Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
296 reviews
Group of 16 getaway

It was 16 of us, we all had a great time. the pool can use a little TLC. We got to ride the bus to... See full review

  • cool uncle
  • Aug 25, 2014
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

20.6605 -105.25
Area served
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco - MEXICO
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta - Gustavo Diaz Ordaz
Area description
Puerto Vallarta is located on the Banderas Bay, one of the most beautiful and largest Bays in the world. Puerto Vallarta is a typical Mexican town with exclusive championship golf courses and world-class gastronomy. Enjoy natural and adventure activities and tours including whale watching, snorkeling, diving, hiking, and a lot of interesting places to visit by sea, land or air.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
May 30, 2011

Family getaway

Average Room and Air conditioning quality but food and entertainments were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vetemomma
Seattle, WA
May 16, 2011

Never Again

This was a joke. Not a 5 star facility as they claim. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were harrassed by the Vacation Club (Time Share) folks. We told them right away we were not interested, then the Supervisor came over and tried. We again advised we were not interested and that we were tired from traveling and wanted to go to our room. The "Supervisor" kept trying to get us to talk, I finally had to get angry and walk away before they would show us to our rooms. The very next morning the same "Supervisor" came over and started on us again. She advised us that we would not get anything if we didn't work with her, and that she was just trying to help us. My husband told her to leave us alone and not to pester me, as soon as I walked up she started again. I told her in no uncertain terms we were not interested and to leave us alone and she called me RUDE. I was the customer and she ignored my wishes and I was RUDE. The staff only seemed to want to help the Mexicans staying at the resort, the Beds were horribly hard, the Air Conditioning barely worked, if you took a shower and someone in the building flushed a toilet, you were scalded. The tubs have huge walls that you had to climb over to get into the shower. I have a really nasty bruise from trying to get into the shower. The fridge kept our beverages barely cold. The pool staff was non-existant, I ordered a drink and it took 25 minutes for it to show up. Same at any of our meals. We even tried tipping everyone to see if that would help (it didn't). I would not recommend the Melia to my worst enemy and I will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAUL DORADO
GUANAJUATO MEXICO
May 3, 2011

MUCH MORE THAN WHAT WE EXPECTED

When we went there the hotel had a 100% of ocupation and yet we never had trouble finding seats at any restaurant or bars or beach or anywhere. and the stuff was very kind they took really good careof us. tips or not. we have been on many all inclusives araund Mexico before but this was the best so far. And for the price i dont dare to ask for more. The food was good but it needs some more variety because it was kind of the same all the time. however its real good. try the Vitrales(Italian) and the Palapa(international) these two work under reservation only. for us thats the only opportunity area, the food. About the drinks this was the happiest surprisse they had almost anything you could think of including expensive scotchs i dot think i can mention brands but belive me you wont be dissapointed. the room was great no complains there either, they were big, clean no smells no noises, it had a minibar whit more free dirnks replaced daily. One think to consider is that it is a family oriented hotel so there are plenny of kids around. but they have a place called the bam bam club (from the flintstones). its kind of a day nursery and kinder gargen open from 9:00 to 6:00 so you can relax while they have a lot of fun all day. whit lots of activities. We would deffinitly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the hotel has many activities for the kids but also for grown ups rock climbing bow and arrow ping pong, basketball and tennis court. whithin walking disstance its a golf course and the marina. with many restaurants and a good view.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammie Dee
St. Marys, PA
May 2, 2011

WONDERFUL RESORT

Twelve in our family. 7 adults and 5 children. All had a wonderful time. The resort was the best of the last 3 yrs. The Melia excelled in location, beach, rooms, landscaping, food and staff. Would definitely recommend. We upgraded to the M Experience and were not disappointed, however, I believe they could add a few more benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marina is a short walking distance from the Melia and offers shopping and dining in a fun atmosphere.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heavyrain
Calgary, AB
Apr 29, 2011

