$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
484 reviews
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Nice vacation

Our family of four had a really great time at Melia. Location is great, our view from the balcony... See full review

  • Timosha
  • Jun 24, 2013
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.6605 -105.25
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco - MEXICO
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta - Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Area description
Puerto Vallarta is located on the Banderas Bay, one of the most beautiful and largest Bays in the world. Puerto Vallarta is a typical Mexican town with exclusive championship golf courses and world-class gastronomy. Enjoy natural and adventure activities and tours including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking, and a lot of interesting places to visit by sea, land or air.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donna, Zipline Queen
B.C, Canada
Feb 22, 2011

Perfect Location, Awesome staff

Excellent location across from the Marina and out of the hectic downtown area. Quiet beach, great food and awesome staff who always had a smile for you. Beautiful grounds with lots of birds and fish made it a peaceful and tranquil setting.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanja Travel enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Not bad for the price

We stayed at the Melia from February 11-19. The hotel is located a bit far away from Puerto Vallarta, so that you have to take the bus into town, which takes about 20 minutes. If you are looking for a hotel in walking distance to Puerto Vallarta's town center, this one is not for you! The beach in front of the hotel is also very small and rather rocky. Not comparable to Playa de los Muertos which is much nicer. The pool is very nice and warm, though! When we checked in they only had double beds available, which is not what we wanted since we are a couple traveling without kids. A representative from the hotel was supposed to show us around the hotel and give us some information but then quickly proceeded to try and recruit us for a time-share presentation. We ended up agreeing to it because it was supposed to be only 90 minutes, however it turned into a total of 3 hours. We did end up receiving a free tour and a spa credit, so it was not too bad. But keep in mind that it is a sales presentation and cautiously weigh if you really want to waste precious hours of your vacation that way. The room was more or less clean (despite some hair left on the bathroom floor and the shower). The mattress however was very hard and uncomfortable. The room furnishings were outdated and in need of replacement. The next day we were able to move to a room with a king-size bed, which was a lot nicer. The mattress was also more comfortable. The hotel defines all-inclusive a bit different from what were used to from other resorts. Wine at the restaurants costs extra (except for mediocre house wine) and all the liquor is far from premium quality. The food was not bad, however you can tell that the hotel is trying to save on food costs and does not provide premium quality seafood or meat cuts. If you are expecting fine dining or lobster, shrimp, prime rib.... this is not for you! They have theme nights at the buffet restaurants, however, the seafood buffet was a great disappointment, as there was hardly any seafood and the quality of the dishes that were offered was rather mediocre. The hotel has two restaurants which require reservations for dinner. The Palapa restaurant on the beach was pretty good and we enjoyed our dinner there. However the Italian restaurant was horrible. The wait staff was not properly trained for a fine dining restaurant experience, they did not know how to pour wine or serve properly, etc. I ordered Tagliatelle with cheese sauce which tasted very bitter and just plain disgusting! Nobody asked us how our food was or came to check on us if we needed anything else during our dinner, so that we left the restaurant in disappointment before we even got to the dessert course. The hotel seems to cater mainly to families with kids and to people who do not expect too much from the service or dining options. We used the spa for a massage and a pedicure which was very nice! We would definitely recommend the spa services. The hotel also offers shows at night, however the quality is also rather poor. The shows do not represent Mexican culture at all and are mainly cheap tourist entertainment. Also a few of the shows feature females in skimpy dresses which almost appears to be a strip show rather than quality family entertainment. Spend your evenings elsewhere! Overall we enjoyed our stay in Puerto Vallarta because we were able to experience a lot of the culture by taking organized tours and some trips on our own. We also spend some time exploring the local taco and food stands in town. Next time we will not stay at an all-inclusive resort again, unless it is a 4 star property and offers a true all-inclusive experience with quality food choices. If you choose a 3 star resort do not choose an all-inclusive resort as it is not worth what you are paying. Instead of staying at the Melia we would have been better off staying at a different property and eating out in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try some of the local taco stands and the food from local vendors around the church plaza in Puerto Vallarta (fresh coconuts, fruits, smoothies, fried plantains...)

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry and Sue Snowbirds
Birch Run, Michigan
Feb 17, 2011

great fun

We arrived at rhe hotel and it was very pretty and clean, The front desk was very helpful and got us into a nice oceanview rooom in building 2.We had a great view of the pond and the mountains and the ocean. I took alot of pictures from our room.The food was great. The staff was very friendly and helped us with anything we asked for. We were asked to sit down with a rep from the club membership people. We dcided to do the meeting the next morning. We talked and decided it was not for us and the people from the club membership never bothered us again. In fact they were very friendly for the rest of our stay. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just get a taxi out front and agree on a price before you get into the car.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry and Sue Snowbirds
Birch Run, Michigan
Feb 17, 2011

great fun

We arrived at rhe hotel and it was very pretty and clean, The front desk was very helpful and got us into a nice oceanview rooom in building 2.We had a great view of the pond and the mountains and the ocean. I took alot of pictures from our room.The food was great. The staff was very friendly and helped us with anything we asked for. We were asked to sit down with a rep from the club membership people. We dcided to do the meeting the next morning. We talked and decided it was not for us and the people from the club membership never bothered us again. In fact they were very friendly for the rest of our stay. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just get a taxi out front and agree on a price before you get into the car.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Feb 1, 2011

Would go back!

I thought the rooms were excellent, clean, comfortable bed and a great view of the ocean and downtown PV. The food was average but the selections were varied and plentiful. I understand that there a things ie:jacuzzi, another pool, etc. that are not there but I would rate this property at least 3.5 to 4 star. Everything I wanted was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want an active nightlife or club scene this is not the place for you to stay.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Feb 1, 2011

Would go back!

I thought the rooms were excellent, clean, comfortable bed and a great view of the ocean and downtown PV. The food was average but the selections were varied and plentiful. I understand that there a things ie:jacuzzi, another pool, etc. that are not there but I would rate this property at least 3.5 to 4 star. Everything I wanted was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want an active nightlife or club scene this is not the place for you to stay.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morpheo
Guadalajara, Mexico
Jan 31, 2011

Good Hotel, Old , food was not that good

The hotel is very old, the food was very bad and also the all inclusive beberages were not very good. I ask for 2 more hours to stay in the hotel or late checkout, and they wanted to chargeme for it, with a 60% occupancy. It was not a very nice experience. Best regards

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go eating to La LEche, exelent restaurant and exelent service and food, very Fashionable

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 11, 2011

Perfect weather and a great facility

The weather was perfect (75 to 80 degrees), the food was very good and the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

All inclusive with good food.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 11, 2011

Perfect weather and a great facility

The weather was perfect (75 to 80 degrees), the food was very good and the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

All inclusive with good food.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Dec 25, 2010

Decent Hotel

Hotel is ok for the price we paid. Service was good and people were helpful, but the timeshare push and sell was beyond bothering. Not sure I would go back to the same hotel. When I plan a trip I intend to relax at the hotel and not be bothered by timeshare sales people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the downtown area. Hotel is not far from downtown where tourists can get a taste of the locals, culture and lifestyle of Vallarta.

Back to menu Return to top