$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
484 reviews
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Nice vacation

Our family of four had a really great time at Melia. Location is great, our view from the balcony... See full review

  • Timosha
  • Jun 24, 2013
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.6605 -105.25
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco - MEXICO
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta - Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Area description
Puerto Vallarta is located on the Banderas Bay, one of the most beautiful and largest Bays in the world. Puerto Vallarta is a typical Mexican town with exclusive championship golf courses and world-class gastronomy. Enjoy natural and adventure activities and tours including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking, and a lot of interesting places to visit by sea, land or air.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hungry on vacation
Minnesota
May 8, 2013

Great location, unfriendly staff and limited food

The hotel is in a beautiful location and the hotel itself was fine. The entertainment was great. We enjoyed the beach and the pool, however, the staff was not very friendly to us. My husband and I are American and the staff seemed to prefer the Mexican guests (the hotel had mainly only Mexican guests). My husband and I are vegan (do not eat meat, dairy, eggs, etc.) and I also have an allergy to dairy. I had previously checked with the staff before booking to make sure they would have foods to accommodate us, and they had sent me a vegetarian and gluten free menu. However, when we got there, they had close to nothing for us to eat and none of the items they had emailed to me were even there. The resort has 2 sit down restaurants that you must make reservations for, so we only had 2 actual sit-down dinners which were for dinner. . These were fine and we had 2 full meals there, out of our 5 day stay. The rest of our meals were all buffets. The rest of the meals for each day are all buffets and they only thing we found to eat were french fries, chips and salsa, and fruit and vegetables. We were famished by the time we left and our best meal was a bean and rice burrito on the airport heading home. We were very disappointed and did not receive out moneys worth at this all-inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CORY H.
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jul 23, 2012

STAY AWAY!!! Terrible service, accommodations and food = a poor vacation.

The Melia needs some serious help in their customer service department. We opted for the M-Experience package which is supposed to be their upgraded room and services. ROOM - We opened the door to our room and were immediately hit with the strongest order of mildew that we have ever smelled. After further investigation it turned out that the bed sheets, pillows, comforter and mattress reeked of mildew. We requested an immediate change of all the linens and pillows. The staff gave us such an attitude over this. The mattress was so uncomfortable; we could feel the springs pushing through! The shower was suppose to have a rain shower which it did not and the shower head that was there was so clogged we had to stand right under. The toilet was clogged on arrival. Our room came with robes which we wore and then asked for fresh ones, they took the old ones and never replaced them. Our room came with a coffee maker but I had to request coffee(grinds) to be stocked in the room as they are suppose to daily. CONCEIRGE - SO RUDE!!! We opted for the all inclusive package (Bad Move!) and at this hotel you have to make a reservation for the restaurants that you wish to eat dinner in advance or get stuck with the buffet (YUCK!) There were never enough time slots open to reserve dinner and when we would walk by the restaurants they were always at 30% capacity but we were always told they were all booked!??? The hotel in general was nice but very old. The pool was just ok. If you are looking for a hotel/resort with peace and tranquility this is not the place for you. The pool was swamped with kids and loud music. The only plus I can say was reserving (300 pesos per day) the private Bali beds which are very nice and the waitress who take of us took care of us very well. However, the Bali are in a reserved area and 2 guests that did not reserve a Bali bed set up 2 lounge chairs right next us and we asked management to ask them to leave – we paid for that area, why should someone enjoy our reserved space which we paid for… Management asked the couple to leave but they refused so management left them alone. How does that work? The next day management put up a sign that the Bali bed area was reserved and no entry was allowed without a reservation which cured that problem for the rest of our trip. There is also nowhere to walk to outside the hotel grounds for entertainment. It is very far to downtown. I can say that we will not be returning to the Melia in Puerto Vallarta. We have stayed in other chains (Gran Melia & ME) which we enjoyed very much which is why we gave the Melia in Puerto Vallarta a shot but NEVER AGAIN. Terrible service, accommodations and food = a poor vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pinball Buzzard
Kansas City, Missouri
Oct 29, 2012

Average at best.

