$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of Olas Altas 380, Puerto Vallarta, 48380

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean B
Couples
Belen
Mar 2, 2015

Another great vacation in Puerto Vallarta

This was our 6th year with the Los Arcos family of hotels in the Romantic Zone of PV. This was our first stay at the main hotel Playa Los Arcos which is right on the beach and still allows you access to all three properties and their amenities. We had a great view of the pool/bar area and really nice view of the ocean from our patio. The staff at these sites are terrific and really do all that they can to ensure you have a very pleasant stay. We do the all inclusive and enjoy most of the meals at the main restaurant (Mi Publito) most call it the palapa. We enjoy the beach here and people watching is always fun. We saw whales the first three days but then they must have moved south as that is where the whale watching boat all went. We enjoy the fact that you can walk to anything you would want except the big box stores or marina, tons of great restaurants and shopping just a few steps away, great flea market on the weekends and the walkway along the ocean is a pleasure with sand carvings and other artist demonstrating their wares and many small food vendors. Just a fun place to be wish we were still there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick
Couples
Union City
Feb 15, 2015

Very nice hotel

Really enjoy this hotel for price and excellent location All enclusive was worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucian
Family
Shoreview
Jan 27, 2015

Good family hotel

This hotel has a great location, heated pool, nice beach, the rooms are decent. I would go there again. You can walk anywhere in the old town in less than 30 mins. On the plus side, I lost my watch at the pool and I was able to find it at the reception :). I had some bad experiences in the past at this hotel(some bad rooms), but this year everything was good from beginning to the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mini mee
Friends
Alburnett
Jan 21, 2015

puerto vallarta

the stay at play los arcos was ok.. the food was below average, seems like the same food all time.. room smelled a little like mold or sewer. Location was good. its a old hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita Rene
Friends
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Location is fabulous

The hotel was fabulous. I did not do the all inclusive plan because I like authentic street food. Tip: Mahi-Mahi grilled on a stick can be found on the Malecon for $2.50 USD. I have never had a bad experience with the street food except that I eat too much because it is so delicious. Free fresh ground brewed coffee every morning in two of the three property locations was so nice. For being a "Mexican" hotel, I found it nearly as pristine as any resort. The only negative for me was that my first room was small, bad location and not as nice as the room my sister was assigned. But I had read other reviews and it seems that asking for another room is a common practice. Most everybody I met was changing rooms the next day. After persistence, the next day we were given a beautiful room, off the street, facing the ocean and absolutely loved it. I will only stay here each year now on my annual January Puerto Vallarta get-away. If you like a more quiet environment, the two sister properties are perfect. I prefer to be in the heart of activity, noise, music and ocean so the Playa Los Arcos is my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating from street vendors is my favorite thing to do. I found Mahi-Mahi on a stick for a mere 25 pesos ($2.30 USD) which was as delicious and mouth watering as any $20 per plate sit down dinner. The location I go to is about two blocks from the hotel and it is a little hole-in-wall. They also offer tables right on the beach which we did one night and it was fabulous. Fresh cut fruits and veggies can be found for 22 pesos around the town interior in huge portions. I ate a large bag of cucumber and jicama every day along with several skewers of fresh grill fish on a stick. Also, don't miss the corn in a cup on the Malecon each night from about 6 p.m. and on. Add sour cream, cheese and lemon and it can be a meal.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheyob
Friends
jersey city
Jan 9, 2015

Great location in the heart of downtown

The hotel is located right by the water and i was very impressed with the buffet offerings for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not expensive at all. The proximity to playa de los muertos and all the restaurants and shops in downtown is priceless. The only thing i would recommend is to better the wifi network. I spent too much time at the lobby or hallways trying to connect because there was little to no reception in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
planas
Family
HUIXQUILUCAN
Jan 6, 2015

Nice family trip but crowded

The hotel is nice, but each day arrives at 11 a.m. crowds of people from other hotels with all-inclusive bracelets that makes a lot of noise and they occupy all the places in the pool and at the beach. It was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There´s a lot of nice places to have dinner.

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenny 0
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

50th birthday trip

Hotel was accommodating for our late arrival as AA kept delaying our flight. The room was fine I was just glad to be in P.V. First morning realized how small the bathroom was when water from the shower started running into the room. We were moved to an interior room with two double beds vs the one king we had. Once we were there the room was ok. The air would never automatically stop so we were either too hot or cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have an open mind. Bring as little as you can and enjoy the beach!

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sue J.
Family
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

This hotel does NOT care about you

This hotel is in a great location and that is the only good thing about it. Your room is not ready at check in time and they don't care. The hot tub is NEVER hot (and neither are the showers) and they don't care. Hotel staff is not even rude, they simply couldn't care less if you're happy or not. The only nice people are the maids. They are sweet and overworked. Breakfast buffet is awful and overpriced. You CANNOT put your chair in the front row on the beach because it is pre sold to non staying guests from cruise lines. Security (with guns) will literally remove you if you try to sit there. We locked our iPads, phones and other valuables in the safe but left one iPad charger out and sure enough, it disappeared. (Maid blamed but pretty sure it wasn't her--places like this always blame the maid). For the life of me, I do not understand how anyone, ANYONE can give this hotel a good review. Do not believe them and DO NOT STAY HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Playa Los Arcos Beach Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana S
Couples
Fresno
Dec 29, 2014

Wonderful winter vacation

We requested an Ocean Front View room ahead of time. Martha and Hilda in reservations were very helpful and reserved us a great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuates y Cuetes is a great place on the Beachwalk for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Happy Hour and/or Sunset watching next to the new pier. They have a great Seafood soup!

Back to menu Return to top