$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
246 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
faithandsurvival
Brentwood, California
Nov 17, 2012

Great location, however the buffet gets old

My girlfriend and I had a chance to stay 10 days at Playa Los Arcos hotel. The positives, location, location, location. Every morning we were up early, got some coffee at the local place and were walking the Melacon within one minute. For evenings we were located in the middle of everything, at least 40 restaurants and bars within 3 blocks in any direction. The rooms were cleaned well everyday, and the staff did their best to clean the rest of the facilities. Average would be the rooms themselves, you are not walking into a Westin, or Hilton, the rooms are getting old, and not set up well, still know from the bump on my head every time I tried to get into the closet. The not so good, the buffet. We did the all inclusive package and the food was always bland. Some type of meat or fish with sauce, tons of sauce, over and over and over. It seems when you book the all-inclusive you would get to eat at the Maximmillian restaurant however not the case, all you get is the buffet. Our power went out two days for almost half the day, perhaps that is just life in Mexico, or America soon. The location however trumps all problems, we just ate in other spots, where in downtown PV are usually very reasonable and good. We will stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do everything in your power to avoid the timeshare flock at the Airport, and Tequila "free" vendors.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marco1
Vancouver BC
Nov 12, 2012

Great for families with kids

this is a good value hotel perfect for families , right on the beach in the zone romantica. Live entertainment every night, ( could be a bit noisy) but it stops right at 11pm. Pool is great for kids and it is right on the beach. Rooms are clean and comfortable and food is good. I would stay there again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and check out Joe Jacks fish shack amazing food and hospitality

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bailey Papasan
Lakeport Calif
Nov 1, 2012

Needs some help

Food was not as good as it could be. The staff was fantastic and worked very hard. Beach location was great and hotel location was in heart of old town and the local bus service great. Dont change your Air Line tickets with US Air because it will cost you a arm and leg. The weathher was very hot and hummid but the hotel had no control of that. We came home early because of the weather and had a very bad experance in dealing with US Air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Ready to Be Home
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2012

Not a resort, but a nice place to lay your head while enjoying the area

Playa los Arcos is a boutique hotel. In some places its title includes the word resort and in others it does not, so they need to standardize their brand. You will not find the usual resort amenities like rentals, multiple restaurants, or a large, spreading property. It's a hotel with a restaurant, a pool, and a small spa. It's located in the heart of the Romantic Zone, with its rustic appeal and bustling night life. We were initially given a room with two doubles, and as a happy couple we definitely wanted a king. The clerk apologized and offered to move us on the second day. The first room (with the doubles) appeared to be a non-renovated room. It had that odor that some say is typical of PV hotel rooms, the paint on the walls was cracking, and it felt smaller. However, the king-bed room was larger, smelled nice, was better decorated. Both rooms were ocean-view and the view was amazing. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of waves and seagulls, as well as sitting on the balcony and watching the people and the water. The hotel is on the beach, so within a matter of steps you can enjoy the sand, sun, and the various things being sold by vendors--parasailing, henna tattoos, snorkeling excursions, etc. There is a section of lounge chairs reserved for hotel guests as well--in sets of two chairs and an umbrella. Hotel staff are wonderful. They are always smiling and always ready to help. The rooms do not come with some things you might find standard in hotel rooms like an iron or even room service. But you can ask for almost any item and they'll bring it up. As for room service, it's easy enough to walk down to the restaurant, order something, and bring it up yourself--although the restaurant's food left much to be desired. If you like food or drinks other than beer, skip the all-inclusive option and do your eating and drinking outside the hotel. Overall, PLA was good enough for what we wanted. We did not go to PV to bask in the luxury of our room or hotel/resort. We went to enjoy PV and all we wanted from our hotel was a decent place to lay our heads at night. It fit that bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe la Olla and Margarita Grill are right down the street (take left out front door of hotel, and turn right on first street). Great for lunch or dinner and drinks. Fredy's Tucan is about a block further and is awesome for breakfast. All of these restaurants cater to tourists, but still feel like PV.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
212westwash
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 30, 2012

Third Year In a Row

The hotel is convenient to getting out and just walking around. We are planning on coming back again this year. The hotel's entertainment at dinner needs some major improvement. We usually try to eat before the entertainment begins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Az Coupe Jason
Tempe Arizona
Aug 20, 2012

Great location, Great Staff!!

Dont expect a Westin or a Hilton Hotel.. this is a Very Mexican Style Hotel with a ton of Charm, The All inclusive is a great value, if your a foodie it will not be for you.. regardless the food was good the drinks are good.. the pool has a ton of kids in it so if your wanting a nice adult weekend make sure they put you in the Adult only hotel.. also the beach is great we found the beach to be far better about quarter mile south takes 4 min to walk there.. TOns of great places to eat with in min of the hotel.. no need for a car. ALSO BEWARE OF NON STOP BEACH VENDORS they are 20% of the beach population and will bug the snot out of you!!..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadDoggie
el paso texas
Jul 14, 2012

Relaxing Vacation 2012

The hotel was great, the staff was amazing. Whatever we need we were accomadated and satisfied. I will definitely be back soon. October 2012 here we come again. This time it will be with the whole family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to have a drink would be apaches almost right in front of the hotel.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skt54
Arkansas, USA
May 25, 2012

Playa Los Arcos

This is the second time I have been to Playa Los Arcos in seven months, and will be going back in three months. I buy the AI because it is reasonable, I want t, and the food is decent. I have been going to PV for years and am aware of the wonderful food available in various locations. The breakfast at PLA is cooked to order eggs/omelets, waffles, pancakes, beautiful fresh fruit, Mexican chocolate (which I love), and several other dishes. For lunch I do not eat the buffet, but rather have fresh guacamole, quesidillas, nachos or hamburger at the grill area. I find the dinners to be plentiful, varied and above average on the buffet. If one stays a week, you are treated to two menu meals for dinner. Both of my choices were excellent. The location of PLA is superb. Just a few steps from the Malecon, the river, shopping, restaurants, a market place, and a nice expanse of beach either direction you might care to walk. The staff is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful. The bartenders pour a healthy drink and will pour mas if asked nicely. The rooms/bathrooms are small, furnished with Mexican furniture and extremely clean. I ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor as near the beach as possible and have received it for no upgrade cost. The two wings of the hotel are slanted so that many of the rooms, though not facing the bay, still have a decent view. Most of the rooms have balconies, I never ran out of hot water and the air conditioner worked better than the other local hotels where I used to stay. This is a VERY child friendly hotel. My only suggestion would be for them to have an adult only pool area. If you are looking for local culture, warm friendly people, good service and a fantastic location, you would enjoy PLA. It is not a Hilton, Marriott or the Ritz and if that's what you want, don't go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take an insulated cup for your drinks on the beach and you won't have to go back and forth to the bar so often. Beach service is not included in AI, however the bar is convenient to the beach.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Its ALL Good
Los Gatos, CA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Best Location in PV

Although definitely a hotel with 3 star amenities and service, you cannot beat the location right on the beach, the room was cozy with a great view, and the restaurant had fun entertainment to start the evenings off. Also, I was able to figure out which staff members were most helpful and spoke the best English after a day or two. Would def go back for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the tourist trap restaurants along the ocean front, except for a beer and some chips and salsa. Overall the food and service at these places were inferior and the prices were basically the same as in the US. The smaller local restaurants and vendors on the streets behind the hotel and throughout the city offered much better food at 1/10th the cost.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
len len
hayward, ca
Apr 9, 2012

location great

Hotel is kind of old and rustic, linens are old and bathroom are small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to boardwalk

Back to menu Return to top

Change search