$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
263 reviews
we had a fantastic time

Hotel is in the best part of P.V. , you are right on the beach and honestly there is not a bad room... See full review

  • james m.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Good family hotel

This hotel has a great location, heated pool, nice beach, the rooms are decent. I would go there... See full review

  • Lucian
  • Jan 27, 2015
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Ready to Be Home
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2012

Not a resort, but a nice place to lay your head while enjoying the area

Playa los Arcos is a boutique hotel. In some places its title includes the word resort and in others it does not, so they need to standardize their brand. You will not find the usual resort amenities like rentals, multiple restaurants, or a large, spreading property. It's a hotel with a restaurant, a pool, and a small spa. It's located in the heart of the Romantic Zone, with its rustic appeal and bustling night life. We were initially given a room with two doubles, and as a happy couple we definitely wanted a king. The clerk apologized and offered to move us on the second day. The first room (with the doubles) appeared to be a non-renovated room. It had that odor that some say is typical of PV hotel rooms, the paint on the walls was cracking, and it felt smaller. However, the king-bed room was larger, smelled nice, was better decorated. Both rooms were ocean-view and the view was amazing. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of waves and seagulls, as well as sitting on the balcony and watching the people and the water. The hotel is on the beach, so within a matter of steps you can enjoy the sand, sun, and the various things being sold by vendors--parasailing, henna tattoos, snorkeling excursions, etc. There is a section of lounge chairs reserved for hotel guests as well--in sets of two chairs and an umbrella. Hotel staff are wonderful. They are always smiling and always ready to help. The rooms do not come with some things you might find standard in hotel rooms like an iron or even room service. But you can ask for almost any item and they'll bring it up. As for room service, it's easy enough to walk down to the restaurant, order something, and bring it up yourself--although the restaurant's food left much to be desired. If you like food or drinks other than beer, skip the all-inclusive option and do your eating and drinking outside the hotel. Overall, PLA was good enough for what we wanted. We did not go to PV to bask in the luxury of our room or hotel/resort. We went to enjoy PV and all we wanted from our hotel was a decent place to lay our heads at night. It fit that bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe la Olla and Margarita Grill are right down the street (take left out front door of hotel, and turn right on first street). Great for lunch or dinner and drinks. Fredy's Tucan is about a block further and is awesome for breakfast. All of these restaurants cater to tourists, but still feel like PV.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 30, 2012

Third Year In a Row

The hotel is convenient to getting out and just walking around. We are planning on coming back again this year. The hotel's entertainment at dinner needs some major improvement. We usually try to eat before the entertainment begins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Az Coupe Jason
Business
Tempe Arizona
Aug 20, 2012

Great location, Great Staff!!

Dont expect a Westin or a Hilton Hotel.. this is a Very Mexican Style Hotel with a ton of Charm, The All inclusive is a great value, if your a foodie it will not be for you.. regardless the food was good the drinks are good.. the pool has a ton of kids in it so if your wanting a nice adult weekend make sure they put you in the Adult only hotel.. also the beach is great we found the beach to be far better about quarter mile south takes 4 min to walk there.. TOns of great places to eat with in min of the hotel.. no need for a car. ALSO BEWARE OF NON STOP BEACH VENDORS they are 20% of the beach population and will bug the snot out of you!!..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadDoggie
Business
el paso texas
Jul 14, 2012

Relaxing Vacation 2012

The hotel was great, the staff was amazing. Whatever we need we were accomadated and satisfied. I will definitely be back soon. October 2012 here we come again. This time it will be with the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to have a drink would be apaches almost right in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skt54
Business
Arkansas, USA
May 25, 2012

Playa Los Arcos

This is the second time I have been to Playa Los Arcos in seven months, and will be going back in three months. I buy the AI because it is reasonable, I want t, and the food is decent. I have been going to PV for years and am aware of the wonderful food available in various locations. The breakfast at PLA is cooked to order eggs/omelets, waffles, pancakes, beautiful fresh fruit, Mexican chocolate (which I love), and several other dishes. For lunch I do not eat the buffet, but rather have fresh guacamole, quesidillas, nachos or hamburger at the grill area. I find the dinners to be plentiful, varied and above average on the buffet. If one stays a week, you are treated to two menu meals for dinner. Both of my choices were excellent. The location of PLA is superb. Just a few steps from the Malecon, the river, shopping, restaurants, a market place, and a nice expanse of beach either direction you might care to walk. The staff is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The bartenders pour a healthy drink and will pour mas if asked nicely. The rooms/bathrooms are small, furnished with Mexican furniture and extremely clean. I ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor as near the beach as possible and have received it for no upgrade cost. The two wings of the hotel are slanted so that many of the rooms, though not facing the bay, still have a decent view. Most of the rooms have balconies, I never ran out of hot water and the air conditioner worked better than the other local hotels where I used to stay. This is a VERY child friendly hotel. My only suggestion would be for them to have an adult only pool area. If you are looking for local culture, warm friendly people, good service and a fantastic location, you would enjoy PLA. It is not a Hilton, Marriott or the Ritz and if that's what you want, don't go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take an insulated cup for your drinks on the beach and you won't have to go back and forth to the bar so often. Beach service is not included in AI, however the bar is convenient to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Its ALL Good
Business
Los Gatos, CA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Best Location in PV

Although definitely a hotel with 3 star amenities and service, you cannot beat the location right on the beach, the room was cozy with a great view, and the restaurant had fun entertainment to start the evenings off. Also, I was able to figure out which staff members were most helpful and spoke the best English after a day or two. Would def go back for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the tourist trap restaurants along the ocean front, except for a beer and some chips and salsa. Overall the food and service at these places were inferior and the prices were basically the same as in the US. The smaller local restaurants and vendors on the streets behind the hotel and throughout the city offered much better food at 1/10th the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
len len
Business
hayward, ca
Apr 9, 2012

location great

Hotel is kind of old and rustic, linens are old and bathroom are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick7007
Business
Corona, California
Apr 6, 2012

An annual New Years Getaway.

Had a real good time, employees were great. Not too much noise where are room was located, real close to all the clubs that we like. I saw a comment before about the noise, but we didn’t have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful of your surroundings, and that’s any where you are, even in the US. We never had a problem in all the years we been there, but just be safe and don’t drink too much lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobcad36
Business
Shoreview, MN, USA
Mar 27, 2012

no ordinary 3star hotel.

it is average on amenities, but it is the best location in town. it's on the best beach, and the staff are wonderful.I stay here every year,and will next year too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 for 1 ribs from 2-4pm mon.-fri. at Torito's. Also try the pancake house up the block. Great meals cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwire2
Business
canada
Mar 24, 2012

nothing fancy

rooms are small, very old and not updated internet access spotty at best good access to beach and restaurants spent 3 weeks there, rooms too cramped for prolonged stay restaurant good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of eating establishments to choose from in a vary short walk, food is good in quality and price, first time we stayed right in Old Town, would do it again but look for larger hotel room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top