$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

3 stars
Paseo de la Marina Sur Lote H-7, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, 48354
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
302 reviews
Group of 16 getaway

It was 16 of us, we all had a great time. the pool can use a little TLC. We got to ride the bus to... See full review

  • cool uncle
  • Aug 25, 2014
People make the difference

This was our second trip to the Melia Resort and we went back for the People they are extremely... See full review

  • Binn
  • Mar 9, 2014
Contemporary coastal resort beckons with activities for all ages
Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive is mainstream in its appeal: No one can resist the water views or the sprawling outdoor pool. Private balconies and contemporary furnishings add to the modern appeal. A sizeable menu of children's activities -- including three kids' clubs for babies, tweens and teens -- enable parents to reconnect with a date night at one of the four on-site restaurants. Adventurers also take advantage of the non-motorized water sports, climbing wall and shooting gallery.
Highlights
  • Contemporary coastal hotel with private balconies and terraces
  • Swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpools
  • Kids' clubs for babies, tween and teens
  • Multiple activities, from batting cages to a shooting gallery
Rooms

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive favors a fresh, contemporary style driven by brightly colored linens, sleek furniture and marble floors. Its 316 rooms offer ocean or garden views, plus private balconies or terraces. Fiery accessories -- from amber-striped bedding to red curtains -- provide visual depth, and fitting complement to modern touches such as flat-screen TVs and handsome wood headboards. All guests have their own satellite-equipped TV, safe and mini-bar stocked with soda, beer and water.

Features
Melia Puerto Vallarta has a Swimming pool with children's section and two whirlpools, a lagoon-style beauty surrounded by lush palms and lounge chairs. For families, a wide range of kid amenities awaits, including clubs for babies, tweens and teens, outdoor and indoor play areas and even the chance to meet characters from the famed Flintstones cartoon. While the kids are occupied, parents enjoy the gym, tennis courts, batting cage, climbing wall or shooting gallery.The hotel is smoke-free.
Dining
Four restaurants cater to global tastes. In addition to all-day buffets and a la carte options, Melia Puerto Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive takes advantage of its area's coastal ambiance with open-air patios.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Attractions
  • Malecon (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (4.1 mi/6.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious rooms featuring spectacular views, all equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
M Experience Ocean View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Rooms with privileged location within the resort and ocean front view. Included all of the deluxe guestrooms amenities plus exclusive features and services such as coffee maker, deluxe bath toiletries, bathrobe and slippers, 32'' flat screen TV, mini bar with soft drinks and beer, and vacation assistance 24/7 during your stay.
Non Smoking Room
Deluxe Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed or 1 king bed
Spacious room features colorful views of the resort's gardens and pool areas. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water).
Non Smoking Room
Family Friendly Garden View -407 SQ FT- private balcony 2 double bed and 1 bunk bed
The perfect room for families. Spacious accommodation with views of the resort's lush tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hair dryer, direct dial telephone and mini fridge (stocked with bottled water). Occupancy: 3 adults + 2 children OR 3 children + 2 adults. The Flintstones Children kit upon arrival
Non Smoking Room
FAMILY KIDS & CO.
Discover the new concept of the Kids & Co, rooms designed exclusively for families Comfortable 407 square ft. family rooms located on the ground floor of the resort. Because we care about the little ones these rooms are specially equipped for everyone to fully enjoy their vacation. These rooms also feature special amenities and exclusive benefits to pamper the whole family.
KIDS & CO SERVICES
Welcome gift
Mini check-in including a welcome fruit juice
Sweet Dreams nightly amenity
Discounts on activities such as T-shirt painting, water ball, crazy jump, and more.
Family Concierge
24-hour wake up call
Discounts on spa services, romantic dinners and tours.
Laundry service (additional charge)
Babysitter (additional charge)
Non Smoking Room

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ideal choice for small and medium sized meeting and conventions. Ample facilities, professional personnel and excellent service guarantee a successful gathering.

