Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
302 reviews
Group of 16 getaway

It was 16 of us, we all had a great time. the pool can use a little TLC. We got to ride the bus to... See full review

  • cool uncle
  • Aug 25, 2014
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

20.6605 -105.25
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco - MEXICO
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta - Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Area description
Puerto Vallarta is located on the Banderas Bay, one of the most beautiful and largest Bays in the world. Puerto Vallarta is a typical Mexican town with exclusive championship golf courses and world-class gastronomy. Enjoy natural and adventure activities and tours including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking, and a lot of interesting places to visit by sea, land or air.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (302)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA Culebra
Business
Salinas, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Hotel is in a good location.

Melia Resort was Great for the price the rooms were clean the staff was friendly and the food was good and plenty I took my son Who is 16 years old and he really enjoy the pool and the activities at the theater.I wish the drinks were better but you get what you pay for I stop asking for Mojitos or any other type of drink because their were horrible. I will like to give other travelers a tip you can use the bus for the Price of $7 pesos one way to the down town Puerto Vallarta or to the Malecon $7 pesos is about $.50cents when a Taxi will be about $8 dollars. Bus stop is across the street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The pirate Show at the Marina is a Great Show make sure you make time to go the ticket is around $85.00 dollars but is worth every cent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 9, 2011

Great location, great price!

For the most part, we relaxed by the pool and had some yummy drinks made by the friendly and outgoing bartenders! It was a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful views that Puerto Vallarta has to offer. The resort was aimed at more of a family atmosphere, rather than a place for couples, which was one downfall. However, we had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Eden Canopy Tour (Zip Lining) was amazing. Very reasonable price. Service provides a bus to the location, which allows you to get a look at the city of Puerto Vallarta. The tour guides were reassuring and friendly throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend this outing to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA.
Jul 27, 2011

Not so fantastic vacation

The hotel does offer an all inclusive stay but it has designated hours the meals are offered. If you are a late sleeper forget about eating breakfast it will be probably closed. I would have liked to see a place we could have a meal at different times. THe drinks are provided but there were too many guest for only one bar. I traveled with my family which included children but at this resort it seemed the children outnumbered the guests , therefore not very relaxing around the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment shows provided nightly but you have to get there at least an hour before to get a seat. It seems all the guest attend and it does not have enough seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent PV traveller
Business
Urbandale, IA
Jun 24, 2011

Over all nice place to stay

This is the 3rd year in a row we have stayed here. Overall the experince is very good especially for families with children. Being an all inclusive allows you to feed kids whenever they are hungry and the activities for kids are very good. However, some things have declined since our first stay. First there is no more free wifi. For $17/ day the wifi was slow and spotty. Second the quality and variety in food at the buffets has gone down. I know buffet food is not generally five star stuff, but the quality has slipped since our first stay escpecially at dinner. Theme nights are hit and miss; if you don't like french night or carribean, there isn't much to eat excpet quesadillas, salad, and cereal. Even the theme are were good in the past like mexican and grill night have declined. Lastly, it seems like they are a little understaffed at times; check-in was very slow as a convention was there at the same time and there were only 3 people to check in guests. Don't get me wrong. This is a good to great place to stay, especially for the price. If you watch the deals, you can stay here at an all-inclusive for the same price as a regular hotel. The food is generally good: breakfast is good, lunch at the palapa actually has more variety than dinner and the grill is good for kids (burgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets) and for a quick snack.Drinks are included and are well made ( a tip of $1-2 every couple of rounds will insure you get better quality service and better liquor). I would definitely stay here again as we may go back next year. I only point out things that have changed in the last 3 years that if allowed to deteriorate further would make me reconsider future visits but I would say that if you have stayed elsewhere in PV (other than 5 star resorts), you will enjoy your stay here also. Go into this or any other Mexico hotel knowing that it is not America (some reviews complain that "this isn't like back home"- it you want it like home, stay there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many excellent restaurants in Puerto Vallarta. Brazil, a Brazilian style steak house is very good for the carnivore. The Sea Monkey, located on the beach in the romantic zone is great and cheap for some good appetizers and drinks ($1 beers and margaritas).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treetops
Business
Andover, Kansas
Jun 22, 2011

