$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
353 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 353
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 9
portland, oregon
May 22, 2014

One of many

Good times The air conditioning was weak, kids in the ADULT ONLY POOL & the buffet was pretty much the same everyday but lots of choices. We will be back. ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nublette
Seattle, Washington
Apr 22, 2014

Excellent pool area

This hotel has a great location near the beach and an excellent pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendia
Minnesota
Mar 20, 2014

location location location

We have stayed here many times. We keep coming back because you can't beat the price and location. If you like downtown PV this place is great. Rooms are average but clean. Everything you need is right out your back door so to speak. Beaches are great. New pier is awesome especially at night. If you don't like your room just ask to change. They also own Los Arcos suites and Cassa Donna Suzanne across the street so you can use their pools also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

"Rythums of the night" was a great addition to our trip this year. Dont pay full price!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garthw
Dryden, Ontario
Feb 28, 2014

Great vacation

When we booked this trip I had read reviews of the hotel and wondered if maybe we had made a mistake. In the end it was a great place and location. Sure the place is a little dated and the beds are not pillow soft but they were no different than the ones we had in a 4.5 star place either. If you look beyond those small things it was perfect. WE got an "all inclusive" package for a couple hundred dollars extra and it turned out to be great value. There is only the one buffet restaurant but they have great food. The bar was available all day. The beach is a little crowded and you have to get there early (before noon) if you want to get a good spot and a full set of chairs, umbrella and table. There are A LOT of vendors who sell daily on the beach, but they are not persistent and a slight head shake tells them no. We were familiar with the Caribbean side and were leery of swimming in the big blue pacific but as with other things, it turned out to be a non issue. The beach is not the white flour like sand but the water was warm and clear and we wam daily. The Malecon (or sea wall) is a large sidewalk that goes right in front of the hotel and you can walk it for a couple km and there is all sorts of activities and entertainment going on on it throughout the day and evening. We ran the Malecon and then the city sidewalks up for about 3 km daily and felt safe and at ease. The whole area around the hotel is dotted with cafes, restaurants and bistros. We had a great time sampling them all. A couple of note are Cafe Olla, Pancho's Tacos, Mr Pulpo, and go for the red snapper and 3 beer deal at the Burros Bar on the Malecon. Best 250 pesos you will spend. Would I go again? Absolutely, we spent the past day inquiring about long tern rentals at Laos Arcos. Would I recommend to a friend? Absolutely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of note are Cafe Olla, Pancho's Tacos, Mr Pulpo, and go for the red snapper and 3 beer deal at the Burros Bar on the Malecon. Best 250 pesos you will spend.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bundles
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 25, 2014

great location

right on the beach - everything within walking distiance - first room was the size of a shoe box and we requested a room change which was accomodated the following day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the fish on a stick from the beach vendors where you can see them cooking the fish on the grill. Best fish i have ever eaten.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indie traveller
WA
Feb 9, 2014

Best location with great value for money.

Old town is THE place to stay in PVR if you love food, drinks, music and a laid back - late night culture. This hotel gave us all. Plus it is also on the beach. Only negative thing was we got street side room with ocean view, which came with great view and also great noise during night. Ask for a non-street side rooms if you want to avoid noise from street side bars. Another thing, if you don't want to climb stairs for one floor then don't take 4th floor. Elevator stops at 3rd floor. Staff was great here and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Want to save money. Take the bus to everywhere. They are Blue and white, costs you 7.50 pesos for each ride and we found it totally safe. Runs until midnight. Another thing, don't hesitate to negotiate when buying things especially from Flea market which is best place to buy gifts and souvenirs.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super hymey
colorado
Feb 3, 2014

Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be beat. staff was great, accommodated us perfectly on the upgrade of our room. The décor is soooo cute and charming. pool was very warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

inclusive is good at this hotel, but there are sooooo many fine wonderful and charming restaurants walking distance to this hotel that you really limit yourself if you do inclusive.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peaby
Portland, Oregon
Jan 24, 2014

Great location but that is about it

The hotel is located at a great central location. You can walk everywhere and is right there on the beach. I choose this hotel based on previous reviews but the room fell a little short. There was a moldy smell to the room, there is mold on the curtain corners and the beds are not comfortable. There is barely pressure in the shower and we had to wait for the hot water to come on. Not what I expect for the money I had paid. The staff is pretty friendly and courteous but the concierge was not helpful at all. She should be replaced with someone who is motivated in helping customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
212westwash
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 16, 2014

Fifth time

We love the hotel. Being close to shopping, restaurants and just being able to walk around town. This is our fifth stay at this hotel. Can not wait till next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedWithOrbitz
Puerto Vallarta
Jan 5, 2014

It was Ok

The original provided room was actually half a room. we complained & were provided a larger room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top