Dining

Los Azulejos
Open-air fine-dining restaurant serving Mexican a la carte dinners.
La Palapa Grill
Converted from La Palapa buffet lunch restaurant for a grill a la carte dinner service.
Note:
Some of the specialty restaurants may require previous reservation.
La Palapa
Oceanfront, open-air restaurant offers buffet lunch and bar service.
Vitrales
Air-conditioned restaurant serving Italian gourmet a la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual elegant.
La Palapita
Offers delicious snacks for a relaxed lunch.
Quetzal
Air-conditioned restaurant serving buffet breakfast and dinner with a different theme every night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (302)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nerin
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

An Incredible Family Friendly Getaway

We just got back from our 10 day stay at Melia Puerto Vallarta. We had an infant (6months) and a 5 year old travelling with my wife and myself. We had a truly wonderful time. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the airport (only a 5 minute cab ride) while the cab to the city takes a bit longer (10-15 minutes). My wife and I are both architects, so the first thing that stuck with us was that the lobby of the hotel did not have any doors. As you walked in, you realized that all of a sudden you were indoors. The lobby was open both on the ocean and the entry side, so the breezes from the sea always flowed through it. It was quite wonderful. Our room was great, and altough we just got the basic, double bed garden view, we actually had a nice view of the ocean. The hotel is arranged as a letter U, with the lobby at the bottom and the rooms in the arms of the letter. The ocean is on top, so if you're on the floors above 2nd, you'll definitely get some ocean views. As we walked by the ocean view rooms, we did glimpse at some stunning views through open doors with folks sitting in hammocks on the balconies. We spent most of our time out of the room anyways so we didn't regret not springing for the ocean view room. The hotel is about 25 years old and in a few areas has some deferred maintenance, but overall its design and amenities were great. The staff was incredibly helpful that by the end we knew all the servers by name. They truly waited on us hand and foot. We went with another family and our favorite part of the trip were the daily 2 hour lunches, complete with apetizers, salads, main courses, desert (ice cream you have to ask for) and espresso (you have to ask for it). The hotel has three a-la-carte restaurants but the food is prepared from the two main kitchens (it seemed like). Two of the restaurants are located right next to each other and offer Italian and Mexican cuisine. The third one offers seafood and is located at the Palapa, where all lunches are held. We tried all three once and finally decided that with all the kids it was far less stressfull to just dine at the buffets, where food was also excellent. In terms of the amenities, the hotel offers a number of activities such as rock climbing, archery, air rifle shooting etc... these were all fun to try. The beach is quite small and offers very limited loungers with shade. I am more of an ocean guy rather than a pool guy, so this was a bit challenging with an infant. The kids certainly enjoyed the pool. We truly had a fabulous time and would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

They have an excellent Tequila selection. When ordering Margaritas, ask for Cien Anyos Tequila (on the rocks of course).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prince and Lion
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 1, 2014

Mostly Average with decent food

This seemed to be an older property that is pretty quiet when not in season, which is when we stayed. There isn't much to wow you, but I think that the service was good and the food better than expected. Each night we stayed the buffet offered a different theme; unsurprisingly, the Mexican themed night was outstanding. The other nights the food was above average, with a lot more freshly prepared food that you don't get at a buffet style meal in most places. I am hesitant to knock some of the aspects of our stay because we stayed off-season and some issues we had were more endemic to Puerta Vallarta and the all-inclusive industry than the Melia. Overall, I felt the staff were great and the hotel was nice and clean, though they could use some updated beds and more pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Schmens
Business
Colorado
Nov 17, 2014

an enjoyable week

The grounds were fantastic, loved the swim up bar in a huge pool. The staff were very accommodating. You did not have to dress up for the formal dinners, (the food was excellent in the specialty restaurants.) The staff never bothered us about time share presentations after they brought it up, only once at check in. (most hotels in Mexico always offer you a presentation) The shops and restaurants in the Marina are right across the street. The Melacon is a short 15 minute bus ride away too. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice vacation in P V. I hope to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymooner man
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 20, 2014

