Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
246 reviews
Mexico 2013

Stayed here before & pleased again. Like the convenience of money exchange in the lobby. Walking... See full review

  • SooZee Cue
  • Apr 25, 2014
Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be... See full review

  • super hymey
  • Feb 3, 2014
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6014 -105.2377
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Nearby airports
PVR - Puerta Vallarta International, six miles
Area description
Located on the best beach "Playa del Sol" a gorgeous stretch of beach on south downtown hotel zone. Just 5 minutes walking distance from downtown Vallarta.

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HereIam
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Mar 19, 2013

Great location, great staff!

We have been in this hotel twice a year in 5 past years, and every time we have really enjoyed it. Hotel is in excellent location in Zona Romantica, right next to ocean with breathtaking views from balcony, close to downtown for shopping, and right next to nightlife (clubs and such) facilities. The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff (our room was washed and cleaned daily), and food excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandeegrl57
Business
Minnesota
Mar 15, 2013

Perfect location to stay in Vallarta

The Los Arcos was the perfect location to stay while in Puerto Vallarta. The food was good. We did the all inclusive a couple days and thought it was a good value.The staff were friendly and helpful. Good shopping, night life and restaurants within walking distance. We stayed in just the standard room. Beds were pretty comfortable- for Mexico but the bathroom was small, cramped and annoying. Not good, but all in all if you want to be right in the midst of things this is a great place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MacP
Business
California
Mar 12, 2013

Great vacation

Stayed here in March 2012 and again in March 2013. Love the location in the romantic zone. Nice pool, easy beach access, lots of restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
goodguy2u
Business
california
Mar 11, 2013

sad stay

Room had broken items, AC was poor, Noisy, no guests allow in property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
goodguy2u
Business
california
Mar 10, 2013

Why stay at a low quality place when on vacation

I had such a horrible stay here, I left for another hotel after the first night. The room had a view, but the safe did not work, two lights were broken, the AC did not work well, I had to sleep with the door open to cool the room down. Many other people connected to my balcony, so sleeping with a door open was a little scary. I was meeting some gay friends in town, when they came to the lobby to meet me they were told they were not welcome there by the staff. When I talked to the desk about this, they really didn’t have much to say but “Go”.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I rented a condo, was three timnes as big as a hotel room, better accomodations, and was cheaper. I paid $110/day for 1-bedroom.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sr Moonlight
Business
Boise, ID
Mar 7, 2013

Two weeks in paradise

We had a great time in PVA, and much of that was due to the Playa Los Arcos. Our first-floor poolside (actually on the second level) room came with a large balcony, which we enjoyed. The size of the room was adequate, but had two double beds (most of the rooms are configured that way); we would have preferred a king. Bathroom was small, but adequate. Location was great; hotel is adjacent to Playa Los Muertos (the beach), and within close walking distance of many fine restaurants. We ate breakfast at Mi Pueblito in the hotel twice, but were not impressed. The room did not come with a refrigerator, but the hotel provided one upon request. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous great restaurants - Daiquiri Dick's, La Bohemia, Si Senior, Freddy's Toucan, The River, Margarita Grill, La Palapa, Joe Jack's, Memos, No Way Jose - within a five-block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain T J
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2013

Best location for a oceanside vacation.

The front desk people were more than helpful.I got the room I requested. They even upgraded my room at no extra charge. I have stayed at Playa Los Arcos many times and their location on the ocean and center of the city made the trip a delight. I would have enjoyed the hotel enforcing the no smoking rule in the common areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cathedral is beautiful but not everyone is Catholic. There is a very welcoming Anglican/Episcopalian Church across the street from the Airport. Ask the cab to take you to the airport car rentals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neel M
Business
New Jersey
Feb 21, 2013

Friendly family getaway

Staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. Interesting activities like paper flowermaking and water aerobics Daily live music in restaurant/bar Downtown location excellent for beach , boardwalk and lively restaurants and bars Room decor and floors need updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rhythms of the night cruise was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
normanzee
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Could be better

To Start we booked and paid extra for an upgraded ocean view room and were given a dungeon like room with one window looking out to a dumpy, unfinished building and the bathroom was terrible and the floors filthy (as I could tell by walking around the room barefooted and seeing the soles of my feet almost black with dirt after a few minutes. After a lot of intense complaining at the front desk, the next day we were moved to a nice room with an ocean view, but no apology or rebate for the terrible first night. Even though our new room was nice, the toilet leaked (water coming in thankfully, not going out with a flush) and we told the front desk. They said someone would be up to fix it that day. Well, we checked out seven days later and the toilet was never fixed. Thankfully, we had plenty of towels to put at the base of the toilet to mop up the water. Would we go there again? Actually we would because the location is excellent for us as its so close to everything. But we would be sure to call the hotel direct to confirm an upgrade and hope everything works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancho's Takos, great tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scorpious
Business
Palm Springs Ca
Feb 3, 2013

Great Location

Great location on PV. Great beach, and pool. Restauraunt not that great, too pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Archies Wok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top