Excellent family resort

Only with this hotel stay I think you can enjoy dining, entertainment, beach, and activities. Whta's more, it's family friendly, so you can have a lot of fun with your kids or you can enjoy yourself with your spouse by letting your kids be at kids club. At the first glance, it's nice and clean hotel. And soon you can know that the staffs are all kind and helpful, and then your room is super clean. The garden was very impressive, well maintained and enough to enjoy the mood. the food had enough selection and was tasteful with various kinds of drink. You can select various dining option, enjoying almost 24 hours. The pool was large enough to swim and have a fun. The beach was small but my kids like it, running and making sand structure. Overall, this was nice resort for family and ahd all for the family fun. If I come here again, I'll choose this hotel absolutely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The int'l telephone in the room is very very expensive. There's public phones in the lobby, and you can use them with the prepaid card which can be also purchased at the phone area.

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super mom of twins
massapequa park, NY (Long Island)
Apr 25, 2011

excellent family resort

We just got back this morning from our trip, and as soon as we hit NYC, JFK we were like "I want to go back snf snf". We actually visited this hotel 5 years ago, and accidently stumbled upon it again, We highly reccomend families to go here. There are couples that are there, but it is hotel for families. We have 20 month old twins, and they had a great time. To start the cleanliness is remarkable, everywhere you turn someone is cleaning something. We upgraded to the M-Experience, it is truly not much more in money and it was worth it to us. We had a fabulous ocean fron room with a hammock on our balcony, we received a fruit basket the first night, and the concierge was on point and then some. Staff: top notch, it is rare to find people who truly love their job, truly care for kids, and truly have enough patience to deal with so many different children personalities and temperments. All the staff speaks english and spanish, and if they don't understand they don't brush you off they get someone to assist you. At the concierge desk, [...] and [...] went above and beyond. For instance sounds silly, but I couldn't get my blackberry to charge, well I was waiting for some business calls. [...] through his bag of tricks got me the right charger, it ended up not being the charger but at the time we started simple. then he got us in a taxi himself and told us where to go. It cost 6 US Dollars to get to this beautiful mall, and there we found some one who could assist, a new battery... UGH. But I was thrilled it was working, and when you feel anxiety and it is relieved the concierge did their job. [...] at the Concierge was also fabulous, she checked us in and made sure all the accomadations were just right, and that my kids were happy and had cribs. My Kids were in the Baby Rock Club, I can not begin to tell the greatness of the staff! [...] were amazing, they went out of their way for each child to do things they liked. Isabella likes elmo and Mickey, they had her dress up like Minnie Mouse, did face painting with her and put elmo on video for her. Dante loves trains, and planes they put together a train set for him, and also played in a pit of balls with him. The first couple times that we dropped the kids off it was tough a new environment new people, but the staff was great and they adjusted like most kids do! The pool bar staff were great, I never had an empty drink, and it was done with pleasure. And the Waiter at Vitrales (Italian Restaurant) named [...] was fabulous, he met the kids on Wednesday, and when we came for a romantic (no Kids) dinner on Friday, he remembered the kids names and was quick to ask about them. [...] also at Vitrales she helped with wine selection and drinks, she also stood out from the crowd. The people I mentioned are the ones we had direct major contact with, but all the staff is great, from the maintenace to the spa, to the front desk, to the bell boy, everyone is friendly and greets you with a smile!Entertainment: very good, not always on time, but once it starts it is good from beginning to end. the staff put on a very professional performance. Ok I live in NY, it is not broadway but it sure is a nice copy. the dancers are well trained, and do a great job. everynight was a different show. One night was the Flintstones, earthday, circus, comedy, illusion show. and there is always a pre show for the kids, where all the kids get on stage and are part of the fun. Also during the day, you can do as much or as little as you want, the entertainment staff offers everything. There is pottery you can paint, dance lessons, scuba training, water aerobics ect. Food: OK I am a tough critic. Vitrales restaurant order the vealand the mushroom salad. We ate there several times for dinner. we also ate La Palapa (grill) bring bug spray as it is outdoors, and is right next to the ocean so a nice breeze. The food was good, but once was enough. We ate at Azulejos (mexican), which was good, but again once was enough ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Vitrales restaurant, is the best of the three that require reservations. We ate there several times during our stay. No reason to spend extra money on a bottle of wine unless you really want it, the staff brings you what ever drink you want from the bar