Room was not very cool, way too warm to sleep comfortably. Went for coffee on the first morning, and was informed that it was not part of the package. $4.00 for two cups. When we went to dinner,and ordered the lobster on the menu, were informed it was not part of the package, and would be an extra $32 dollars apiece. The overall quality and variety of the food was quite common. We were told one of the restaurants was closed on Wed. only to go into the lobby to see it was open. We tried to make reservations at 8:30, and when we showed up they said that we had no reservations. This is when the buck passing started, and only after and lot of arguing we finally were seated. While I found the staff very friendly, the front desk was very understaffed. We would stand for a long time trying to convert currency, because there would only be one person working. Overall not a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go downtown for bargains.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antoniogonzalez08
san jose, ca
Jun 9, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

the hotel has the worst service around the world, Waiter service is insufficient, they have one for the entire pool area, and the staff of the restaurants is rude, get upset if you ask them something. never return to this hotel, I think we're paying for a service that we received never

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

visit de los santos restaurant and for dance visit mandala sky longe bar

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antoniogonzalez08
san jose, ca
Jun 9, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

the hotel has the worst service around the world, Waiter service is insufficient, they have one for the entire pool area, and the staff of the restaurants is rude, get upset if you ask them something. never return to this hotel, I think we're paying for a service that we received never

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

visit de los santos restaurant and for dance visit mandala sky longe bar

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MCALLEN TX
Oct 15, 2010

FAIR GETAWAY

THE GENERAL ASPECT OF THE HOTEL IS POOR. NEEDS A LOT OF MAINTENANCE, ESPECIALLY PAINTING. THE JACUZZI WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. POOL HOURS WERE TERRIBLE. I CANNOT BELIEVE THE POOL WAS CLOSED AT 8:00 PM. THEY HAVE 4 RESTAURANTS BUT IN REALITY YOU HAVE ONE ONE RESTAURANT OPEN FOR BREAKFAST AND FOR LUNCH, THE FOOD WAS THE SAME EVERYDAY. THE BEACH WAS DIRTY WITH PIECES OF WOOD STICKS AND GARBAGE. WE COMPLAINT ABOUT THE LACK OF LIGHT IN THE HOTEL CORRIDORS AND AROUND THE BEACH AND THE MAINTENANCE PEOPLE TOLD US THAT IT WAS TO SAVE ENERGY, BUT THE FACT IS THAT THEY DID NOT PAY ATTENTION TO OUR SUGGESTIONS. IN GENERAL, VERY DISAPPOINTED EXPERIENCE CONSIDERING THAT MELIA HOTELS ARE VERY WELL KNOWN FOR THE QUALITY OF SERVICE. I WAS IN MELIA LOS CABOS AND CANCUN AND THEY WERE GRAND!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mama Pablo
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 6, 2014

False Advertisement

The hotel was horrible!! The pictures are from when the hotel was first built 20 years ago. The beach was dirty and had lots of drift wood and plastic items. I would not let my kids play on the beach. The rooms were also dirty, stains on the sheets and just overall yuck! And the staff....RUDE!! In Puerto Vallarta, at the air port there are other resorts who try to get you to take a tour of their resorts with discounts on attractions for listening to their speal. So we decided to take a tour of another resort and the concierge told my husband not to take the kids because the other resort kidnaps children. All lies!! We toured another resort and LOVED it to the point that we worked out a deal with the other resort and stayed the rest of our visit with them. The resort honored our ALL INCLUSIVE package that we already paid for and paid for the taxi ride to the Melia to pick up our luggage and check out and the taxi fare back to their hotel. Good Riddance Melia and I will not recommend you to anyone....ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a local that took us "Off the beaten path" to the flea markets in downtown Puerto Vallarta where we bought all of our souvenirs much cheaper than if we bought them at a the resort or a shop near the resort. Totally worth the trip.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
classylde
federal way wa
May 28, 2013

Mislead and lost $100 please read!

