat you with great respect and an "eager to please" attitude. Don't expect 5 Star accommodations. The hotel is getting older but still has a historical uniquness unmatched in our estimation. It's downtown location means you aren't always with other "touritas" and you certainly can experience the true culture in a way that the Hotel Zone cannot offer. Playa Los Arcos' downtown location puts you within easy walking distance of The Malecon as well as hundreds of downtown shops, restaurants and, of course, you are only steps off the beach. Some question the safety of this location but I feel 100% safer here than I do in downtown Canadian cities. Would we go back? You bet we would, and we are already planning our return next November.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Malecon is only 2 blocks from the hotel and provides extensive shopping and dining possibilities. The downtown location of Playa Los Arcos puts you within easy walking distance of hundreds of other shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Of course the ocean front location is one of the best in Puerto Vallarta.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Traveler
Business
Plymouth, MN, USA
Apr 8, 2014

Los Arcos PV Mexico

Always a great stay. Was disappointed in our 1st room. the next day, they moved us right next door to our friends and provided a refrig for our room. We love this place with how centralally located it is and right on the beach! Very nice staff and clean rooms - our maid did a great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommended restaurants: Derby City Burgers (right next door) Old Sweeney's

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seniora
Business
MN
Mar 19, 2014

Flavor of Old Puerto Vallarta

Takes you back to when the resorts were all close to downtown right on the beach. Step out your door for a drink, panaderia, shop dinner swim or whatever. A different type of trip than the big resorts of today.. Good for the person who enbraces old Mexico and the culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be adventurous. Love the food from the street venders.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pansiegirl
Business
Minnesota
Dec 1, 2013

Enjoyed the time off

I have been staying at Playa Los Arcos for several years now and the staff is top shelf could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top