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
minnesota
Mar 30, 2011

Fabulous

We love it, close to Marina and Downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Champaign, IL
Mar 28, 2011

Great location - Miserable Staff

Pros: Great location – beautiful and safe Marina area Clean common areas and rooms Large pool and plenty of beach activities Friendly housekeeping staff Cons: Food is absolutely, positively terrible. Miserable service staff Expensive WiFi (around 200 pesos) daily. Pool water was like an oil bath (daily). Typical time-share/vacation club sales pitch every other day I would rate this hotel overall as poor or below average. Our room was clean but lacked basic features like multiple electrical outlets. There's a single outlet in the bathroom (not a good location when you're trying to charge your phone or laptop) and a single outlet near the entrance of the room. The lack of outlets is not limited to just one room –we stayed in three different rooms (long story). The furniture is screwed to the wall so you cannot access any of the outlets used for the lamps, tv, etc. It costs 200 pesos for 24hrs of internet service. At the current exchange rate -- 17 dollars per day. The food is absolutely awful. I can't stress this enough. The service staff – even worse. They were often rude and extremely slow. We ended up eating off-site for all of our meals except breakfast. Before I booked this trip, I read a review online regarding the food and didn't give it much weight because there were other reviews which stated the food was "fine." Please consider this a confirmation of poor food and service. On the upside, a taxi was always available (within seconds) to whisk us away to a tasty restaurant! I would not revisit this hotel – nor would I recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Canopy/Zip Line - terrific experience!

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Dad
Iowa
Mar 18, 2011

Enjoyed our Stay!!!

We spent a week at the Melia, the staff was very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed doing some of the beach activities (extra charge) Banana Boat and parasailing. We had a mishap with the safe in the room, when it fell off the wall and broke my laptop and my sons nintendo hand held game. The staff was very apologetic, and kept me informed on their claim to the insurance company. I still have yet to get reimbursed, but the staff help me still enjoy our stay. Food got old after a week, so we ate out in the downtown area. We also found a very good argentina steak house at the marina which is within walking distance. (We had friends at the resort down the road, and we visited them, their food seemed to be much better (Vella Vallarta), they had options of steak, lobster, pizza in the room, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss taking a cab or bus ride to the boardwalk. They have many shops and a flea market down their. They also have many sights like sand sculptures. (Hard Rock and Senior Frogs are also located down there).

Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 16, 2011

Nice Family Friendly Trip

Hotel & grounds - well maintained & lovely. I would highly recommend upgrading to M Experience as you receive an oceanfront balcony room. The view was fantastic with the mountains & ocean. You also get 2 hours late check-out free. Pool - could always find a chair, even later in the morning/afternoon. Very kid friendly as it had walk in areas like at a beach & wide ledges where you could play with small children. Food - we always could find food to eat at the buffets and there were usually some quite good dishes. They also had food made to order per each buffet meal. For example - steak at one station, tacos at another & pasta at a 3rd. The alacarte restaurants had even higher quailty foods. Book the alacarte at the beginning of your stay & you can also go more than once. Drinks - pretty good. However, quality of frozen drinks varied at the restaurants. Kids club - free & good for ages 3 & up. They handle younger, however they really don't have enough care givers for babies. We felt uncomfortable leaving our 20 month old. Private babysitting was also available & very good for $10 an hour. Clientele - Estimate: Mexican (50%), American (30%) & Canadian (20%) Overall - great stay & would highly recommend to anyone. We are seasoned travelers & this was a very nice experience where you walk away saying wow that was great. Not for party types as it is family oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If available, go whale watching with Ocean Friendly tours. They get you up close & personal with the whales unlike any other. You can find them on their website Oceanfriendly.com. It is their research endeavor & not just a job to do tours. Phenomenal - I actually don't need to go whale watching again as I know it wouldn't be as good as this was.

Back to menu Return to top