When we arrived to the Melia Puerto Vallarta we were greeted after check in by the concierge Maria she showed us a map of the hotel and gave us general information. She had asked us if we had talked to anyone or scheduled any tours while we were at the airport. When we told her that we did book a tour for another hotel the next day and she asked what incentives we received and I told her we paid $100 for 2 massages and a boat trip. Maria stated that it would not be safe for us to go and that she would ask her supervisor if they could get our money back and/or schedule us for the tour of the Melia Hotel instead. She told us to meet her down in the lobby the next morning before we were scheduled to go on the tour with the other hotel. When we arrived the next morning she stated she spoke to her supervisor and that they would get the money back and/or they would offer us the same massage and tour. I asked her if she was sure and that if for any reason they could not get our money or offer us the same deal we would just go where we already paid. She assured us it would be taken care of and said “Do not go”. After our Melia tour we asked about our massages and tour and we were told that we would get a percentage off of the massages and tour. I told her that we already paid and she assured us we would not have to pay anymore money and that is when she said we need to talk to the supervisor and to come back the next day at 2pm. When we arrived the next day at 2pm the supervisor did not know what we were talking about and said we would have to talk to Maria (which I am not sure why a supervisor sends someone back to their employee) and that she would be in tomorrow at 2pm. When we arrived at 2pm the next day we were told that she had worked at 8:30 am and that she was gone for the day. I demanded to talk to the manager and was given the run around 4 more times. Being mislead on several occasions changed my view of the hotel, the staff (front desk & concierge) and ever wanting to stay there or at any Melia Hotel again. In between tracking down a manager to get what we were promised we had put up the “Do not disturb sign” and house keeping went in anyways. The next day we did it again and after paying $10 for some chocolate covered strawberries they came in and threw the strawberries away. After several attempts we were able to catch Maria and we told her if we could just get our massages we would call it even. She stated that they could do that and when we went to book the massages we were told they would only comp us one massage not two. Being so upset I just let it go swearing I would tell everyone I know of my experience. If that wasn’t bad enough on our last day there around 6am we were sound asleep and we are awoken by someone turning the door handle and as I got up someone was walking through the door. I guess they could not wait for us to get out because they booked our room to someone else while we were still there. Talk about not feeling safe. As we went to check out we ask for a manager again not thinking that he would be there since the hotel never seemed to have one on the property. We were greeted by a young man and proceeded to tell him everything that had happed and that I was planning on writing a review to let everyone know my experience at his hotel and he did not have anything to say except “Yes you should right a review”. I was so furious that I have taken time out of my day to write this review and I will be posting it on every site that I can possibly find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Retiree 1950.
Northridge Ca.
Oct 27, 2012

LOTS OF CHANGES, none for betterment of the guests.

We have been at Melias, three times, and our last, on October 11, 2012, was by far, the more disappointing. And it has noting to do, with most of the personnel. It is with the protocols that you have to follow. Rigth away, your vacation goes sour. They try to steer you to all kinds of sales, when all you want is have a good time, wich is why you came in the first place. They do not understand, when you tell them you are not interested in their offers, that all you want, is to be left alone to try to have a good time. We booked a seven nights all inclusive package, and it is the last time we will ever be there. No mas!!!!!!!!. We said good bye to some of the personnel the we have gotten to know over the times we have being there and we will miss them, but not the place. A recommendation for management, keep up with your changes, and lag behind the other hotels. YOUR CHANGES SUCK!!!!!!!!!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vetemomma
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2011

Never Again

This was a joke. Not a 5 star facility as they claim. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were harrassed by the Vacation Club (Time Share) folks. We told them right away we were not interested, then the Supervisor came over and tried. We again advised we were not interested and that we were tired from traveling and wanted to go to our room. The "Supervisor" kept trying to get us to talk, I finally had to get angry and walk away before they would show us to our rooms. The very next morning the same "Supervisor" came over and started on us again. She advised us that we would not get anything if we didn't work with her, and that she was just trying to help us. My husband told her to leave us alone and not to pester me, as soon as I walked up she started again. I told her in no uncertain terms we were not interested and to leave us alone and she called me RUDE. I was the customer and she ignored my wishes and I was RUDE. The staff only seemed to want to help the Mexicans staying at the resort, the Beds were horribly hard, the Air Conditioning barely worked, if you took a shower and someone in the building flushed a toilet, you were scalded. The tubs have huge walls that you had to climb over to get into the shower. I have a really nasty bruise from trying to get into the shower. The fridge kept our beverages barely cold. The pool staff was non-existant, I ordered a drink and it took 25 minutes for it to show up. Same at any of our meals. We even tried tipping everyone to see if that would help (it didn't). I would not recommend the Melia to my worst enemy and I will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top