A great value

This is my first experience with an all inclusive resort, and it happened to be my honeymoon. Then staff was great, attentive, but defnitely payed more attention if you tipped them at meals. The buffets always had at least one solid protein and veggie, but the desserts weren't so great (go visit a candy shop and stock up on dulce de leches). The room was very clean, and when we had an issue with a bathroom door, it was fixed within 2hrs. The AC was absolutely pitiful. I'm not sure if this is how it is at all mexican resorts or just this one, but it just couldn't handle the 93F and 80% humidity. Just for reference, I live in Texas and can find better comfort through most off our 100F summer. You didn't spend much time in the room though so it didn't really make much of a difference. The bartenders pour pretty weak drinks during the day and mainly fill with ice. I'm sure it's so they don't have a bunch of tanked people by sundown, but it was a bit annoying. The property was absolutely beautiful and very well taken care of. We spent most of our week there since we got tired of being harassed constantly with sales pitches when we left the property. The people staying at the resort consisted of 50/50 couples to full on families (grandparents to 6 month old infants).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Babymooning This Time
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Oct 19, 2014

Good value but don't expect high-end (and bring cash for meals out)

The location is hard to beat - right across from the marina and right on the ocean. But we do have to say that the "all inclusive" food was very hit or miss. Breakfasts were consistently good, as plenty of options were offered, but we ended up going out to eat in the marina even though we had already paid for food at the resort for lunch/dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Victor's on the Marina (~140 pesos per person)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Javier Happy Dad
Business
South Gate, California
Aug 25, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I was a little concerned because I had read some unfavorable reviews, especially about the staff but I had an awesome experience. Everyone was bilingual, professional and very friendly. I was pleasantly surprised that there was no carpeting...anywhere. Food was available anytime of the day and up to 5 am, then again at 7am. Waiters were available on hand. A couple of storms hit and you could see personnel drying up the floors and cleaning up leaves and debris from the pool and ponds right after it was over. 2 shows per night were very entertaining, and the activities team kept people busy. We loved it and will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool uncle
Business
Ontario, CA.
Aug 25, 2014

Group of 16 getaway

It was 16 of us, we all had a great time. the pool can use a little TLC. We got to ride the bus to El Malecon. (Mexican boardwalk) It was a lot cheaper than taxis. great experience. Looking forward for next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to old side of El Malecon. cheaper than the stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dolfyn
Business
Melia Puerto Vallarta
Aug 13, 2014

Terrible stay

I wanted to treat my mother only to get there having to switch room 6, yes six times. Ants, dirt, dirt, bathroom dirty, ripped sheets, and i can go on and on. No coffee maker in room which is an essential on holiday. Dinner buffet pretty bad too. Not a good exp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AGNana26
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 6, 2014

Had a great vacation.

The hotel structure and rooms are a bit outdated, could use a little revamping. On the weekend the pool can be a bit too crowed. On the positive side, the food and drinks were above average for an all-inclusive buffet. Food was actually very delicious! The waiters were very attentive and nice. All the staff was very friendly. The hotel is very close to the airport and downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mama Pablo
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 6, 2014

False Advertisement

The hotel was horrible!! The pictures are from when the hotel was first built 20 years ago. The beach was dirty and had lots of drift wood and plastic items. I would not let my kids play on the beach. The rooms were also dirty, stains on the sheets and just overall yuck! And the staff....RUDE!! In Puerto Vallarta, at the air port there are other resorts who try to get you to take a tour of their resorts with discounts on attractions for listening to their speal. So we decided to take a tour of another resort and the concierge told my husband not to take the kids because the other resort kidnaps children. All lies!! We toured another resort and LOVED it to the point that we worked out a deal with the other resort and stayed the rest of our visit with them. The resort honored our ALL INCLUSIVE package that we already paid for and paid for the taxi ride to the Melia to pick up our luggage and check out and the taxi fare back to their hotel. Good Riddance Melia and I will not recommend you to anyone....ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a local that took us "Off the beaten path" to the flea markets in downtown Puerto Vallarta where we bought all of our souvenirs much cheaper than if we bought them at a the resort or a shop near the resort. Totally worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daledude
Business
grand rapids, mi
May 5, 2014

had a great time

Wife and I came to Melia for our 30th anniv, had a great time. A few cons: Seemed to spend a lot of time waiting every time I needed to talk to front desk. Even though the website says no spring breakers, 14 busses came full of students from some med college the last 2 days we were there. It was pretty rowdy and you couldn't get anywhere near the bar after they arrived, but all things considered, they were fairly well behaved. The staff was friendly and food was pretty good. Overall, I would not hesitate to come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan your shopping around the criuse ship schedules. It will be less crowded and merchants will deal with you better on the days the ships are not in port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top