$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
353 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pine City, MN
Nov 2, 2009

Good Location-Not So Great Accomodation

We were in Puerto Vallarta for vacation, and had a great time. The most disappointing part of the trip, however, was the accomodations. When we first checked in, they brought us to a tiny room where there was barely enough room to turn around. There was a very small balcony with two chairs, a small table and a dillapidated railing. It overlooked the roof over the lobby and there was absolutely no view of the ocean. From [...] description, I understood that all rooms were "superior" in this hotel and all of them overlook the ocean. That is not true at all! They also state that there are three pools. There is one pool that has a wall in the middle and this counts as 2 pools. The other one is a kiddie pool. The hot tub was dangerously hot. I had them switch us to another room where we could somewhat breathe, and had a partial view of the ocean - but still no balcony. The bed was very uncomfortable and the room was not clean at all. The hotel overall was not clean. They really need to get some major bleach and clean the whole place up. The food was marginal. The breakfast buffet was good the first two days, then after that the food was cold at every meal. We told the staff each day that the food was cold, but it was never improved. The best food we got was ordering off the menu, which was very limited in our all inclusive plan. I have been to Mexico (other cities) four times now and this is definitely the worst accomodations I have experienced. The beach scene was very nice and the staff was very accomodating. The location was good as you could walk to just about anywhere to have fun, and if not it was a short cab ride. While in PV, we enjoyed a Pirate Ship sunset cruise, and also went Zip Lining (canopy tour) which was very fun. I would not reccomend staying at Playa Los Arcos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go on a canopy tour up in the jungle, if you are adventurous at all. We went through Los Veranos and got to zip across 14 lines. The guides were great, and it was a beautiful trip over the tops of trees and across a giant river valley. This was the highlight of our trip.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disapointed Couple
Indianapolis Indiana
Jun 29, 2010

Would not Stay in Playa Los Arcos

The hotel did not feel very clean, it was a colonial style hotel so the furniture was old, made of wood and smelled funny, the sheets were disgusting and our first room did not have air. When we asked to switch rooms they said that Mexico was hot and that is why our room was hot. We finally switched rooms from our first one that was unacceptable. We wanted to stay in a room that was air conditioned, didn't have holes in the walls and wasn't absolutely disgusting, and the staff made it seem like we were such a burden. Also, we upgraded to all inclusive which did not include much of anything, it was actually just a buffet and they tried to charge us a 100 dollars for not turning in our bracelets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hans "Flecko"
New York, NY.
Jan 16, 2011

Horrific Experience

Playa Los Arcos:*Lost our reservation*Did not honor [...] discount on food*Called Police on a registered hotel guest because the security thought he was not a hotel guest (Which tells me they have a unorganized staff!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
5-Star NY Hotel Employee
NY
Jan 12, 2010

Playa Los Hongos Black Mold Hotel

Left 20 minutes after being shown three different rooms that reeked of mold. On the way out we noticed black mold on the garden walls, and couldn't help feeling justified when a staff member rolled his eyes and shook my hand to congratulate us for having the good sense to refuse to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john henrey31
pleasanthill calif
Dec 20, 2010

not avery good hotel

you can not bring anyone to your room to visit you the hotel has very bad wi fi you can not get recption in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RegularTravelerToMexico
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2010

STAY AWAY! Trashy, crazy staff!

Worst Puerto Vallarta hotel trip ever. The staff here treat you like criminals - they actually made my partner and I wait while they INSPECTED THE ROOM upon checkout! [*] STAY AWAY. Oh, and they wouldn't let our friend hang out with us while we were at the hotel - he had to wait outside of the property! We're normal guys in our 30's - just absolutely STUNNED at the treatment we received here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super trooper
San Francisco, CA
May 19, 2010

Pass this one up

Staff tried as best they could to accommodate but the Hotel was just not suitable for my health. The humidity is obviously a challenge for this climate but the mold growing on the drapes was unacceptable and the smell of mildew was nauseating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john henrey31
pleasanthill calif
Dec 20, 2010

not avery good hotel

you can not bring anyone to your room to visit you the hotel has very bad wi fi you can not get recption in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RegularTravelerToMexico
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2010

STAY AWAY! Trashy, crazy staff!

Worst Puerto Vallarta hotel trip ever. The staff here treat you like criminals - they actually made my partner and I wait while they INSPECTED THE ROOM upon checkout! [*] STAY AWAY. Oh, and they wouldn't let our friend hang out with us while we were at the hotel - he had to wait outside of the property! We're normal guys in our 30's - just absolutely STUNNED at the treatment we received here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
goodguy2u
california
Mar 10, 2013

Why stay at a low quality place when on vacation

I had such a horrible stay here, I left for another hotel after the first night. The room had a view, but the safe did not work, two lights were broken, the AC did not work well, I had to sleep with the door open to cool the room down. Many other people connected to my balcony, so sleeping with a door open was a little scary. I was meeting some gay friends in town, when they came to the lobby to meet me they were told they were not welcome there by the staff. When I talked to the desk about this, they really didn’t have much to say but “Go”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I rented a condo, was three timnes as big as a hotel room, better accomodations, and was cheaper. I paid $110/day for 1-bedroom.

Back to menu Return to top