$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
353 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 353
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SooZee Cue
Central California
Apr 25, 2014

Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking distance to several stores but a bit away from our favorite downtown spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kat miss smiley
Denver, Colorado
Jan 23, 2014

Great location in Old Town!

I have stayed many times at the Playa los Arcos. You couldn't ask for a better location. Right on the beach, next to the pier. Walking distance to wonderful restaurants and bars. The staff are always friendly, the hotel is clean and the food and drinks are good. This is my go to hotel in PV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyro
Puerto vallarta
Jan 11, 2014

Good for kids

Every good location, nothing fancy but very convenient the buffet by 3rd day can get a bit boring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spike and Catey
Penticton, Canada
Dec 29, 2013

The location is perfect

I really enjoyed my stay at the Playa Los Acros. The hotel & grounds aren't a 5 star resort, and the food (we went all inclusive) was a bit boring, but the staff make all the difference. Being in the "Romantic Zone" (appearently re-named "Gay Vallarta"), everything is at your finger tips from shopping to the nightlife. Andales (best bar in Vallarta for anyone over 35) is just across the street. The beach is out the other end. Both the Malecon is just a short walk away, and the south bus loop is 2 blocks away. I loved my stay at the Los Arcos and have no problem going back again & recommending it to anyone who'll listen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
champagnery
Adelaide, Australia
Dec 19, 2013

Ideal for families and young people

Noisy! But the kids (up to 40 years old) loved it. NOT a place for the quiet reader and thinker. Pricing is fair, and if you like the beach, the location couldn't be better. Good atmosphere right on the beach for eating and drinking; every type of shop within easy walking distance, and because elf the proximity to the sea, not quite as humid as only one street back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside the hotel, foodie's hamburgers and proper crisp chips - everything cooked freshly. Derby City Burgers, 356 Olas Altas, turn left outside hotel. Across the road, perfect coffee. PS Laundry service across the street. PPS Add $15 and get full ocean front.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
indian family
minneapolis minnestoa
Oct 20, 2013

Great for families wanting to stay close to downtown

We had a wonderful experience. The hotel is only two blocks from the ocean and one can use the facilities like towels from its sister hotel. Since we were there around Christmas they had a fantastic cultural program at the sister hotel's restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the best tacos el pastor joint in all of Puerto Vallarta and popular with the locals

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juanger
Seattle, WA.
Aug 20, 2013

Great!! ... Now my favorite place for vacations

I went wishing to have fun but I found much more from the hotel and Puerto Vallarta too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobKehler
altona man canada
Apr 11, 2013

los arcos

Went with wife and 4 kids age 15 13 12 11 was awesome great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe with all you can eat pasta for 63 peso 1 block north

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
baumshel
Boscobel, Wisconsin
Apr 2, 2013

Starting to show signs of age

This was our second stay at Playa Los Arcos, and probably our last. The location and the staff are the best, but the hotel is starting to show the signs of it's age. The cold showers and lack of water pressure were probably the most annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the 6-8 PM "Happy Hour"! When we stayed here seven years ago, we didn't miss it, but now they double their prices to give you the 2 for 1. No vodka collins is worth $8!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheetah
Aurora,il
Mar 30, 2013

Okay for the price only

Our reservation was messed up. Only had a king bed and we booked for double beds. We got transferred to the los Arcos suites which was behind this hotel and no direct access to the beach. Hardly any toiletries available and not even coffee for the coffee maker): Overall, the suite could really use an upgrade as it has seen better days. If you are the type who prefers a quiet, private setting, this area is not for you, as the beaches here are open to the public and when we were there ,there was heavy "people traffic" along the shores. The playa hotel 's pool was kind of small and can get really congested. Not even sure how they can screen off outsiders as anyone can just go through the hotel from the streets and from the beach areas , thus we did not feel very secured.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love to be in the hustle and bustle, this is the place to be. Lots of stores and eateries and it is fun to be amidst the locals.

Back to menu Return to top