$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
484 reviews
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Nice vacation

Our family of four had a really great time at Melia. Location is great, our view from the balcony... See full review

  • Timosha
  • Jun 24, 2013
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.6605 -105.25
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco - MEXICO
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta - Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Area description
Puerto Vallarta is located on the Banderas Bay, one of the most beautiful and largest Bays in the world. Puerto Vallarta is a typical Mexican town with exclusive championship golf courses and world-class gastronomy. Enjoy natural and adventure activities and tours including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking, and a lot of interesting places to visit by sea, land or air.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 484
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daledude
grand rapids, mi
May 5, 2014

had a great time

Wife and I came to Melia for our 30th anniv, had a great time. A few cons: Seemed to spend a lot of time waiting every time I needed to talk to front desk. Even though the website says no spring breakers, 14 busses came full of students from some med college the last 2 days we were there. It was pretty rowdy and you couldn't get anywhere near the bar after they arrived, but all things considered, they were fairly well behaved. The staff was friendly and food was pretty good. Overall, I would not hesitate to come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your shopping around the criuse ship schedules. It will be less crowded and merchants will deal with you better on the days the ships are not in port.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JR0313
Chicago, IL
Apr 16, 2014

Great experience

The hotel is located 10 minutes far from the airport in the marina area. It is a beach front hotel, you just walk to the beach that is next to the pool area. What really makes this hotel a great experience is the service. Even if it is not the newest hotel in the area and it could have some details better taken care of, people everywhere are extremely dedicated to make you feel good. At the pool area we had not finished our drinks when multiple waiters were checking if we wanted another one. At the restaurants we had the same great service, at the bars they even let you know 15 minutes in advance they are closing so you can order another drink to go. The room was very clean, with excellent ocean views from the 8th floor. We had a problem with the lock at 2am, it won't let us get in the room, but we notified the front desk and in less than 10 minutes they sent someone who opened the door for us and fixed the lock. The king size bed was very good, flat screen TV with cable channels in English and Spanish. Food was not terrific, but it was good. You can make reservations at any of the three restaurants (part of your all inclusive package) or you can eat at the buffet. We has one free massage included that we could take at the pool, at the beach, or at the spa. There was a free city tour included that we enjoyed a lot. Bottom line, we are very satisfied with this hotel and we would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased airport transportation in advance and paid $70 for it. When we arrived Vallarta we were received by a travel agent who put us in a city cab and paid the driver the flat rate of 65 Mexican pesos which is about $5. There was no special service or added value on this, next time we can do it by ourselves and save money.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet Setter Jeremy
Puerto Vallarta, mexico
Mar 29, 2014

Melia Review

The hotel was beautiful with a great ocean view. However upon check-in (and throughout our stay), we were constantly being bugged by the vacation concierge to sit in for a timeshare presentation. Even after multiple "no's", the lady constantly pressured and asked us to sit in for the several hour presentation. At one point, she even said we had to sit in. Also, the vacation concierge were not very helpful in letting you know activities or attractions in Puerto Vallarta once you said no to the timeshares. Other than the constant pressure of time-share, this hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Most of the restaurants require a reservation the night before

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Handyman Jack
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 8, 2014

relax in the sun

Melia is ideal if you just want to sit by the pool and catch some rays. Every day was sun filled with temperatures in the mid eighties. There are activities available if you want. The BAD news is that the restaurants have a limited menu and accept LIMITED reservations that must be made no sooner that a day before. This can be upsetting when you have to eat an hour later then desired, yet the restaurant is more then half empty at the desired hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a marina across the street with many good, inexpensive restaurants.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin' Holidays
Alberta
Feb 25, 2014

Great return holiday

This was our third time enjoying the Melia Resort. Check in was easy and pleasant. What brings us back to the Melia is the very friendly staff, good food and clean resort. We love being close to the Marina for a change of scenery. Beyond the resort, the Malecon and Cheeky Monkeys, is a favourite. The only concern for the Melia is that the pool area is getting "tired" and could use some improvement and repair. In particular the lawn chairs and cushions all need replacing. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay very much. Hopefully, see you next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trixy Jo
Washington State
Feb 23, 2014

