$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenners
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 3, 2009

Good price, great location

Location was superb - right on the ocean, the malecon and close to great restaurants. The concierge Paulina was great - provided wonderful tips on local tours and the best bang for your buck (canopy tour, sea safari). Hotel has a pool side and a street side - we had the street side which was very noisy. Food at the hotel restaurant Mi Pueblita was horrendous (dried out, rubbery, tasteless seafood) so I would not recommend all-inclusive. Local restaurants such as Trio, Archie's Wok, Daiquiri Dick's, La Palapa are all within walking distance and affordably priced with great regional and international cuisine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT do all-inclusive at this resort. The hotel restaurant Mi Pueblita has the worst food we encountered in Puerto Vallarta. When they are begging you to enter their restaurant, then you know the food is bad. Look for the restaurants that have lines outside their doors - La Palapa, Daiquiri Dick's, Trio, Archie's Wok - as these are within a short walking distance, some are even located right on the beach where you can watch the sunset as you enjoy your dinner. Restaurants are very reasonably priced - anywhere from an Applebee's/Friday's price range on the low end to at most about a Red Lobster price range at the high end. And the food is worth it! The open-faced shrimp sandwich at Daiquiri Dick's, the snapper, scallops and shrimp at La Palapa, the duck and the lamb at Trio and the shrimp and the smoked fish in banana leaves at Archie's Wok are all wonderful!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2008

Nice, comfortable hotel for families

I actually have no complaints to make as far as the accommodations. However, I do have complaints as to beach maintenance and pollutions. Noise pollution: The restaurant has a loud speaker and constantly playing music or promoting something, which is annoying if you care for tranquility. The worst pollution: Gas fumes from nearby boats hit the beach and water constantly. Who needs to be inhaling gas smell on a beach resort?? Another, the cigarette buds in the sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle
Dec 18, 2008

Playa Los Arcos

We stayed here for our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. Very nice hotel for the money I thought. Room was clean and comfortable although a bit noisy since we were on the street side so I would ask for a side room or upgrade to beach front. The food was ok, didn't really eat there other than for breakfast. Staff was very nice if not a bit slow. The location is great. Right on the beach and walking distance to many other restraunts (go to Fajita Republic)and some smaller bars also very close to the bars and clubs. It is about a 10-15 minute walk down the Malecon to get to old town where all the big clubs and night life are. Overall I thought it was a nice hotel for the price and if I were to go to PV again I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fajita Republic has the best food ever!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake Elsinore, *
Nov 1, 2008

Perfect location

Truly enjoyed a one week stay at this property. The location (on the beach in the old town/romantic zone area) can't be beat. My only complaint was that the mattress was very firm and I'm used to a mattress with a 3 foam topper on it. I didn't report my discomfort so I don't know if there was anything that could be done about it. The restaurant looked nice but there are so many great restaurants in the area that I never ate a meal on the premises. Most all are a short walk away but taxis and buses are convenient also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Oct 18, 2008

My review of Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Great location. Friendly staff. easy to get around. Great value for money. Would recommend it for anyone especially families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Loveland, *
Oct 5, 2008

Finally a little bit of the Old Mexico

I use to live in Mexico ... back in 1984 and have visited all over the pacific side. I loved it. It is on the South side of the river and there are tons of great restaurants and other places to see and do. I had a bottom floor room and it was quite and right next to the pool. It did have that old moldy smell, but the humity is high and we even had a little lizard visit us in the room. They are really cool to watch. The hotel has two large iguanas that hang around and they were awesome to see ... they are not tame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants and coffee shops head south or east and you will find everything you want. Love this part of town.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Salem
Aug 23, 2008

Location, Location, Location

Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort was located in the heart of Puerto Vallarta's romantic old town, a short walk away from the heart of town. All the best restaurants in PV are just blocks away. The hotel's location directly on the beach was perfect, everything at our fingertips. The most impressive thing about Playa Los Arcos is that it is the choice of many Mexican national tourist families, helping to create a cosmopolitan atmosphere blending tourists from Euope, North America and Central America. The hotel is family friendly and mostly bilingual staff are very helpful. We will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Apr 5, 2008

The Los Arcos hotel is in ...

The Los Arcos hotel is in old town Puerto Vallarta. Therefore the hotel comes with the territory. The room was very small and smelled of mold. All the walls were stained yellow hinting that mold might be a problem. After finding this to be our reality for the week we made up our mind that a room is a room just to lay your head but in reality you work hard all week for some pampering on vacation. After getting used to small quarters and living space we had no choice but to look for fun else where. We definately found that in the staff. They were very American friendly and we shared many laughs throughout the trip. The hotel bar/resturaunt is very average. Even though the people were nice they could not make up for the average food. I would suggest eating at other places throughout your stay even though the all enclusive package will save you money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice resturaunts around if you look for them. Vista Grile is has the best view of the city. Maximillions right next door is great. Go see Luis!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco, CA
Mar 31, 2008

Friendly and central to town

I've stayed at Playa Los Arcos on the beach at least 3 times and keep going back because it's friendly, comfortable, and located in an interesting part of town. This hotel is like a 4-star hotel gem. There seem to have been continuous maintenance and few changes over 20 years. The front entry water feature was removed many years ago to open up a view from the street of the courtyard and beach. The only more recent changes I could detect are: 1) a hot tub/spa was added next to the pool and 2)the larger of two the hotel's two pet iguanas has passed. May he rest in peace. Please understand that my own preference is generally to avoid isolated hotels and self-contained resort compound atmosphere--populated largely by foreign visitors. Playa Los Arcos is located on prime beach away from the airport and Nueva Vallarta. It's in a busy Mexican neighborhood. It has Mexican and foreign guests. People stop there for Sunday brunch. Walk out the front door of Playa Los Arcos and you're in town passing(and probably patronizing)some good restaurants (Brasil, Cafe du Sud, Maximillian's),--and also pair of great taco stands,--or walking down the malecon (an extended beach-fronting walk or plaza). Leave from the courtyard and you're at the hotel's al fresca bar/restaurant or on the beach. The weakest aspect of the hotel is probably its courtyard pool. It's an older U-shaped building, and the pool is squeezed into the courtyard which cuts into pedestrain circulation. Newer hotels--and just about any is newer than Playa Los Arcos--tend to have spacious giant kidney-shaped pools with wade-up bars. So, if you must sip your marguerita out of a coconut while wading knee-deep in a pool with 50 other tourists, you'd do better to seek shelter elsewhere. Need a cab. The Playa Los Arcos staff gets you one with a negotiated, fair fare. No dickering or over-charge. What Playa Los Arcos lacks in decadence or luxury, it exceeds these others in charm, location, and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Feb 19, 2008

Pleasant - but not all its made out to be.

The staff at Playa Los Arcos was very warm and friendly. I enjoyed most their care with respecting your privacy when posted on the door, but still calling to confirm if you would like service of the room. Although the rooms were spacious, I found the comfort of the beds to be less than desirable. Almost like adding large beds in the room was an afterthought - needless to say I didn't spend too much extra time relaxing in bed. Laying in the sand provided greater comfort. This hotel was quaint and in a great location - and for that I might consider staying here in the future. However, after meeting people in the area, some of the other nearby locations would likely fit the bill for comfort and relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great local restaurants in the area - although not all of the mexican flair. Many people have been coming here for years....and they know where the good food is located. I especially enjoyed Joe Jacks Fish Shack - newer location with EXCELLENT food, GREAT Mojito's and excellent staff.

Back to menu Return to top