Safe time in Mexico

I have being staying at the Melia Resort for 10 years. It is almost as a second home as I know so many employees. I always take tours while there and enjoy having lunch in the jungle. Compared to past trips is the fact that Wifi there is now a fee when you have your own laptop. Previously I could have internet access in my room free of charge and now you pay to have access in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Enjoy the time spent in the flea market in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Great experience for the price

I went on vacation with a group of 3 friends. We are in our 20s and stayed in 2 rooms. Everything at the resort was absolutely perfect. The food was delicious, the drinks were well-made, and the rooms were cleaned daily. The beach was clean and beautiful and the pool was also nice. The workers are friendly, and even the vendors on the beach are pleasant to interact with. Internet service was a bit expensive, but there is a Starbucks down the street with free wifi. Overall an unbeatable value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
May 30, 2011

Family getaway

Average Room and Air conditioning quality but food and entertainments were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vetemomma
Business
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2011

Never Again

This was a joke. Not a 5 star facility as they claim. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were harrassed by the Vacation Club (Time Share) folks. We told them right away we were not interested, then the Supervisor came over and tried. We again advised we were not interested and that we were tired from traveling and wanted to go to our room. The "Supervisor" kept trying to get us to talk, I finally had to get angry and walk away before they would show us to our rooms. The very next morning the same "Supervisor" came over and started on us again. She advised us that we would not get anything if we didn't work with her, and that she was just trying to help us. My husband told her to leave us alone and not to pester me, as soon as I walked up she started again. I told her in no uncertain terms we were not interested and to leave us alone and she called me RUDE. I was the customer and she ignored my wishes and I was RUDE. The staff only seemed to want to help the Mexicans staying at the resort, the Beds were horribly hard, the Air Conditioning barely worked, if you took a shower and someone in the building flushed a toilet, you were scalded. The tubs have huge walls that you had to climb over to get into the shower. I have a really nasty bruise from trying to get into the shower. The fridge kept our beverages barely cold. The pool staff was non-existant, I ordered a drink and it took 25 minutes for it to show up. Same at any of our meals. We even tried tipping everyone to see if that would help (it didn't). I would not recommend the Melia to my worst enemy and I will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAUL DORADO
Business
GUANAJUATO MEXICO
May 3, 2011

MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED

When we went there the hotel had a 100% of ocupation and yet we never had trouble finding seats at any restaurant or bars or beach or anywhere. and the stuff was very kind they took really good careof us. tips or not. we have been on many all inclusives araund Mexico before but this was the best so far. And for the price i dont dare to ask for more. The food was good but it needs some more variety because it was kind of the same all the time. however its real good. try the Vitrales(Italian) and the Palapa(international) these two work under reservation only. for us thats the only opportunity area, the food. About the drinks this was the happiest surprisse they had almost anything you could think of including expensive scotchs i dot think i can mention brands but belive me you wont be dissapointed. the room was great no complains there either, they were big, clean no smells no noises, it had a minibar whit more free dirnks replaced daily. One think to consider is that it is a family oriented hotel so there are plenny of kids around. but they have a place called the bam bam club (from the flintstones). its kind of a day nursery and kinder gargen open from 9:00 to 6:00 so you can relax while they have a lot of fun all day. whit lots of activities. We would deffinitly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the hotel has many activities for the kids but also for grown ups rock climbing bow and arrow ping pong, basketball and tennis court. whithin walking disstance its a golf course and the marina. with many restaurants and a good view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammie Dee
Business
St. Marys, PA
May 2, 2011

WONDERFUL RESORT

Twelve in our family. 7 adults and 5 children. All had a wonderful time. The resort was the best of the last 3 yrs. The Melia excelled in location, beach, rooms, landscaping, food and staff. Would definitely recommend. We upgraded to the M Experience and were not disappointed, however, I believe they could add a few more benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina is a short walking distance from the Melia and offers shopping and dining in a fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top