First timers

My husband and I have visited PV many times and heard great things about the Melia. We finally visited this February (2014). We were not disappointed!! The grounds were beautiful, the food was abundant and the location was perfect for us. Although the whole hotel and pool are due for a makeover, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Easy beach access, large pool, hammocks, games, a coffee shop (not included in the all-inclusive, but it was very affordable), lots of wildlife everywhere, spa, store-on-site and refers in our rooms!! Our only complaint was that they allowed kids at the swimup bar and in the lobby bar. I realize this is a family friendly resort, however, those are the 2 spots we thought children should not be allowed and were disappointed when we wanted to have adults-only times, and that wasn't possible. I didn't think it was great when there was no seating at the swimup bar because the kiddos had all the seats, nor was it appropriate for them to be running around the lobby bar late at night during Karaoke! Oh and one other downer was that there are no ice machines. You had to call room service to get ice - sometimes they tried to charge us, other times the didn't. Random. Other than that, we had a blast. The poolside games were fun and entertaining and the pool staff was incredible. The dining staff were great, too. Once they get through with the remodel, we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Our Lady of Guadalupe Church as the sun sets on it. Breathtaking,every time.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaypill
Vancouver
Nov 16, 2013

Perfect Mexican vacation

This was my first time in Mexico and at an all inclusive. I went with my boyfriend and we stayed at the melia for 10 days. I would highly recommend this resort! Yes it's a bit older but the rooms are fantastic the pool is huge and awesome and the service was outstanding. The food was fine the buffet has many different options and the three restaurants were also very nice. The only I would say if you don't want to be around kids then maybe this isn't the place for you because there are a lot of families. Otherwise we were completely in love with resort and would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hungry on vacation
Minnesota
May 8, 2013

Great location, unfriendly staff and limited food

The hotel is in a beautiful location and the hotel itself was fine. The entertainment was great. We enjoyed the beach and the pool, however, the staff was not very friendly to us. My husband and I are American and the staff seemed to prefer the Mexican guests (the hotel had mainly only Mexican guests). My husband and I are vegan (do not eat meat, dairy, eggs, etc.) and I also have an allergy to dairy. I had previously checked with the staff before booking to make sure they would have foods to accommodate us, and they had sent me a vegetarian and gluten free menu. However, when we got there, they had close to nothing for us to eat and none of the items they had emailed to me were even there. The resort has 2 sit down restaurants that you must make reservations for, so we only had 2 actual sit-down dinners which were for dinner. . These were fine and we had 2 full meals there, out of our 5 day stay. The rest of our meals were all buffets. The rest of the meals for each day are all buffets and they only thing we found to eat were french fries, chips and salsa, and fruit and vegetables. We were famished by the time we left and our best meal was a bean and rice burrito on the airport heading home. We were very disappointed and did not receive out moneys worth at this all-inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maray
San Diego
Apr 15, 2013

Ideal vacation

My wife and I booked an all inclusive week long trip to Puerto Vallarta to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. My brother and his wife flew in from Toronto and joined us. It was our first stay at an all inclusive hotel so we weren't totally sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived at the airport and made it past the hoards of people trying to sell timeshares we knew we had made the right choice. The concierge greeted us with a warm smile and put us in a waiting cab and 10 minutes later we were at the hotel. The hotel was great, everything we expected and more, modern, spacious, airy and clean, with lots of tropical plants, nice pool area and great ocean view. The hotel staff were all very helpful and extremely friendly and polite. The great service continued the entire time we were there. Food at the hotel was excellentt, way better than we expected. Weather was gorgeous, mid 80s and sunny all week. Our only complaint was how loud the announcers were during the pool activities. We took a bus into the town and cabbed it back one day. Felt completely safe at all times. We also went on a boat ride to the island for a day of snorkeling and scuba diving which was a blast. We would highly recommend this trip to my friends and will definitely be booking another all-inclusive trip to Mexico again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pace yourself, the restaurants and bars are open all day, ha…

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Badgerman
Wisconsin
Mar 26, 2013

2013 stay was disappointing

We have stayed at the Melia Puerto Vallarta every March for the past seven years. For the most part our stays have been fine. However, this year (2013) it appears that the Melia has gone downhill a bit. We were in Building 2 which has two elevators and only one was working the entire week we were there. We notified the front desk but the problem was never corrected. Our room on the 4th floor had quite a noticeable mildew smell to it. The plunger in the shower/bathtub was also defective. Reception on the flatscreen TV would come and go. We noticed that some of the staff we had come to know quite well during our seven years at the Melia were not there. We were told they took positions at other hotels. Read into this what you want but it is my belief they are downsizing and getting rid of some of the employees that were further up in the chain of command as a cost saving measure. It's too bad because most of the staff were very kind, considerate and helpful. In the Italian Restaurant (Vitrales# men were required to wear long pants so I switched from my casual shorts to denim jeans #which were considered dressy). The buffet food gets a bit repetitive after seven days. We've enjoyed our time at the Melia but I think next year we'll try somewhere else. For an all-inclusive you can't beat the package price of air and hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the local bus to the Malecon (boardwalk) and try some of the restaurants there. The locals are great to interact with.

Back to menu Return to top