$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
263 reviews
we had a fantastic time

Hotel is in the best part of P.V. , you are right on the beach and honestly there is not a bad room... See full review

  • james m.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Good family hotel

This hotel has a great location, heated pool, nice beach, the rooms are decent. I would go there... See full review

  • Lucian
  • Jan 27, 2015
Highlights
  • 171 renovated Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms
  • Themed dinner shows three nights a week
  • Three freshwater pools
  • Daily activities program and children's club
  • Spa treatments
Tropical resort hosts daily activities, themed dinners and kids' club
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a perfect location: Playa Del Sol, a five-minute walk to Downtown Vallarta. The 171-room resort is steeped in luxury, boasting Mexican Colonial-inspired rooms filled with artisan furniture and tile, and three freshwater pools that fuel the road to bliss. Parents take full advantage of the supervised kids' club and all the other on-site amenities, from scuba diving to spa services. Themed entertainment three nights a week puts guests in the Mexican vacation mood.
Rooms
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa rooms capture Mexican Colonial style. Filled with hand-carved wood furniture by local artisans and bright Mexican tile, the 171 renovated rooms might feel like guests' own private apartments. Standard amenities include cable TV, air-conditioning, safes, hair-dryers and direct-dial telephones. Master suites have a welcome bonus: a large terrace with an ocean view, living room, dining room and kitchenette.
Features
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is rich in recreational activities, starting with three freshwater pools and Jacuzzis that overlook the Bay of Banderas. A daily activities roster caters to fitness buffs of all types, from the scuba diver to the beach volleyball lover. The spa beckons with pampering facials, massages and nail and body treatments. Parents can relax while kids make arts and crafts during the supervised children's program.
Dining
The Bay of Banderas serves as a stunning backdrop for dining outside at Mi Pueblito, whose roomy terrace is prime space for visitors craving international cuisine. At Kaiser Maximilian Cafe, patrons feast on the finest European fare. The hotel also hosts live entertainment three nights a week. While savoring the Mexican buffet, for example, diners might watch the troupes of Mexican dancers twirling on the floor.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa Rooms

Superior Room
Rooms with one king bed or two double beds, private balcony or patio, marble bath room with shower, hair dryer, air-conditioned, in room safe, cable TV, direct dial telephone, ironing board on request. Superior Ocean View and Superior Ocean front are available at extra charge (based on request)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Tlaloc Palapa Bar
With live music nightly for your listening and dancing pleasure.
Mi Pueblito
In Mi Pueblito restaurant, you will enjoy our exquisite Mexican and international cousine. Enjoy our food on our terrace at the edge of the ocean with a precious view of the bay and a romantic yet friendly atmosphere that allows you to admire the beautiful "puestas del sol" (sunsets) of Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super hymey
Business
colorado
Feb 3, 2014

Great location and sweet place

This is an old colonial hotel, we loved the feel and charm of this place, the location cant be beat. staff was great, accommodated us perfectly on the upgrade of our room. The décor is soooo cute and charming. pool was very warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

inclusive is good at this hotel, but there are sooooo many fine wonderful and charming restaurants walking distance to this hotel that you really limit yourself if you do inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peaby
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 24, 2014

Great location but that is about it

The hotel is located at a great central location. You can walk everywhere and is right there on the beach. I choose this hotel based on previous reviews but the room fell a little short. There was a moldy smell to the room, there is mold on the curtain corners and the beds are not comfortable. There is barely pressure in the shower and we had to wait for the hot water to come on. Not what I expect for the money I had paid. The staff is pretty friendly and courteous but the concierge was not helpful at all. She should be replaced with someone who is motivated in helping customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kat miss smiley
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 23, 2014

Great location in Old Town!

I have stayed many times at the Playa los Arcos. You couldn't ask for a better location. Right on the beach, next to the pier. Walking distance to wonderful restaurants and bars. The staff are always friendly, the hotel is clean and the food and drinks are good. This is my go to hotel in PV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
212westwash
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 16, 2014

Fifth time

We love the hotel. Being close to shopping, restaurants and just being able to walk around town. This is our fifth stay at this hotel. Can not wait till next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyro
Business
Puerto vallarta
Jan 11, 2014

Good for kids

Every good location, nothing fancy but very convenient the buffet by 3rd day can get a bit boring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DisappointedWithOrbitz
Business
Puerto Vallarta
Jan 5, 2014

It was Ok

The original provided room was actually half a room. we complained & were provided a larger room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jorgemori
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 1, 2014

Overpriced. Needs updates

You are paying for the central location and the access to the beach. We were disappointed by the quality of this hotel. The building is old, and needs to be updated. Sometimes we'd run out of hot water in the middle of a shower. TV signal is bad. Air conditioning is really loud. We were given a "superior" room facing the street. Needless to say that in this area of town that means you won't be able to sleep until 3am or so and then the traffic will wake you up around 9… only the constant white noise from the air conditioning provided some relief. To be fair, staff was polity and did a decent job in keeping the place clean. But for the price we had to pay, we were expecting better quality accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spike and Catey
Business
Penticton, Canada
Dec 29, 2013

The location is perfect

I really enjoyed my stay at the Playa Los Acros. The hotel & grounds aren't a 5 star resort, and the food (we went all inclusive) was a bit boring, but the staff make all the difference. Being in the "Romantic Zone" (appearently re-named "Gay Vallarta"), everything is at your finger tips from shopping to the nightlife. Andales (best bar in Vallarta for anyone over 35) is just across the street. The beach is out the other end. Both the Malecon is just a short walk away, and the south bus loop is 2 blocks away. I loved my stay at the Los Arcos and have no problem going back again & recommending it to anyone who'll listen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
champagnery
Business
Adelaide, Australia
Dec 19, 2013

Ideal for families and young people

Noisy! But the kids (up to 40 years old) loved it. NOT a place for the quiet reader and thinker. Pricing is fair, and if you like the beach, the location couldn't be better. Good atmosphere right on the beach for eating and drinking; every type of shop within easy walking distance, and because elf the proximity to the sea, not quite as humid as only one street back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside the hotel, foodie's hamburgers and proper crisp chips - everything cooked freshly. Derby City Burgers, 356 Olas Altas, turn left outside hotel. Across the road, perfect coffee. PS Laundry service across the street. PPS Add $15 and get full ocean front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hillch
Business
Loma Linda California
Dec 5, 2013

All Inclusive

The hotel rooms were adequate but neat and clean. View was good of the pool and beach. Staff was excellent helping whenever they could. They actually asked us if we wanted to move to better rooms (the next day) at check in. Buffet food was good but we ate out three nights. The waiters brought drinks all day long on the beach and the dining room. Dining room was on the beach side with great views. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top